Skip to content

Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC News

Transplant Surgery

The Division of Transplant Surgery at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center, in partnership with the James D. Eason Transplant Institute at Methodist University Hospital, is dedicated to pursuing excellence in patient experience, clinical quality, and safety, while pushing the boundaries of transplant science through innovation and research.

Based in an academic medical setting at Methodist University Hospital we are dedicated to teaching the future of transplantation through specialty hepatology, nephrology and transplant surgery fellowship programs. Partnering with our research team, we are focused on providing cutting edge transplant therapies through both basic and clinical research.

Message from Division Chief


director image

The James D. Eason Transplant Institute at Methodist University Hospital has been providing expert care in solid organ transplantation for more than 40 years.

Our clinical team includes highly skilled, nationally recognized surgeons who work closely with our multidisciplinary, transplant- trained team of nephrologists, hepatologists, nurses, pharmacists, social workers and support services to provide an excellent patient experience and improve quality of life through organ transplantation.

The transplant team performs liver, kidney and pancreas transplants. We perform simultaneous liver/ kidney and kidney/pancreas transplants. We are also experienced in live donor liver and kidney transplantation.

altText

Thomas Ng, MD
Professor

Thoracic Surgery
tng4@uthsc.edu
901.448.5253

altText

James Eason, MD
Professor

Transplant Surgery
jeason1@uthsc.edu
901.478.0588

altText

Amandeep Bajwa, PhD (Research)
Associate Professor

Transplant Surgery
abajwa@uthsc.edu
901.448.3161

altText

Anshul Bhalla, MD
Assistant Professor

Transplant Surgery
abhalla@uthsc.edu
901.478.0589

altText

Vasanthi Balaraman, MD
Assistant Professor

Transplant Surgery
vbalara1@uthsc.edu
901.478.0589

altText

Corey Eymard, MD
Assistant Professor

Transplant Surgery
ceymard@uthsc.edu
901.478.0589

altText

Thomas W. Faust, MD
Professor

Transplant Surgery
tfaust1@uthsc.edu
901.478.0595

altText

Ryan Helmick, MD
Assistant Professor

Transplant Surgery
rhelmick@uthsc.edu
901.478.0595

altText

Jiten Kothadia, MD
Assistant Professor

Transplant Surgery
jkothadi@uthsc.edu
901.478.0595

altText

Canan Kuscu, PhD (Research)
Instructor

Transplant Surgery
ckuscu@uthsc.edu
901.448.3162

altText

Cem Kuscu, PhD (Research)
Assistant Professor

Transplant Surgery
ckuscu1@uthsc.edu
901.448.3162

altText

Satheesh Nair, MD
Professor

Transplant Surgery
snair@uthsc.edu
901.478.0595

altText

Nosratollah Nezakatgoo, MD
Associate Professor

Transplant Surgery
nnezakat@uthsc.edu
901.478.0595

altText

Manish Talwar, MD
Assistant Professor

Transplant Surgery
mtalwar@uthsc.edu
901.478.0589

Jan 24, 2023