Service Recognition

UTHSC Service Awards & Recognition Program/OC Tanner

The UT Health Science Center has partnered with OC Tanner to reestablish the Service Awards Program in an effort to recognize UTHSC employees with 20 plus years (five year increments) of committed and dedicated service. To view the service award selections, please visit the OC Tanner Website.

Lichterman Employee of the Year Award

To honor the memory of Tommy Lichterman and in celebration of his dedicated and enthusiastic service to UT Health Science Center, the Lichterman family and many friends have established the Thomas Connell Lichterman Employee of the Year Award.

This Award is presented annually to a non-exempt employee who demonstrates the high standards and positive characteristics exemplified by Tommy.


Chancellor’s Exempt Staff Award

The Chancellor’s Exempt Staff Award evolved during the UT Family Campaign in 2007. This award was created to recognize non-faculty exempt employees who have demonstrated outstanding service and/or who have made significant contributions to the University community beyond that normally expected for their positions. Moreover, Michael and Chandra Alston, co-chairs for non-exempt staff and non-faculty exempt staff groups, during HSC Family Campaign are the original donors behind this award.

Through the Family Campaign HSC faculty and staff were enabled an opportunity to participate in the future of the university and support programs that mean the most to them personally, and in this instance it is employee performance recognition. For non-exempt staff the Lichterman Award is all ready in place, and this new award recognizes the contributions of non-faculty exempt staff. You can assist with growing the Chancellor’s Exempt Staff Award through payroll deduction, outright gifts, or deferred gifts. If you are interested in making a donation, single or continuous, that will be treated confidential contact the Development Office at 448-5516.

Nomination Form

Download the nomination form.

Some additional details regarding the Chancellor’s Exempt Staff Award are follows:

Criteria for Nomination

The award is open to all non-faculty exempt staff at UT Health Science Center and who are employed and have served a minimum of three (3) years prior to nomination and who have not previously received the award. A person may be nominated multiple years providing he/she has not received an award.

The award will be based on evidence of continued excellence, in excess of the required level of performance in any one or more of the following areas:

  1. Providing excellent service to staff, faculty, students, alumni or visitors.
  2. Enhancing the quality of life for students, employees or visitors.
  3. Developing new programs and services or making significant improvement to existing programs or services.
  4. Advancing the reputation of the UT Health Science Center internally, locally, regionally, nationally, and/or internationally.

Nomination Procedure

The Chancellor’s Exempt Staff Award nominations should be submitted to the Office of Equity and Diversity by mail (920 Madison Ave., Suite 825), fax (901-448-1120) or email ( May 15th through July 15th. Each nomination must be supported and signed by three (3) nominators. Nominations may come from alumni, faculty, staff, students and other members of the University community. The nominee’s manager must be included as either a nominator or a signatory on a letter of support.

The nomination is limited to the completion of the nomination form and three letters of support only, however the letters of support may be endorsed by numerous persons. The nomination submission, excluding letters of support, must be no more than 750 words in length.


Role of the Selection Committee

It is the objective of the Selection Committee to review the nominations in accordance with the criteria for nomination. The goal of the Selection Committee is to identify the strongest nomination(s). The committee will seek consensus on the nominations that best reflect the spirit of the Award.

Role of Contact Person

A contact person for every nomination is required. It is the responsibility of the contact person to coordinate the nomination, elicit other nominators and arrange for letters of support. As well, the contact person acts as the Selection Committee’s contact if further information is required. The contact person will represent the successful nominating group at the presentation ceremony.

Role of Nominators

Individuals who agree to support a nomination by identifying themselves as a nominator must actively participate in the nomination process by contributing to and in turn, agreeing to the material included in the nomination package. Nominators may be contacted by the Selection Committee during its deliberations and should, therefore, include their title, current work address and telephone number.


A single Chancellor’s Exempt Staff Award will be presented annually to a recipient recommended to the Chancellor by the Selection Committee.

The Chancellor's Exempt Staff Award consists of the following:

  1. Citation and presentation at an awards reception.
  2. A personalized framed certificate.
  3. An award of $1500.
  4. A permanent notation on a dedicated website for Chancellor’s Exempt Staff Award.
  5. The original nomination package.


  • Deadline for receipt of completed nomination package.
  • Copies of nomination packages are circulated to the Selection Committee.
  • Selection Committee members submit their rankings to the Executive Secretary for the committee.
  • Selection committee meets to identify the top nominations.
  • Recommendations of Selection Committee are forwarded to the Chancellor for approval. Nominees are informed of the outcome of submissions made on their behalf.
  • Awards ceremony is held.

Contact Us

Office of Equity and Diversity

Michael Alston, Assistant Vice Chancellor
920 Madison Avenue
Suite 825
Memphis, TN 38163
Phone: 901-448-2112
Fax: 901-448-1120