Skip to content

Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC News


There are more than 600 alumni from the UT-Campbell Clinic Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Biomedical Engineering Orthopaedic Residency and Fellowship training programs. Alumni serve as leaders in the profession, and include distinguished Residency Program Directors at other prestigious programs, as well. In addition, eight (8) orthopaedic surgeons who either trained here, or served as faculty within the Department have served as President of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS), including Professors Frederick M. Azar (2013-14) and current chair James H. Beaty (2007-08).

Class of 2015


  • Dr. Michael Azzam, ASMI Sports Medicine Fellowship in Birmingham, AL
  • Dr. Clayton Bettin, Foot & Ankle Fellowship, then Campbell Clinic staff
  • Dr. Mike Hames, Foot & Ankle Fellowship, then practice in Wichita Falls, TX
  • Dr. David Heinsch, Foot & Ankle Fellowship, then practice in Atlanta, GA
  • Dr. Jeffrey Kutsikovich, Hand Fellowship at Indiana Hand to Shoulder Center
  • Dr. Troy Roberson, Sports Medicine Fellowship at Steadman Hawkins Clinic of the Carolinas
  • Dr. Byron Stephens, Spine Fellowship, then Campbell Clinic staff
  • Dr. Johnny Wright, joining North Alabama Bone & Joint


  • Sports Medicine Fellow, Dr. Anthony Hollins, practice Memphis, TN
  • Foot & Ankle Fellow, Dr. Kevin McCarthy, private practice in Belleville, IL
  • Hand Fellow, Dr. Michael Pomerantz, private practice in San Diego, CA
  • Pediatric Fellow, Dr. John Roaten, Cook Children’s Hospital, Fort Worth, TX
  • Trauma Fellow, Dr. Konstantinos Triantafillou, private practice in Austin, TX

Class of 2014 

The Class of 2014 graduates and their post-graduate plans include:

  • Thomas C. Alexander, MD -  Sports Medicine Fellowship at the Steadman Hawkins Clinic of the Carolinas, Greenville, SC
  • Michael H. Amini, MD - Shoulder & Elbow Fellowship at Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, OH
  • Marcus D. Biggers, II, MD - Sports Medicine Fellowship at the Andrews Sports Medicine Institute, Birmingham, AL
  • Anthony Hollins, MD - Sports Medicine Fellowship at Campbell Foundation, Memphis, TN
  • Robert F. Murphy, MD - Pediatric Orthopaedic Fellowship at Harvard/Boston Children's, Boston, MA
  • Mark P. Smyth, MD - Sports Medicine Fellowship, University  of Chicago, Chicago, IL
  • Joshua B. Sykes, MD - Shoulder and Elbow Fellowship at Penn, Philadelphia, PA
  • Norfleet B. Thompson, MD - Hand Fellowship at the University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM


  • Adam P. Baker, MD - Foot & Ankle Fellow – Northwest Orthopedic Specialists, Portland, OR
  • Nicolas S. Bonnaig, MD - Sports Medicine Fellow – Pinnacle Orthopaedics, Atlanta, GA
  • Christopher M. Johnson, MD - Hand Fellow – Pinehurst Surgical, Pinehurst, NC
  • Robert A. Kinzinger, MD - Trauma Fellow – Great Plains Orthopaedics, Peoria, IL
  • Sameer M. Naranje, MD - Pediatric Fellow - Forrest City Medical Center, Forrest City, AR

Class of 2013

The Class of 2013 graduates and their post-graduate plans include:

  • Tyler A. Cannon, MD - Hand Fellowship, Univ. of Southern California (Los Angeles)
  • Michael C. Cusick, MD - Shoulder & Elbow Fellowship, Florida Orthopaedic Institute (Tampa)
  • Justin M. Hall, MD - North Alabama Bone & Joint (Florence, AL)
  • Nicholas J. Larsen, MD - Sports Medicine Fellowship, Southern California Orthopaedic Institute (Los Angeles)
  • D. Joshua Miller, MD - Sports Medicine Fellowship, Washington University (St. Louis)
  • Brian D. Norton, MD - Hand Fellowship, Philadelphia Hand Center (Philadelphia)
  • Christopher A. Potts, MD - Sports Medicine Fellowship, Alabama Sports Medicine Institute (Birmingham, AL)
  • W. Cason Shirley, MD - Middle Tennessee Bone & Joint (Columbia, TN)
May 26, 2022