Skip to content

College of Medicine Administration

Robert Kaplan Executive Dean and Vice Chancellor of Clinical Affairs

Dr. Scott Strome

Scott E. Strome, MD  


Clinical Affairs

Dr. Jon McCullers

Jonathan McCullers, MD
Senior Executive Associate Dean and COO, Clinical Affairs

Dr. Jimmie Mancell

Jimmie Mancell, MD
Associate Dean, Clinical Affairs
Methodist University Hospital


Faculty Affairs

Dr. Polly Hofmann

Polly Hofmann, PhD
Senior Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs


Finance and Administration

Teresa Hartnet

Teresa Hartnett, EdD, MPA
Associate Dean, Finance and Administration 

Helen Parsons

Helen Parsons, MBA
Director, Finance and Administration 

Dorothea Owens

Dorothea Owens
Director, Analysis and Planning 


Graduate Medical Education and Continuing Medical Education

Dr. Natascha Thompson

Natascha Thompson, MD
Associate Dean, Graduate Medical Education and Designated Institutional Official

Aaron Haynes

Aaron Haynes
Assistant Dean, Graduate Medical Education

Branette Upchurch

Branette Upchurch
Senior Accreditation Specialist, Graduate Medical Education


Medical Education

Dr. Michael Whitt

Michael Whitt, PhD
Associate Dean and Chair, Medical Education 

Dr. Angela Cantrell

Angela R. Cantrell, PhD
Senior Assistant Dean, Basic Science Curriculum

Dr. Nace

G. Stephen Nace, MD, FACP 
Assistant Dean, Curriculum Integration 

Dr. Valerie Jameson

Valerie Jameson, MD  
Senior Assistant Dean, Clinical Curriculum

Dr. Bettin

Kristen A. Bettin, MD
Assistant Dean, Clinical Curriculum

Dr. Renate Rosenthal

Renate Rosenthal, PhD  
Assistant Dean, Behavioral Science Integration 

Dr. Mark Miller

Mark Miller, PhD  
Director, Evaluation and Educational Effectiveness 



Dr. Andrew Griffith

Andrew Griffith, MD, PhD
Senior Associate Dean, Research


Student Affairs and Admissions

Dr. Catherine Womack

Catherine R. Womack, MD
Associate Dean, Student Affairs and Admissions 

Dr. Sara Cross

Sara Cross, MD
Assistant Dean, Student Affairs 

Dr. James

Deidre James, MD
Assistant Dean, Student Affairs 

Dr. Olinger

Andrew Olinger, MD
Assistant Dean, Student Affairs 

Dr. Ennis

Matthew Ennis, MD
Director, Student Research 

Dr. Dustin Fulton

Dustin Fulton, EdD
Assistant Dean, Admissions 

Dr. Gerald Presbury

Gerald J. Presbury, MD
Assistant Dean, Admissions 

College of Medicine, Chattanooga

Robert Bruce Shack, MD

Robert Fore, EdD
Associate Dean Academic Affairs and CME 

Charles L Campbell, MD
Associate Dean of Clinical Affairs 

Mukta Panda, MD
Assistant Dean, Medical Education 

College of Medicine, Knoxville

Paul J. Hauptman, MD, FHFSA
Professor, Department of Medicine 

Kristi Roe
Administrative Specialist, Office of the Dean

Amy Paganelli, CPA, MBA 
Assistant Dean for Finance and Administration

Jonathan S. Wall, PhD
Director of Research

William Metheny, PhD 
Designated Institutional Official (DIO) and Assistant Dean for Graduate Medical and Dental Education

Rajiv Dhand, MD  
Associate Dean of Clinical Affairs

Saint Thomas Health, Nashville

Gregory L. James, MD
Associate Dean of Clinical Affairs and Graduate Medical Education 

Last Published: Sep 17, 2021