Skip to content

Student Government Association Executive Council

The Student Government Association Executive Council (SGAEC) serves as the official liaison between the Administration and students and is responsible for acting on student-related matters. The SGAEC has responsibility for making student appointments to university committees.

The SGAEC is composed of the presidents of each of the six UTHSC college student government associations, and one person who serves as president of the council. The president of the SGAEC is elected from one of the colleges on a rotational basis and represents all students on the UTHSC campus in a variety of capacities.

Quarterly meetings are held with the Chancellor and weekly meetings are held with the Student Life staff. The structure of the SGAEC, with specific duties and responsibilities, is further explained in the SGAEC Constitution.

Major Goals for SGAEC 2018-2019

  • Going Green Initiative
  • Integration of colleges as a whole university
  • Dental and Vision Coverage/Awareness
  • SGAEC and SGAs Advocacy/Awareness
  • Student Wellness and Mental Health Initiative
  • Interprofessionalism Activities

Current Officers

President: Andrew McBride (College of Medicine) 

Vice President: Sarah Taddia (College of Dentistry)

Other Officers:

  • Stephanie Bruns (College of Health Professions)
  • Jessica Baker (College of Graduate Health Sciences)
  • Alexandria Fredman (College of Nursing)
  • Yhazmyne Nykymbya (College of Pharmacy)
  • Elizabeth Sueing (BSA)

Last Published: Mar 19, 2020