Skip to content

Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC News

Executive Committee

The Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC) representative plays a vital role in advocating for the interests of their college during bi-monthly small group sessions, which complement the monthly Full Faculty Senate gatherings. These FSEC meetings are conducted over Zoom and provide a platform for discussing Faculty Senate affairs in a more intimate setting. Furthermore, they offer valuable opportunities for direct engagement with UTHSC Leadership on a monthly basis, enhancing their informational value.

The Executive Committee is composed of the elected officers of the Faculty Senate and at least one elected representative from each of the colleges or the equivalent. FSEC representatives are elected by their college and serve a 1-year term. The primary duty of this elected member is representing the needs and point of view of that constituency on the Executive Committee.

An Executive Committee member may serve as ex officio members of campus committees; as such, the individual participates in committee activities and makes regular reports to the Executive Committee, the Faculty Senate, or appropriate Senate standing committee.

Other Senate Committees


  • President: Paul “PJ” Koltnow, College of Medicine – Clinical
  • Secretary: Karen Derefinko; College of Medicine – Clinical
  • President Elect: Tracy McClinton, College of Nursing
  • Past President: Jillian McCarthy, College of Health Professions

Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC) members:

  • Advisory Board: Richard Smith
  • College of Dentistry: Yanhui Zhang
  • College of Graduate Health Sciences: Shelley White-Means
  • College of Health Professions: Rebecca Reynolds
  • College of Medicine - Basic: Terrance Cooper
  • College of Medicine - Clinical 1: Kristen Bettin
  • College of Medicine - Clinical 2: Jayc Sedlmayr
  • College of Medicine Knoxville: Shaunta’ Martina Chamberlin
  • College of Nursing: Sharon Little
  • College of Pharmacy: Rachel Barenie
  • Library: Jess Newman McDonald
  • University Faculty Council: Shelley White-Means
Mar 22, 2024