Skip to content

Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC News

UTHSC Postdoctoral Association (PhDA)

The mission of the UTHSC PhDA is to establish a self-sustaining organization to provide a voice for postdoctoral scholars, and to assist in their integration within the University of Tennessee Health Science Center community. Establishment of this organization will endeavor to enhance the quality of the postdoctoral experience for all participants.

Postdoctoral scholar appointees are individuals who come to UTHSC to further their training in a chosen discipline after recently obtaining their terminal degree (e.g., PhD, MD, DDS, PharmD). This training is for a limited term, conducted in an apprenticeship mode wherein the scholar works under the supervision of an investigator who is qualified to fulfill the responsibilities of a mentor.

The UTHSC Postdoctoral Association (PhDA) was founded in 2007 and is comprised of individuals who are motivated by goals consistent with our mission statement. The PhDA is also dedicated to facilitating communication between the postdoctoral community, faculty mentors and the administration of UTHSC to enhance the postdoctoral training experience and to provide postdoctoral scholars with the skills to enhance the development of their careers.


  • Act as an advocate for all UTHSC Postdoctoral scholars on high quality issues
  • Establish mutually rewarding relationships with mentors, administration and the UTHSC Community
  • Enlist the support of UTHSC Postdoctoral scholars towards PhDA efforts through committee participation and involvement
  • Establish relationships with other Postdoctoral scholars regionally and at the national level through interactions with the National Postdoctoral Association (NPA)
  • Organize networking and social events that will showcase the skills and talents of our Postdoctoral scholars
  • Promote career development for Postdoctoral scholars
  • Promote the ethical conduction of research
  • Encourage Postdoctoral scholars to participate within the UTHSC and Memphis Community as volunteers and professional examples
  • To maintain an internet site of information pertinent to UTHSC Postdoctoral scholars.


Primary, full membership is reserved for UTHSC Postdoctoral scholar appointees in any research area, but other interested parties (research associates, research assistants, fellows, faculty, administrators, technicians, graduate students and volunteer research personnel) may also become actively involved as associate members.

Download the PhDA Membership Application.

  • National Postdoc Appreciation Week
  • Postdoc Research Day
  • Postdoc Career Day
  • Postdoc Year-End Celebration Day

Note: Information pertaining to events will be announced through campus emails.

2019 - 2020

Nikolai Fattakhov, PhD (Co-President) 
Meenakshi Tiwary (Co-President) 
Prashant Kumar (Secretary) 
Ashley Fitzgerald (member) 
Hadi Hosseini (member) 
Sunitha Kodidela (member) 

2018 - 2019

Sunitha Kodidela, PhD (Co-President)
Raji Rajesh Lenin, PhD (Co-President)
Saifudeen Ismael, PhD (Secretary)
Megan Beck (member)
Maria Namwanje, PhD (member)
Shyam Panthi, PhD (member)
Korah Pushpamangalam Kuruvilla, PhD (member)
Chinnu Salim, PhD (member)

2017 - 2018

Raji Rajesh Lenin, PhD (Co-President)
Purnima Singh, PhD (Co-President)
Sally Elshaer, PhD (Secretary)
Megan Beck, PhD (member)
Prashanth Bhusetty Nagesh, PhD (member)
Cameron Fili, DVM (member)
Igor Iskusnykh, PhD (member)
Korah Pushpamangalam  Kuruvilla PhD (member)
Avtar Meena, PhD (member)
David Siefker, PhD (member)
Linda Wilmott, PhD (member)

2016 - 2017

Udita Datta, PhD (Co-President)
Avtar Meena, PhD (Co-President)
Megan Beck, PhD (Member)
Mounir Bendahmane, PhD (Member)
Prashanth Kumar Bhusetty Nagesh, PhD (Member)
Giri Chandaka, PhD (Member)
David Delotterie, PhD (Member)
Ikbale El Ayachi, PhD (Member)
Hemant Gujar, PhD (Member)
Igor Iskusnykh, PhD (Member)
Vivek Kumar Kashyap, PhD (Member)
Narasimha Midde, PhD (Member)
Kamalika Mukherjee, PhD (Member)
Emmanuel Okeke, PhD (Member)
Ajeeth Kumar Pingili, PhD (Member)
Korah Pushpamangalam Kuruvilla, PhD (Member)
David Siefker, PhD (Member)
Jaligama Sridhar, PhD (Member)
Lynda Wilmott, PhD (Member)
Young In Kim Hoehamer, PhD (Faculty Advisor)

2015 - 2016

Ajeeth Kumar Pingili, PhD (Co-President)
Korah Pushpamangalam Kuruvilla, PhD (Co-President)
Lynda Wilmott, PhD (Secretary/Treasurer)
Mounir Bendahmane, PhD (Member)
Giri Chandaka, PhD (Member)
Avtar Meena, PhD (Member)
Narasimha Midde, PhD (Member)
Kamalika Mukherjee, PhD (Member)
Kamala Padala, PhD (Member)
David Siefker, PhD (Member)
Jaligama Sridhar, PhD (Member)
Young In Kim Hoehamer, PhD (Faculty Advisor)


May 26, 2022