Skip to content

Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC News

Points of Pride

Apply today!


  • Founded in 1898.
  • One of the first pharmacy schools to grant the PharmD degree (1969) and one of the first to adopt the PharmD as the entry level degree (1984).
  • Top 20 among over 140 US doctor of pharmacy in U.S. News & World Report magazine's America's Best Graduate Schools.
  • #6 in NIH funding among over 140 US doctor of pharmacy programs
  • Accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACSOC) and reaccredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) for the maximum eight years (up until 2023).
  • One college with three campuses: Memphis, Nashville and Knoxville.
  • UTHSC College of Pharmacy graduates consistently achieve pass rates and scores on national pharmacy licensure examinations above the national average.
  • Lowest cost for in- and out-of-state students.


  • 40-50% of student pharmacists in each graduating class pursue post-doctoral residency training.
  • The UTHSC chapters of the American Pharmacists Association-Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) and Student National Pharmaceutical Association (SNPhA) have received multiple national Chapter of the Year Awards, along with numerous patient care and service awards.
  • The Omega Chapter of Phi Delta Chi Fraternity has received multiple Thurston Cups. This award is symbolic of its ranking as the fraternity's #1 chapter in the nation.
  • UTHSC College of Pharmacy's Kappa Psi Fraternity Chapter has won the fraternity's Regional Chapter of the Year Award.
  • Over the last decade, more than a dozen student pharmacists from our college have been elected to a regional or national office in a professional organization.


  • The College currently has 70 full-time faculty, with 50 faculty in the Department of Clinical Pharmacy and 20 in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences.
  • Over 300 alumni and friends of the college provide experiential learning for our student pharmacists
  • UTHSC College of Pharmacy has over 100 full- and part-time faculty members who are certified by the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties. This number is more than any pharmacy school worldwide.


  • The College has over 6,000 active alumni (largest alumni base of all Tennessee pharmacy schools and colleges).
  • Alumni live and work in 47 states plus Puerto Rico, the District of Columbia, and the US Virgin Islands.
  • More than a dozen sitting and retired deans at various colleges of pharmacy in the US are alumni of the University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy.
  • Dr. William E. Evans (1973, 1974) served as CEO and Director of St. Jude Children's Research Hospital (2004-2014), and was winner of APhA’s prestigious Remington Award in 2012.
  • Alumni Floyd Crain (1951) and Dianne Duncan (1965) served as  presidents of the UT National Alumni Association.
  • Numerous alumni have served as presidents of the Tennessee Board of Pharmacy.
  • Alumni have served as presidents of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, American Pharmacists Association and the American College of Clinical Pharmacy.


  • Students can participate in the innovative International Exchange Program, which currently has affiliations in Spain, Ireland, England, Scotland, Hungary, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, Sweden, France, Turkey, and Thailand.
      • Begun in 1990, this program is funded through endowments established with private donations.
      • Approximately 35 members of the P4 class participate in the program each year.
  • The College provides valuable continuing education (CE) programs statewide for practicing pharmacists and the pharmaceutical industry. On average, more than 15,000 individuals participate in our programs each year with over 47,000 hours of CE awarded.
  • Faculty in education have received national awards and recognition including:

      • American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) Innovations in Teaching and the Robert K. Chalmers Distinguished Pharmacy Educator Awards

      • American College of Clinical Pharmacists (ACCP) Educator and New Educator Awards

      • American Medical Writers Association Medical Book Award

      • Fulbright Teaching and Research Award

      • Regent’s Research in Education Award

Research and Scholarship

  • UTHSC College of Pharmacy is the home of the Center for Pediatric Experimental Therapeutics (CPET), one of only six such centers nationwide. Through research, education, and patient care, CPET continues to bring national and international prominence to UTHSC and our partner institutions.
  • UTHSC College of Pharmacy has three endowed professorships: Duane D. Miller, PhD, is the Harriet S. Van Vleet Professorship of Pharmaceutical Sciences; Michael L. Christensen, PharmD, holds the Stevens Professor of Pediatric Clinical Pharmacy; and P. David Rogers, PharmD, PhD, is the First Tennessee Chair of Excellence in Pharmacy and Pediatrics.
  • The College has licensed several of its patented drug technologies to industrial partners, with several drug candidates in late stages of clinical development.
  • Faculty in research have received national awards and recognition including:

      • AACP Volwiler and Rufus A. Lyman Awards

      • ACCP New Investigator and the Russell Miller Awards along with Therapeutic Frontiers Lectures

      • American Society of Health-System Pharmacy (ASHP) Pharmacy Practice Research Award, and awards for Sustained Contributions to the Literature of Pharmacy Practice

      • American Society of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (ASPEN) Rhoads Lecturer Awards

      • National Academies of Science members

      • National Academy of Inventors Fellow

Clinical Care

  • Faculty in clinical care have received national awards and recognition including:

      • ACCP Clinical Practice Award

      • American Pharmacists Association (APhA) Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence Award, the William H. Briner Distinguished Achievement Award in Nuclear Pharmacy Practice, and the Distinguished Achievement Award in Hospital and Institutional Practice

      • American College of Critical Care Medicine (ACCM) Master of Critical Care

      • ASHP Award of Excellence

      • Richard A. Helms Awards for Pediatric Pharmacy Practice

      • Edward Jenner Society founding member

      • Society of Critical Care Medicine Presidential Citation

      • American Society of Transplantation Clinician of Distinction

      • National Academies of Practice members

Public Service

  • Faculty in public service have received national awards and recognition including:

      • ACCP Paul F. Parker Medal and the Robert M. Elenbaas Service Award

      • APhA Remington Medal and the Outstanding Career Achievement Award

      • Student National Pharmaceutical Association Advisor Service Award

      • Society of Neuroimmune Pharmacology (SNIP) Outstanding Service and Support

      • AAPS, ACCP, ACCM, APhA, ASHP, ASPEN and PPAG Fellows

      • AAPS, ACCP, APhA Presidents
Oct 2, 2023