Skip to content

Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC News

Chattanooga Clerkship Directors


Sara Conway, MD, Clerkship Director, Family Medicine

Sara E. Conway, MD
Clerkship Director, Department of Family Medicine
Hometown: Chattanooga, TN
Medical School: Quillen College of Medicine, East Tennessee State University
Residency: University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga (Family Medicine)
Interests: General Family Medicine
Phone:  423.778.2957
Administrative Contact:  Charity Ross
Family Medicine Residency Coordinator Elissa McCoy, MEd

Dr. Conway attended the Quillen College of Medicine at East Tennessee State University before returning to Chattanooga for residency. She also served as Chief Resident during her senior year of training.  She has been appointed to the Family Medicine Faculty and has worked at Erlanger since completing her residency.


Patrick Koo, MD, Medicine Clerkship Director

Patrick Koo, MD, SCM
Internal Medicine Clerkship Director
Respiratory, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine
Phone:  423.778.6670
Administrative Contact: Joyce Poke –

Dr. Koo was appointed Clerkship Director as of January 2020.


Jake McKay, MD, Neurology Clerkship Director

Jake McKay, MD
Neurology Clerkship Director

Neurology phone:  423.778.9001
Administrative Contact: Joyce Poke – 
Phone:  423.778.6670

Dr. McKay was named Neurology Clerkship Director in 2022 and also serves as the EEG Lab Director for the Erlanger Department of Neurology.   

The UT Erlanger Neurology practice is also home to Southeast Tennessee's first and only accredited Primary Stroke Center. Erlanger earned the Gold Seal of Approval from The Joint Commission for Primary Stroke Centers, recognizing that the Erlanger stroke care program follows national standards and guidelines that can significantly improve outcomes for stroke patients.  

Dr. McKay received his Medical Degree from Florida State University. He completed residency in Internal Medicine and  Neurology, as well as a fellowship in Clinical Neurophysiology-EEG, at the Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education in Jacksonville, Florida. Dr. McKay is Board Certified in Neurology and Clinical Neurophysiology. He is an active member of the American Academy of Neurology, American Epilepsy Society and American Clinical Neurophysiology Society.


Jeanie Dassow, MD, OB/GYN Clerkship Director

Jeanie Dassow, MD
General Obstetrics and Gynecology
OB/GYN Clerkship Director, Clinic Director, and Assistant Professor
Phone:  423.778.7515 
Administrative Contact:  Connie Land --

Dr. Jeanie Dassow graduated with the highest distinction from the University of Kentucky College of Medicine in 1987 and then completed a residency in OB/GYN at Barnes Hospital/Washington University in St. Louis in 1991. She was later faculty at the University of Kentucky where she won several teaching awards in both Family Medicine and OB/GYN.  Dr. Dassow joined the UT College of Medicine Chattanooga faculty in the late Fall 2010 and was appointed Clerkship Director for UT Chattanooga Department of OB/GYN in January 2011. Her academic interests are providing care in areas of health disparities, preventive medicine, global health, and medical education.

She and her physician husband have six children. Dr. Dassow is board certified in Obstetrics and Gynecology and also serves as Director of the OB/GYN Clerkship.


Cathy Stevens, MD, Clerkship Director, Pediatrics

Cathy A. Stevens, MD (Pediatric Genetics)
Pediatric Clerkship Director
Clerkship Administrative Assistant:  Tammy Elliott
Clerkship Phone:  423.778.6696

Dr. Stevens is Professor in the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Tennessee College of Medicine Chattanooga. She is primarily from Memphis. A member of the UT faculty since 1991, she received her M.D. from the UT Health Science Center in Memphis. She completed a residency in Pediatrics at UT/LeBonheur Children's Medical Center and a Clinical Genetics Fellowship at the University of Utah, Salt Lake City.

Dr. Stevens is Board Certified in Pediatrics and Medical Genetics and previously held faculty appointments at the University of Utah and The Medical College of Virginia.



Audrey Hime, MD
Psychiatry Clerkship Director

Mocassin Bend Mental Health Institute
Phone:  423.785.3343

Administrative Contact: Joyce Poke --
Phone:  423.778.6670

Dr. Audrey Hime practices inpatient psychiatry at Mocassin Bend Mental Health Institute in Chattanooga and serves as Director for the Psychiatry Clerkship in Chattanooga.


J. Daniel Stanley, MD, Clerkship Director, Surgery

J.  Daniel Stanley, MD, FACS
Surgery (General and Colorectal Surgery)

Surgery Clerkship Director
Academic Office Phone:  423.778.7695

Administrative Contacts: Breanna Lomnick, Administrative Secretary, Department of Surgery
                                        Jacklyn Pope, Administrative Secretary, Department of Surgery
                                        Maggie Hamblen, Coordinator, Department of Surgery

Dr. Daniel Stanley completed medical school training at Indiana University School of Medicine.  He completed a Surgery Residency at Iowa Methodist Medical Center in Des Moines and subsequently completed Colorectal Fellowship in Royal Oak Michigan at William Beaumont Hospital before returning to Chattanooga and joining the faculty at UTCOMC in 1999.  Dr. Stanley is also the Program Director for our Colon and Rectal Surgery Fellowship.

Sep 16, 2022