Skip to content

Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC News

Quality Sessions, Leaders, and Curriculum

quality-signAnnually several institution-wide sessions on Quality Improvement and Patient Safety (QIPS) topics are incorporated as part of our institutional core curriculum series called Healthcare Principles in Practice (HPP) — held monthly at Noon on the 2nd Tuesday of each month via Zoom.

All 1st, 2nd, and 3rd-year residents and fellows are required to attend or view a recording of each session that is available on the UT College of Medicine Chattanooga YouTube Channel within a few days of each session. All Residents, Fellows, Faculty, and Medical Students are encouraged to participate in the live Zoom sessions or view the recordings as well. 

2021-2022 QIPS topics included in our HPP Series are:
  • Tue, July 13, 2021 (Noon - 1:00 pm) 
    Topic: Patient Safety/Do No Harm     
    Speaker:  Dr. Marvin Hall,  Pediatric Intensivist, Children's Hospital at Erlanger 
  • Tue, October 12, 2021 (Noon - 1:00 pm)
    Topic: Simpler: Quality Improvement  
    Speakers: Dr. Jeffrey Bennett, Senior Physician for Quality Improvement 
  • Tue, November 9, 2021 (Noon - 1:00 pm)
    Topic: Teaming and Communication 
    Speakers:  TBD
  • Tue, January 11, 2022 (Noon - 1:00 pm)
    Topic: Adverse Events and Reporting 
    Speakers:  TBD
  • Tue, March 8, 2022 (Noon - 1:00 pm)
    Topic: Professionalism
    Speakers: TBD
  • Tue, May 10, 2022 (Noon - 1:00 pm)
    Topic: Quality Metrics 
    Speakers:  TBD

Our leadership (James Haynes, MD, Interim Dean; Robert Fore, EdD, Associate Dean/DIO ; and Alan Kohrt, MD, Assistant for Faculty Development) have asked each department or program to identify a Quality Leader who will work with our overall leaders to define and institution-wide curriculum to educate Residents, Fellows, Faculty, and Medical Students regarding Patient Safety and Quality Improvement. 

2021-2022 Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Leaders:

  • Emergency Medicine: W, Doug Gregorie, MD, Program Director

  • Emergency Medical Services Fellowship:  TBD
  • Family Medicine:  James Haynes, MD, Chair of Family Medicine
  • Internal Medicine: Eric McCartt, MD, Internal Medicine Faculty (also representing Cardiology and Gastroenterology)
  • OB/GYN: Angela Yates, MD,  OB/GYN Faculty 
  • Orthopaedic Surgery:  Rob Quigley, MD, Orthopaedic Surgery Faculty
  • Pediatrics:  Jeffrey Bennett, MD, Senior Physician For Quality Improvement 
  • Plastic Surgery: Todd Thurston, MD, Plastic Surgery Faculty
  • Surgery:  Darren Hunt, MD, Surgery and Surgical Critical Care Faculty
  • Urology: Henry Okafor, MD, Urology Faculty
  • Adam Campbell, PhD, Erlanger VP of Patient Safety and Quality
  • Rachel Harris, DNP, RN, Interim Erlanger Chief Nursing Executive
  • Mike Bettinger, Director, Erlanger Process Improvement Office 
  • Mukta Panda, MD, Assistant Dean for Medical Student Education and Well-Being

We are discussing incorporating required modules from the IHI Open School Online Curriculum as part of our institutional curriculum.

For more information about our Quality Improvement and Patient Safety programs, please contact:

Sep 16, 2022