CSS: Clinical Sciences Subcommittee

The CSS is responsible for (1) reviewing and recommending policies and programs regarding the third- and fourth-year core clerkships to the Committee on Undergraduate Medical Education, (2) managing the implementation and evaluation of the clerkship curriculum, (3) reviewing for approval new elective clerkship proposals from faculty members, and (4) implementing and evaluating the clinical elective curriculum.

Committee Members

Memphis Campus

  • Gayle Minard, M.D. (Chair)
  • Susan Brewer, M.D.
  • David Maness, D.O. (Family Med. Interim)
  • William A. Pulsinelli, M.D., Ph.D. (Neurology)
  • Thomas D. Elmore, M.D. (OB/GYN)
  • Valerie Jameson, M.D. (Pediatrics)
  • Renate Rosenthal, Ph.D. (Psychiatry)
  • Francisco Vieira, M.D.
  • George Maish, M.D.
  • Owen P. Phillips, M.D.
  • Kathy Gibbs
  • M4 Patrick McFarland
  • M3 Martha (Libby) Weaver

Knoxville Campus

  • Eddie Moore, M.D.
  • David Stockton, M.D. (Family Med.)
  • Janet Purkey, M.D. (Medicine)
  • Upinder Dhand, M.D. (Neurology)
  • Norm Walton, M.D. (Neurology)
  • Nirmala Upadhyaya, M.D. (OB/GYN)
  • Shannon Cohen Haskins, M.D. (Pediatrics)
  • Brent Coyle, M.D. (Psychiatry)
  • Paul Miller, M.D. (Psychiatry)
  • James M. Lewis, M.D. (Surgery)
  • Missy Maples

Chattanooga Campus

  • Robert C. Fore, Ed.D.
  • J. Mack Worthington, M.D. (Family Med.)
  • Gary Malakoff, M.D. (Medicine)
  • Abdelazim Sirelkhatim, M.D. (Neurology)
  • Jeanie Dassow, M.D. (OB/GYN)
  • Cathy Stevens, M.D. (Pediatrics)
  • Terry Holmes, M.D. (Psychiatry)
  • Michael Greer, M.D. (Surgery)
  • Pam Scott
  • Tammy Fite

Nashville Campus

  • Cheryl Fassler, M.D. (Medicine)

OME Staff (non-voting)

  • Robert Shreve, Ed.D. (CUME Chair)
  • Steve Nace, M.D.
  • Pat Ryan, Ph.D. (BSS Chair)
  • Vicki Park, Ph.D.
  • Bill Brescia, Ph.D.
  • Kimberlee Norwood, M.S.
  • Ruby Bland
  • Stefeni Kennedy

Contact Us

UTHSC College of Medicine

910 Madison, Suite 1002
Memphis, TN 38163
Fax: 901-448-7683

Executive Dean:
David M. Stern, M.D.


Olsen logo


Follow us on Facebook

DFAC logo

Contact Us

Office of Medical Education

910 Madison Avenue, Rm 1002
Memphis, Tennessee 38163
Phone: (901) 448-5506
Fax: (901) 448-1488

Interim Associate Dean, Medical Education:
Matthew Ennis, Ph.D.

Executive Dean:
David M. Stern, M.D.