Skip to content

Department of Anesthesiology

Mission, Vision, and Values

Mission Statement

The mission of the Department of Anesthesia in the College of Medicine at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center is to provide an environment that will foster: 

  • Excellence in the practice of Clinical
  • Care of patients, with a special understanding of our commitment to our local, regional and state communities
  • Allow physicians and nurse anesthetists to have a superior Education in all aspects of anesthesia practice
  • The conduct of Research at the forefront of the specialty
Vision Statement
  • To GROW in a responsible, values-driven manner serving as a catalyst of positive change
  • To SHAPE the future of healthcare by delivering unmatched, measurable results for our customers and stakeholders
  • To DELIVER the highest quality care for our patients
  • To PROVIDE an environment that fosters a collaborative experience for the clinicians with whom we work and to be the workplace of choice for our employees


  • We do the right thing for our patients and stakeholders.
  • We approach decisions and take action using an ethical frame of reference.
  • We do what we say we will do.


  • We strive to continuously improve.
  • We are committed to the safety of our patients and employees.


  • We employ a team-based, collaborative style.
  • We encourage all of our employees and customers to contribute their ideas.
    Inspired Leadership.
  • We strive to be innovative and demonstrate leadership utilizing evidence-based decision making.


From the Chairman

steve boggsThe Department of Anesthesiology in the College of Medicine at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center strives to provide consistently safe care of the highest quality to all patients in all of our locations. This care is delivered irrespective of background, identity, or means.

Our goal is to teach excellent clinical anesthesiologists and nurse anesthestist who rotate in our department. To accomplish this mission, we teach and learn from each other in an environment of mutual respect, open discourse, and honest self-reflection.

Steven Dale Boggs, MD, FASA, MBA
Professor and Chair
Department of Anesthesiology
College of Medicine


Steven D. Boggs, MD, FASA, MBA
Professor and Chair
Clinical & Research Affairs


Olivia Cabigao, MD
Clinical Director for Surgical & Nurse Anesthesia Services


Susan Calhoun, MD


Blas Catalani, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor


Jill Cooley, MD
Assistant Professor
Division of Obstetrics


Jerry Jones, Jr., MD
Assistant Professor
Division Chief of Acute Pain Medicine


Chaya Krishnan, MD
Assistant Professor


Sunder Krishnan, MD
Associate Professor


Patricia Little, MD
Assistant Professor


Susan Mokhtari, MD
Assistant Professor


David Nagy, MD
Assistant Professor


Jaya Ramanathan, MD
Clinical Director of Obstetrics


Aaron Rank, MD
Assistant Professor


Joy Steadman, MD
Associate Professor
Vice Chair of Education
Division Head of Obstetrics & Trauma
Residency Program Director


Last Published: May 30, 2019