Skip to content

About the College of Pharmacy

Priority decision applicants apply by oct. 1 for a guaranteed scholarship once accepted

Mission Statement

The mission of the University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Pharmacy is to educate, inspire, discover, and serve to advance health.



UTHSC and UT Mission Statements

Vision Statement

To be a preeminent College of Pharmacy through excellence in education, discovery, and service


Core Values

In pursuing the mission of the College of Pharmacy the faculty, students, and staff are guided by these shared values, which are the foundation of its practices, spirit, and culture.

We are dedicated to:

  • Advancing excellence.
  • The profession of pharmacy with an orientation to the future.
  • Our student pharmacists, alumni, citizens of Tennessee and beyond.
  • Professionalism in faculty, staff and students.
  • Mutual trust, respect, honesty, integrity and accountability.
  • Interprofessional and interdisciplinary collaboration and teamwork in an environment of civility.
  • Equity, inclusivity and diversity.
  • Decreasing health care disparities in medically underserved communities.
  • Continuous quality improvement.
  • Practice that is evidenced-based.

The College of Pharmacy pursues these mission elements by focusing on four major goals:

  1. Student Access, Educational Excellence, and Success
  2. Research and Scholarship
  3. Clinical Care and Outreach
  4. Resource Stewardship
Fast Facts
  • Founded in 1898
  • One college with three campuses across the state: Memphis, Nashville and Knoxville


  • Eight-year accreditation by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education until 2023


Degrees Offered

  • Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD)
  • Doctor of Philosophy in Pharmaceutical Sciences (PhD) - UTHSC College of Graduate Health Sciences
  • Dual PharmD/PhD - with UTHSC College of Graduate Health Sciences
  • Dual PharmD/Master of Health Informatics and Information Management (MHIIM) - with the UTHSC College of Health Professions
  • Dual PharmD/Master of Business Administration (MBA) - with the University of Memphis
  • Masters in Public Health (MPH) - with the University of Memphis

College Leadership

Leadership Position Name


Marie Chisholm-Burns, PharmD, MPH, MBA, FCCP FASHP, FAST

Interim Associate Dean, 

Director of Continuing Professional Development

James Wheeler, PharmD

Associate Dean, 
Academic Affairs

Dawn Havrda, PharmD, BCPS, FCCP

Associate Dean, 
Graduate Programs and Research

Bernd Meibohm, PhD

Associate Dean, 
Strategic Initiatives and Operations

Brad Boucher, PharmD, FCCP, FCCM

Associate Dean, Student Affairs

Jennifer Schoelles, PharmD

Assistant Dean, 

Shelia Cooper

Associate Dean, 

Tracy M. Hagemann, PharmD

Clinical Pharmacy and Translational Science

Christopher Finch, PharmD

Pharmaceutical Sciences

Georgi Petkov, PhD



A Letter from Dean Chisholm-Burns

Dr. Marie Chisholm-Burns

For more than a century, the College has been a leader in pharmacy education, practice, and research. In fact, the U.S. News and World Report magazine recently ranked the College as one of the top 20 pharmacy schools in the nation. We are accredited by the American Council for Pharmacy Education. The College has successfully recruited and retained a very high quality faculty, that consists of nationally and internationally recognized educators, practitioners, pharmaceutical scientists and leaders in academic pharmacy. Read more...

Last Published: Oct 12, 2021