Neuroscience Institute Fellowships for
Undergraduate Research Awarded

The UT Neuroscience Institute recently awarded the 2014-2015 Merit Fellowships for Undergraduate Neuroscience Research to two area students, who will work in UTHSC labs this summer. They were selected by a committee at their respective institutions based on their academic excellence and strong interest in neuroscience. Anqi Zheng, Christian Brother's University, will work with Dr. Kanwaljeet JS Anand in Pediatrics at LeBonheur Children's Medical Center, who's research is in understanding neonatal pain and stress. Jessica Baker, Rhodes College, will work with Dr. Kristen Hamre, who researches the interaction between genetics and the nervous system and Dr. Scott Heldt, both in Anatomy and Neurobiology, who's research involves understanding the neural mechanisms mediating fear and anxiety in the mammalian brain.

Previous Awardees

Catherine Gluszek, the Brother Dominic Dunn Award winner
Catherine Gluszek, Christian Brothers University receiving the The Brother Dominic Dunn Award
This award is presented annually by the faculty of the School of Sciences to the outstanding graduating senior with a major in science or mathematics. The award is given in the memory of Brother Dominic Dunn, F.S.C., to the graduate giving strong evidence of academic excellence and of service to the University and/or the community. Presented at the Student Research Poster Session. Established in 1992.

Contact Us

Neuroscience Institute
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
875 Monroe Ave, Suite 426
Memphis, TN 38163
Phone: (901) 448-5960
Fax: (901) 448-4685

Physical Address
426 Wittenborg Anatomy Building

William E. Armstrong, Ph.D.

Anton J. Reiner, Ph.D.

Administrative Services Assistant:
Shannon Guyot

Brandy Fleming, M.S.

The Neuroscience Institute - University of Tennessee Health Science Center

The Neuroscience Institute on Facebook