Student Organizations and Specialty Interest Groups


When groups of students wish to have a continuous association, intended to last beyond the term of those immediately involved, it is proper that they be required to qualify for and be recognized by the University. All recognized associations should be accorded the same privileges and bound by the same obligations. University recognition does not mean endorsement of the purposes or activities of any association by the faculty or administration. It means only that the association is accepted as meeting the minimum requirements set for all student associations.

Any student group seeking official registration by the University in order to utilize University facilities must
complete and return the following required documents to the Office of Student Life, 800 Madison Avenue, Suite 300, Memphis, TN 38163 or simply by dropping by the office:

  1. Student organization registration request and update form
  2. Responsibilities of faculty advisors to student organizations
  3. A copy of your group's constitution and by-laws

Consult the CenterScope Student Handbook for instructions on how to prepare a constitution or by-laws, or contact the Office of Student Life for assistance. A complete description of the process for the registration of student organizations may be found in the Registration and Conduct of Student Organizations section in the CenterScope Student Handbook.

College of Medicine Officer Position Email Advisor
Aid for the Impaired Medical Student (AIMS)       Dr. Lawrence Madlock
American Medical Association Medical Student Section Raj Budati Chapter President pbudati@uthsc.edu  
  Mike Bright Vice President mbright8@uthsc.edu  
American Medical Student Association (AMSA) David Copeland Co-President dcopela4@uthsc.edu Dr. Valerie Arnold
  Cosby Arnold President carnol12@uthsc.edu  
  Hannah Fish Vice President hfish@uthsc.edu  
Anesthesiology Interest Group Amelia Owens Co-President aowens20@uthsc.edu Dr. Robert Craft
  Jason Johnson Co-President jjohn326@uthsc.edu  
  Tyler Jackson Vice President tjacks18@uthsc.edu  
Best Buddies Mallory Uekman President muekman@uthsc.edu Dr. Melissa Hoffmann
  Nikhita Jain Vice President njain7@uthsc.edu  
Council on International & Area Outreach (CIAO) Kristie Chang Co-President kchang@uthsc.edu Dr. Susan Brewer
  Missy Edwards Co-President missyedwards6@gmail.com  
Emergency Medicine Interest Group Neha Bhatnager President nbhatnag@uthsc.edu Dr. Jim Creel
        Dr. Sadave Mendiratta
Family Medicine Interest Group Mary Jane Dickey President mdickey1@uthsc.edu Dr. Sharon Tabachnick
Health Policy Education Group Matt McCulloch M3 Rep mmccul10@uthsc.edu Dr. Carol Schwab
Health Students Teaching Memphis Youth Hannah Fish President hfish@uthsc.edu Dr. Jeanie Dassow
  Amanda Kull Vice President akull@uthsc.edu  
Healthcare Business Student Interest Group Jeremy Brooksbank President jbrooksb@uthsc.edu Dr. Jerome Thompson
  Rhett Layman Vice President rlayman2@uthsc.edu  
  Channing Garber Vice President kgarber@uthsc.edu  
  Anderson Webb Vice President awebb29@uthsc.edu  
Hematology/Oncology St. Interest Group Erick Vick President evick@uthsc.edu Dr. Mike Martin
         
Honor Council Daniel Sharbel
Daniel Wakefield
Andrew Cibulas [VP]
Brett George
    James B. Lewis, MD
Internal Medicine Interest Group Justin Arunthamakun Co-President jaruntha@uthsc.edu Dr. James B. Lewis
    Co-President    
Medical Spanish Club Danielle Kern Co-President danielle.kern1@uthsc.edu Dr. Alicia Diaz-Thomas
  James Humble Co-President jhumble@uthsc.edu  
  Cathya Olivas Co-President colivas@uthsc.edu  
  Patty Ojeda Co-President pojeda@uthsc.edu  
Medical Student Executive Council (MSEC) Kaitlin Ray President kray18@uthsc.edu Dr. Susan Brewer
    Vice President    
Ob/Gyn Interest Group Lindsay Morris Co-President lmorri26@uthsc.edu Dr. Owen Phillips
    Vice President    
Otolaryngology Interest Group Daniel D. Sharbel Co-Chair dsharbel@uthsc.edu Dr.Jerome Thompson
    Co-Chair    
    Co-Chair    
Pathology Student Interest Group   Co-Leader    
  Natalie Guley Co-Leader nhart3@uthsc.edu  
Pediatric Interest Group Elizabeth Altizer President altize1@uthsc.edu Dr. Mark Bugnitz
  Michael Edwards Vice President medwar41@uthsc.edu  
Phi Chi Fraternity Alex Manole President bmanole@uthsc.edu Dr. Susan Brewer
  Prashant Mishra Vice President pmishra4@uthsc.edu  
Psychiatry Student Interest Group (PsychSign) Noel Diaz Co-Chair ldiaz2@uthsc.edu Dr. Renate Rosenthal
  Amanda Walker Co-Chair awalke62@uthsc.edu  
Radiology Interest Group of the UTHSC (Elections in the Fall semester) Andrew Cibulas President acibulas@uthsc.edu Dr. Brian Green
  Parker Merritt Vice President pmerrit3@uthsc.edu  
Street Medicine Interest Group Lauren Braden President lbraden2@uthsc.edu Dr. David Hasty
  Emily Thompson Vice President ethomp33@uthsc.edu  
Student Committee on Research in Ed. (SCORE) Becky Uhlmann President ruhlmann@uthsc.edu Dr. Suzanne Satterfield
  Shannon Niedermeyer Vice President sniederm@uthsc.edu  
Student Interest Group in Dermatology Jesalyn Tate President vvw875@uthsc.edu Dr. Robert Skinner
  Beth Lee Vice President elee22@uthsc.edu Dr. Robert Kaplan
Student Interest Group in Neurology (SIGN) Casey McCormick President cjmccormick.bsc@gmail.com Dr. Mervat Wahba
Student Interest Group in Ophthalmology (SIGIO) Rutvi Patel President rpatel37@uthsc.edu Dr. Bill Morris
  Eric Sollenberger Vice President esollenb@uthsc.edu  
Student National Medical Association (SNMA) Sammie Searcy President ssearcy5@uthsc.edu Dr. Gerald Presbury
  Taylor Cravanas Vice President tcravan1@uthsc.edu  
Student Orthopaedic Association Wesley Owen President wowen1@uthsc.edu Dr. Karen Hasty
  Eric Villareal Vice President gvillare@uthsc.edu  
Student Surgical Society Travis Sullivan President tsulliv8@uthsc.edu Dr. Gayle Minard
  Andrew (Drew) Kropilak Vice President akropila@uthsc.edu  
  Max Ofori Vice President mofori3@uthsc.edu  
Student to Student Grant Muller President rmuller2@uthsc.edu Dr. Claudette Shephard
  Matt Grisham   jgrisham@uthsc.edu  
UT Plastic Surgery Interest Group Grace Cho President echo2@uthsc.edu Dr. Robert Wallace
  Rebecca Thompson Vice President rthomp40@uthsc.edu  
UT Radiation Oncology Student Society Daniel Wakefield President dwakefi2@uthsc.edu Dr. Michael Farmer
(Elections in the Fall semester) Tyler Verdell Vice President tverdel2@uthsc.edu  
UT Student Neurosurgical Society Garrett Venable President jdg628@uthsc.edu Dr. Frederick Boop
  Cody Nesvick Vice President    
UT Students for Preventive Medicine   President   Dr. Susan Brewer
UTHSC Chapter of Physicians for a Diana Alsbrook President dalsbro2@uthsc.edu Dr Roger LaBonte
    National Health Program Max Ofori Vice President mofori3@uthsc.edu  
UTHSC College of Medicine Medical Genetics Scott Ward President sward14@uthsc.edu Dr. Jewell Ward
    Interest Group Lindsay Morris Vice President lmorri26@uthsc.edu Dr. Vicki Park
UTHSC Nature Conservancy Ryan Murphy President rmurph14@uthsc.edu Dr. Michael Whitt
        Dr. Mark Miller
Urology Interest Group Matt Davis President matldavi@uthsc.edu Dr. Robert Wake
  Andrew Tumen Vice President atumen@uthsc.edu  
Wilderness, Austere and Rescue Medicine (WARM) Charlie Duke President cduke1@uthsc.edu Dr. Barbara Geater
Women In Medicine and Science (WIMS) Kate Huggins Co-President khuggin1@uthsc.edu Dr. Susan Brewer
  Cori Rogers Co-President croger34@uthsc.edu Dr. Dianna Johnson
  Elizabeth Lane Co-President elane4@uthsc.edu Dr. Vicki Park
  Sarah Allan Vice President sallan@uthsc.edu Dr. Suzanne Satterfield