Student Organizations and Specialty Interest Groups

When groups of students wish to have a continuous association, intended to last beyond the term of those immediately involved, it is proper that they be required to qualify for and be recognized by the University. All recognized associations should be accorded the same privileges and bound by the same obligations. University recognition does not mean endorsement of the purposes or activities of any association by the faculty or administration. It means only that the association is accepted as meeting the minimum requirements set for all student associations.

Any student group seeking official registration by the University in order to utilize University facilities must
complete and return the following required documents to the Office of Student Life, 800 Madison Avenue, Suite 300, Memphis, TN 38163 or simply by dropping by the office:

  1. Student organization registration request and update form:
    online version or printable pdf file
  2. Responsibilities of faculty advisors to student organizations
  3. A copy of your group's constitution and by-laws

Consult the CenterScope Student Handbook for instructions on how to prepare a constitution or by-laws, or contact the Office of Student Life for assistance. A complete description of the process for the registration of student organizations may be found in the Registration and Conduct of Student Organizations section in the CenterScope Student Handbook.

Community Service Project Surveys

The following are links to our new surveys that all project participants will be required to complete prior to and after a community project.

image
Olsen logo

Contact Us

Office of Student Affairs

910 Madison Ave, #1043
Memphis, TN 38163
Phone: (901) 448-5684
Fax: (901) 448-7085

Interim Associate Dean

Susan C. Brewer, M.D.

Executive Dean:
David M. Stern, M.D.


UTHSC Student Organizations
Advisor

Officer

Position

Email
UTHSC Unite Dr. Michael Whitt  Colby Passaro President rpassaro@uthsc.edu
Peter Duden Vice President pduden1@uthsc.edu

COM Student Organizations
Advisor

Officer

Position

Email
Americal Medical Association  Dr. Charles Handorf  Raj Budati President pbudati@uthsc.edu
Mike Bright Vice President mbright8@uthsc.edu
American Medical Student Association (AMSA)   Dr. Valerie Arnold   David Copeland Co-President dcopela4@uthsc.edu
Cosby Arnold President carnol12@uthsc.edu
Hannah Fish Vice President hfish@uthsc.edu
Council on International & Area Outreach  Dr. Susan Brewer  Libby Weaver Co-President libaceto@gmail.com
Kristie Chang Co-President kchang@uthsc.edu
Medical Student Executive Council (MSEC)  Dr. Owen Phillips  Caitlin Carr President ccarr18@uthsc.edu
Kaitlin Ray Vice President kray18@uthsc.edu
Phi Chi Fraternity  Dr. Owen Phillips  Zach Marlette President zmarlett@uthsc.edu
Reecca Teague Vice President rteague@uthsc.edu
Student National Medical Association (SNMA)  Dr. Gerald Presbury  Cynthia Anunobi President canunobi@uthsc.edu
Kimberly Tuggle Vice President ktuggle@uthsc.edu

COM Student Interest GroupsAdvisorOfficerPositionEmail
Anesthesiology Interest Group  Dr. Robert Craft  Kristin Burkhalter Co-President kwilbank@uthsc.edu
Barrett Krei Co-President ekrei@uthsc.edu
Emergency Medicine Interest Group  Dr. Jim Creel Danny VanValkinburgh  President  dvanvalk@uthsc.edu
Dr. Sadave Mendiratta
Family Medicine Interest Group Dr. David Maness Dustin Temple President dtemple1@uthsc.edu
Health Policy Education Group Dr. Carol Schwab Matt McCulloch M3 Rep mmccul10@uthsc.edu
Healthcare Business Student Interest Group Dr. Jerry Thompson Anderson Webb President awebb29@uthsc.edu
Hematology/Oncology St. Interest Group Dr. Mike Martin Sara Nunnery President sjones72@uthsc.edu
Internal Medicine Interest Group  Dr. Susan Brewer  Justin Arunthamakun Co-President jaruntha@uthsc.edu
John Bouchillon Co-President jbouchil@uthsc.edu
Medical Spanish Club Dr. Alicia Diaz-Thomas Danielle Kern Contact danielle.kern1@uthsc.edu
Ob/Gyn Interest Group  Dr. Roger Young  Faith Creekmore Co-President fcreekm1@uthsc.edu
Mallory Roberts Co-President mrober41@uthsc.edu
Otolaryngology Interest Group   Dr.Jerome Thompson   Philip Rosen Co-Chair prosen@uthsc.edu
Carey Wood Co-Chair cwood23@uthsc.edu
Jaron Densky Co-Chair jdensky@uthsc.edu
Pathology Student Interest Group  Dr. Charles Handorf  Josh Anderson Co-Leader jande110@uthsc.edu
Natalie Guley Co-Leader nhart3@uthsc.edu
Pediatric Interest Group Dr. Mark Bugnitz Niyomi Gandhi President  ngandhi1@uthsc.edu
Psychiatry Student Interest Group (PsychSign)   Dr. Renate Rosenthal   Alice Gu Co-Chair agu@uthsc.edu
Jun Song Co-Chair jsong20@uthsc.edu
Daniel Lillegran Co-Chair dlilligr@uthsc.edu
Street Medicine Interest Group  Dr. David Hasty  Cydnie Bedford President ebedford@uthsc.edu
Emily Thompson Vice President ethomp33@uthsc.edu
Student Committee on Research in Ed. (SCORE)  Dr. Suzanne Satterfield  Corie Davis President cdavis75@uthsc.edu
Feenalie Patel Vice President fpatel3@uthsc.edu
Student Interest Group in Dermatology  Dr. Robert Skinner Stacy McMurray President smcmurr4@uthsc.edu
Dr. Robert Kaplan Beth Lee Vice President elee22@uthsc.edu
Student Interest Group in Neurology (SIGN) Dr. Mervat Wahba Casey McCormick President cjmccormick.bsc@gmail.com
Student Interest Group in Ophthalmology (SIGIO)  Dr. Bill Morris  Josh Barnett President jbarne56@uthsc.edu
Joshuah Little Vice President  
Student Orthopaedic Association  Dr. Karen Hasty, PhD  Matthew Ramsey President mramsey9@uthsc.edu
Scott Mabry Vice President smabry1@uthsc.edu
Student Surgical Society   Dr. Gayle Minard   Tate Naylor President tnaylor@uthsc.edu
Wade Gobbell Vice President wgobbell@uthsc.edu
Nabil Saleh Vice President nsaleh@uthsc.edu
Student to Student Dr. Roger Young Liz Anderson President lander57@uthsc.edu
UT Plastic Surgery Interest Group  Dr. Robert Wallace  Corianne Rogers President croger34@uthsc.edu
Grace Cho Vice President echo2@uthsc.edu
UT Radiation Oncology Student Society  Dr. Michael Farmer  Daniel Wakefield President dwakefi2@uthsc.edu
Tyler Verdell Vice President tverdel2@uthsc.edu
UT Student Neurosurgical Society Dr. Frederick Boop Cain Green President cgreen33@uthsc.edu
UT Students for Preventive Medicine  Dr. James Bailey Petrina Craine  President  pcraine@uthsc.edu
Dr. Owen Phillips  
UTHSC Chapter of Physicians for a National Health Program  Dr Roger LaBonte  Jun Song President jsong20@uthsc.edu
Surosree Ganguli Vice President sgangul7@uthsc.edu
UTHSC Nature Conservancy  Dr. Michael Whitt Ryan Murphy  President  rmurph14@uthsc.edu
Dr. Mark Miller  
Urology Interest Group  Dr. Robert Wake  Andrew Tumen President atumen@uthsc.edu
Tyler Woodard Vice President twoodar5@uthsc.edu
Wilderness, Austere and Rescue Medicine (WARM) Dr. Barbara Geater John Hamilton President jhamilt9@uthsc.edu
Women In Medicine and Science (WIMS)    Dr. Susan Brewer Christina Nenon Co-President cnenon@uthsc.edu
Dr. Dianna Johnson Holly Norwick Co-President hnorwick@uthsc.edu
Dr. Vicki Park Kate Rampon Vice President khuggin1@uthsc.edu
Dr. Suzanne Satterfield