Skip to content


Graduate Medical Education Committee

Natascha Thompson, MD - Chair

ACGME requires every sponsoring institution to have a Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC). Some of the responsibilities of this committee are to establish and implement policies and procedures regarding the quality of education and the work environment for residents, review and make recommendations on resident stipends and benefits, establish and maintain oversight of program directors, establish and implement policies regarding duty hours, ensure programs provide appropriate supervision, review all ACGME program accreditation letters, and approve correspondence to ACGME.

Program Coordinator Committee

Aaron Haynes - Chair

The Program Coordinator Committee consists of GME Administration and Program Coordinators from all residency programs in the College of Medicine. The Committee is used as a way for the GME Office to communicate necessary information to the programs, create closer working relationships among the coordinators, and determine/implement best practices. One member of the committee is selected in March to serve on the Graduate Medical Education Committee.

Member Program
Aaron Haynes Director GME
Amanda Roberts Internal Medicine
Karen Ariemma Pediatrics
Michelle Bollenbach Medicine - Pulmonary/Critical Care 
Leigh Ann Barns Psychiatry & Geriatric Psychiatry
Demaria Young Rheumatology, Medicine - Endocrinology & Infectious Disease
Kelli Moses Allergy & Immunology, Pediatrics – Endocrinology & Critical Care
Paula Odom OB/GYN
Renee Poe Orthopaedic Surgery
Sharron Cole Family Medicine-Jackson
Brenda Coleman Medicine - Cardiology, Cardiology Interventional, & Cardiac Electrophysiology
Clara Bright Radiology
Andrew Gienapp Neurosurgery
Rosemary Bankston Orthopaedic Hand - Pediatrics & Sports Medicine
Amie Ray Pediatrics – Cardiology, Pulmonology & Nephrology
Saundra Pirtle Family Medicine - St. Francis
Melissa Hayes Medicine & Pediatrics
Susan Coffill Medicine - Gastroenterology/Nephrology/Hepatology
Trachia Wilson Pediatrics - Infectious Disease
Janet Herriman Oncology Fellowships
April Smith Pediatric EM/Pediatric Radiology/Neonatology
Amber Stroupe Surgery - Pediatric, Pediatric Surgical Critical Care
Leanna Fox Irwin Pediatrics - Hematology/Oncology
Denise Norman Neurology - Child
Pam Harlan-McSwain Neurology
Trish Phelan Urology
Jeannie Price Surgery - Transplant
Ariel Spencer Plastic Surgery
Miea Williams Ophthalmology
Brittany Aur Maternal Fetal Medicine
Tracey Bradley Internal Medicine - Nashville
Flavenia Leaper Surgery - Critical Care
Jeannine Ricker Urology - Pediatrics, Child Psychiatry,  Pediatrics Gastro
Bryan Thorn Otolaryngology, Pediatric Otolaryngology, & Vascular Surgery
Cynthia Tooley Surgery
Catina Price Radiology - Interventional
Ashley King Dermatology and Neurology Fellowships
Leland Rodgers Pathology and Fellowships
Stacie Murphy Emergency Medicine
Haley Smith Hospice, Anesthesiology, Pediatric Hospitalist

Last Published: Apr 20, 2020