Media Coverage

  • Dr. Michael Whitt and Tennessee State Representative G. A. Hardaway were interviewed by WMC Action News 5. They talked about World AIDS Day and the programs associated with the event, including free HIV/AIDS testing.

Editorial board memberships

  • Dr. Gerald Byrne serves on the Editorial Board of Infection and Immunity (1986-present)
  • Dr. Gerald Byrne serves on the Editorial Board of Cellular microbiology (2011-present)
  • Dr. Tayebeh Pourmotabbed is a member of the Reviewer Board of the Journal of Pediatric Biochemistry
  • Dr. Tayebeh Pourmotabbed serves on the Editorial Board of Journal of Cancer research and Therapy
  • Dr. Tayebeh Pourmotabbed serves on the Editorial Board of Gene Technology
  • Dr. Michael Whitt serves on the Editorial Board of Virology (2000-present)
  • Dr. Michael Whitt serves on the Editorial Board of Journal of Virology (2000-2005; 2010-present)
  • Dr. John Fain serves on the Editorial Board of Metabolism
  • Dr. Kui Li serves on the Editorial Board of PLoS ONE (2011-present)
  • Dr. Gerald Byrne servers on the Editorial Board of  Infection and Immunity (1986-present)
  • Dr. Marko Radic serves on the Editorial Board of BMC Biotechnology as Section Editor.

Highly cited manuscripts

  • Kalayoglu MV, Libby P, Byrne GI (2002) Chlamydia pneumonia as an emerging risk factor in cardiovascular disease. JAMA 288(21):2724-2731; Cited 292 times - as of 03/07/14
  • Kalayoglu MV, Byrne GI (1998) Induction of macrophage foam cell formation by Chlamydia pneumonia. JID 177(3):725-729; Cited 313 times - as of 03/07/14
  • Beatty WL, Morrison RP, Byrne GI (1994) Persistent Chlamydiae: From cell culture to a paradigm for chlamydial pathogenesis. Microbiological Reviews 58(4):686-699; cited 555 times - as of 03/07/14
  • Beatty WL, Byrne GI, Morrison RP (1993) Morphologic and antigenic characterization of interferon ?-mediated persistent Chlamydia trachomatis infection in vitro. PNAS 90(9):3998-4002; cited 396 times - as of 03/07/14
  • Radic MZ, Erikson J, Litwin S, & Weigert M (1993) B lymphocytes may escape tolerance by revising their antigen receptors. The Journal of Experimental Medicine 177(4):1165-1173; Cited by 305 – as of 11/02/2012
  • Radic MZ & Weigert M (1994) Genetic and Structural Evidence for Antigen Selection of Anti-DNA Antibodies. Annual Review of Immunology 12(1):487-520; Cited by 377 – as of 11/02/2012
  • Fain JN, Madan AK, Hiler ML, Cheema P, & Bahouth SW (2004) Comparison of the Release of Adipokines by Adipose Tissue, Adipose Tissue Matrix, and Adipocytes from Visceral and Subcutaneous Abdominal Adipose Tissues of Obese Humans. Endocrinology 145(5):2273-2282; Cited by 830 – as of 11/02/2012
  • Fain JN (2006) Release of Interleukins and Other Inflammatory Cytokines by Human Adipose Tissue Is Enhanced in Obesity and Primarily due to the Nonfat Cells. Vitamins & Hormones, ed Gerald L (Academic Press), Vol 74, pp 443-477; Cited by 281 – as of 11/02/2012

National/International Committees

  • Dr Gerald I. Byrne served as the Directors Workshop Leader at the National Biocontainment Laboratories/Regional Biocontainment Laboratories (NBL/RBL) Annual Conference, Galverston, TX, April 2013
  • Dr. Kui Li served as Session Co-Chair of the Virus-Host Interactions session (9b) and also an Abstract Reviewer for the 18th International Symposium on Hepatitis C Virus and Related Viruses in September 2011
  • Dr. Elizabeth Fitzpatrick has been named Vice Chair of the “Committee on Women and Diversity in Science”  for the Society of Leukocyte Biology (2012)
  • Dr. Marko Radic was Session Chair at the international meeting on "Anti-DNA and other Autoantibodies: Origins and Impact" held in Tromso, Norway in 2010.
  • Dr. Gerald Byrne was the Founder and President of Chlamydia Basic Research Society (2003-2005)

Reviewing activities

  • Dr. Gerald I. Byrne serves on the NIH Scientific Group ZRG1 F13-P [2005 – present (Chair 2006-2010)]
  • Dr Gerald I. Byrne serves on the NIH VMD (Charter member R01, R21, R03 applications) [2009 – present (Chair 2013 – present)]
  • Dr Gerald I Byrne served on the NIH Special Emphasis Panel ZA11-MFH-M-S# (R13 applications); Ad hoc member 2013
  • Dr Byrne serves on the VA Review Board; Ad hoc member (1992-present)
  • Dr. Michael Whitt served on NIH Virology-A Study Section: Ad hoc member (2011)
  • Dr. Michael Whitt is the top 25 reviewer for Journal of Virology (2011)
  • Dr. Michael Whitt served on NIH Special Emphasis Panel, Topics in Virology; Ad hoc member (2007-2009)
  • Dr.Maria Gomes-Solecki has been serving in the NIH/NIAID Study Section "Small Business: Non-HIV Diagnostics, Food Safety, Sterilization/Disinfection and Bioremediation Special Emphasis Panel" since 2010.
  • Dr. Gerald Byrne serves in the NIH Scientific Review Group ZRG1 F13-P [2005 – present (chair, 2006-2009)]
  • Dr. Gerald Byrne is a permanent member and chair elect of the NIH VMD study Section (2009-present)

Teaching awards

  • Dr. Michael Whitt is the finalist for the Student Government Association Executive Council (SGAEC) Excellence in Teaching Award - (2011)
  • Dr. Michael Whitt received Golden Apple Award for Outstanding Lecturer in Medical Microbiology - (2002 and 2010)


  • Dr. Tayebeh Pourmotabbed. Inhibition of tumor growth and invasion by anti-matrix metalloproteinases DNAzymes: United States Patent No. 12/390,628

Back to top