Skip to content

College of Medicine Administration

Robert Kaplan Executive Dean and Vice Chancellor of Clinical Affairs

Dr. Scott Strome

Scott E. Strome, MD
sstrome@uthsc.edu  

 

Clinical Affairs

Dr. Jon McCullers

Jonathan McCullers, MD
Senior Executive Associate Dean and COO, Clinical Affairs
jmccul10@uthsc.edu

Dr. Jimmie Mancell

Jimmie Mancell, MD
Associate Dean, Clinical Affairs
Methodist University Hospital
jmancel1@uthsc.edu

 

Faculty Affairs

Dr. Jimmie Mancell

Alicia Diaz-Thomas, MD, MPH
Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs
adiaztho@uthsc.edu

 

Finance and Administration

Teresa Hartnet

Teresa Hartnett, EdD, MPA
Senior Associate Dean, Finance and Administration
thartnett@uthsc.edu 

Helen Parsons

Helen Parsons, MBA
Director, Finance and Administration
hparsons@uthsc.edu 

Dorothea Owens

Dorothea Owens
Director, Analysis and Planning
dowens22@uthsc.edu 

 

Graduate Medical Education and Continuing Medical Education

Dr. Natascha Thompson

Natascha Thompson, MD
Associate Dean, Graduate Medical Education and Designated Institutional Official
nstone@uthsc.edu

Aaron Haynes

Aaron Haynes
Assistant Dean, Graduate Medical Education
ahaynes@uthsc.edu

Branette Upchurch

Mark Bugnitz, MD
Assistant Dean, Program Improvement
mbugnitz@uthsc.edu


Diversity and Inclusion

Dr. Claudette Shephard

Claudette Shephard, MD
Associate Dean, Diversity & Inclusion
cshephard@uthsc.edu

 

Community Health Engagement

Dr. Altha Stewart

Altha Stewart, MD
Senior Associate Dean, Community Health Engagement
astewa59@uthsc.edu

 

Medical Education

Dr. Michael Whitt

Michael Whitt, PhD
Associate Dean and Chair, Medical Education
mwhitt@uthsc.edu 

Dr. Angela Cantrell

Angela R. Cantrell, PhD
Senior Assistant Dean, Basic Science Curriculum
acantrel@uthsc.edu

Ryan Sheehy, PhD

Ryan Sheehy, PhD
Assistant Dean, Basic Science Curriculum
rsheehy@uthsc.edu

Dr. Bettin

Kristen A. Bettin, MD
Senior Assistant Dean, Clinical Curriculum
kbettin@uthsc.edu

Dr. Renate Rosenthal

Renate Rosenthal, PhD  
Assistant Dean, Behavioral Science Integration
rrosenthal@uthsc.edu 

Dr. Nace

G. Stephen Nace, MD, FACP 
Assistant Dean, Curriculum Integration
gnace@uthsc.edu 

 

Research

Dr. Andrew Griffith

Andrew Griffith, MD, PhD
Senior Associate Dean, Research
agriff51@uthsc.edu

 

Student Affairs and Admissions

Dr. Catherine Womack

Catherine R. Womack, MD
Associate Dean, Student Affairs and Admissions
cwomack@uthsc.edu 

Dr. Sara Cross

Sara Cross, MD
Assistant Dean, Student Affairs
scross11@uthsc.edu 

Dr. James

Deidre James, MD
Assistant Dean, Student Affairs
djames17@uthsc.edu 

Dr. Nia Zalamea

Nia Zalamea, MD
Assistant Dean, Student Affairs
nzalamea@uthsc.edu

Dr. Dustin Fulton

Dustin Fulton, EdD
Assistant Dean, Admissions
dfulton2@uthsc.edu 

Dr. Ennis

Matthew Ennis, MD
Director, Student Research
mennis@uthsc.edu 

 

Statewide Operations & Strategy

Dr. G Nicholas Verne

G Nicholas Verne, MD
Senior Associate Dean, Statewide Operations and Strategy
gverne@uthsc.edu

 


College of Medicine, Chattanooga

James W. Haynes, MD, FAAFP
Interim Dean
jhayne20@uthsc.edu

Robert C. Fore, EdD, FACEHP, CHCP
Associate Dean, Academic Affairs and CME
Robert.Fore@erlanger.org 

Giuseppe Pizzorno, PhD, PharmD
Associate Dean, Research
giuseppe.pizzorno@erlanger.org

Mukta Panda, MD,  MACP, FRCP-London
Assistant Dean, Well-Being and Medical Student Education
Mukta.Panda@erlanger.org 

Cindy Olson
Assistant Dean, Finance & Administration
cindy.olson@erlanger.org


College of Medicine, Knoxville

Paul J. Hauptman, MD, FHFSA
Dean
Professor, Department of Medicine
phauptman@utmck.edu 

Kristi Roe
Administrative Specialist, Office of the Dean
kroe1@uthsc.edu

Amy Paganelli, CPA, MBA 
Assistant Dean for Finance and Administration 
apaganel@utmck.edu

Jonathan S. Wall, PhD
Director of Research
jwall@utmck.edu

William Metheny, PhD 
Designated Institutional Official (DIO) and Assistant Dean for Graduate Medical and Dental Education
wmetheny@utmck.edu

Rajiv Dhand, MD  
Associate Dean of Clinical Affairs
rdhand@utmck.edu


Saint Thomas Health, Nashville

Gregory L. James, MD
Associate Dean of Clinical Affairs and Graduate Medical Education
gjames7@uthsc.edu 

Last Published: May 19, 2022