Committee on Undergraduate Medical Education

The Committee is responsible for (1) reviewing and recommending policies and programs regarding undergraduate medical education to the Dean of the College of Medicine, and (2) implementing and evaluating the undergraduate curriculum of the College of Medicine. Subcommittees of the Committee on Undergraduate Medical Education coordinate and implement the educational program in specific areas.

The Committee on Undergraduate Medical Education (CUME) occurs the fourth Monday of every 1 month from 1:00 PM to 2:30 PM and is located in the Summitt Conference Room, 910 Madison, Room 1014. It is teleconferenced to Knoxville & Chattanooga.

Committee Members

Memphis Campus

  • Robert Shreve, Ed.D. (Chair)
    Associate Dean, Medical Education
    Associate Professor, Preventive Medicine
  • Albert J. Grobmyer, III, M.D.
    Alumni Council
    Assistant Professor, Family Medicine
  • Pat Ryan, Ph.D.
    Chair, Biomedical Sciences Subcommittee
    Assistant Dean, Basic Science Curriculum
    Associate Professor, Microbiology,
    Immunology and Biochemistry
  • Gayle Minard, M.D.
    Chair, Clinical Science Subcommittee
    Professor, Surgery
  • Angela Cantrell, Ph.D.
    Chair, Subcommittee for Evaluation and Assessment
    Associate Professor, Anatomy & Neurobiology
  • Amy Hall
    Graduate Medical Education
    Accreditation Coordinator/DIO
  • Susan Senogles, Ph.D.
    Assistant Dean, Faculty Affairs
    Professor, Microbiology,
    Immunology and Biochemistry
  • Owen Phillips, M.D.
    Associate Dean, Student Affairs
    Professor, Obstetrics/Gynecology
  • Laurie Sprabery, M.D.
    Deans Faculty Advisory Committee
    Associate Professor, Internal Medicine
  • Brenda Green, M.L.S.
    Health Sciences Library, Instructional Services
    Associate Professor
  • Steve Nace, M.D.
    Interim Chair, Department of Medical Education
    Associate Professor, Internal Medicine
  • TBA
  • George Maish, M.D.
    Associate Professor, Surgery

Memphis Campus- Students

  • Sara Rutter, M4
    MSEC Student Member
  • Cody Bogema, M4
  • Taylor Lara, M3
    MSEC Student Member
  • McLean House, M3

Knoxville Campus

  • Eddie Moore, M.D.
    Associate Dean, Medical Education and DIO
    Professor, Pediatrics
  • Missy Maples
    Director, Office of Student Affairs

Chattanooga Campus

  • Robert C. Fore, Ed.D.
    Associate Dean, Academic Affairs & DIO
  • Pam Scott
    Director, Graduate and Medical Student Education
  • Gary Malakoff, M.D.
    Associate Professor, Internal Medicine
  • Tammy Fite
    Coordinator, Office of Medical Education

OME Staff (non-voting)

  • Susan Brewer, M.D.
    Assistant Dean, Clinical Curriculum
    Associate Professor, Internal Medicine
  • Vicki Park, Ph.D.
    Director, Educ. Support and Scholarship
    Associate Professor, Pediatrics
  • Bill Brescia, Ph.D.
    Director, Instructional Technology
    Associate Professor, Preventive Medicine
  • Kimberlee Norwood, M.S.
    Medical Educator

Olsen logo


Follow us on Facebook

DFAC logo

Contact Us

Office of Medical Education

910 Madison Avenue, Rm 1002
Memphis, Tennessee 38163
Phone: (901) 448-5506
Fax: (901) 448-1488

Interim Associate Dean, Medical Education:
Matthew Ennis, Ph.D.

Executive Dean:
David M. Stern, M.D.