Skip to content

Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC News

Student Interest Group in Ophthalmology (SIGIO)

The Student Interest Group In Ophthalmology (SIGIO) at the University of Tennessee was organized in 2006 for the purposes of:

  1. Educating medical students at the University of Tennessee College of Medicine about the specialty of Ophthalmology as a career choice

  2. Increasing students' knowledge of diseases of the eyes and their adnexae, examination techniques, and the eyes' relationship to systemic diseases

  3. Offering opportunities for medical students to become involved in community service, research, or other scholarly activities of the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Medicine.

SIGIO is a student-run organization offering all medical students the opportunity to gain an understanding and appreciation for the field of ophthalmology. Although the medical student didactic curriculum provides an introduction of the eye, students are not exposed to the clinical practice of ophthalmology or the multitude of career paths within this multifaceted specialty. Our goal is to bridge the gap between classroom learning and clinical practice. We aim to serve as a liaison between students and ophthalmology residents and faculty, and this group is open to all medical students regardless of their year in medical school or future career goals.

If you are interested in learning more about SIGIO and would like to receive emails with information about upcoming events and opportunities for medical students interested in ophthalmology, please email SIGIO Secretary Andrew Manley amanley5@uthsc.edu

Visit the SIGIO President's Page


SIGIO

Hamilton Eye Institute
930 Madison Avenue Room 475
Memphis, TN 38163
Phone: (901) 448 - 5884
FAX: (901) 448 - 1299
Email: wmorris@uthsc.edu

Contacts

Faculty Sponsor:
Natalie Kerr nkerr@uthsc.edu

 

Co-Presidents:
Emily Louie elouie@uthsc.edu 
Carolyn Simpson csimps29@uthsc.edu 

 

Co-Vice Presidents:

Hays Cape stw572@uthsc.edu 
Mitch Clayton jclayt17@uthsc.edu 
Kyle Freeman kfreem20@uthsc.edu 


HEI/Lion’s Club Liaison:
Chase Rohani srohani@uthsc.edu 

 

Community Outreach Chairs:

Marium Hashemi mhashemi@uthsc.edu
Natalie Sullivan nsulliv4@uthsc.edu 

 

Secretary:

Andrew Manley amanley5@uthsc.edu 

 

Treasurer:

Emily Kim ykim79@uthsc.edu 

 

Social Media Coordinators:
Wyatt Kaiser wkaiser1@uthsc.edu 
Aaron Rice arice20@uthsc.edu 

 

 

 

 

Aug 21, 2023