UTHSC Division of Nephrology

Department of Nephrology

Committed to Excellence

The division of Nephrology was established in the 1960s and has been continuously involved in patient care, nephrology training, and nephrology research. The division currently has seven full-time and two part-time faculty members, providing Nephrology care in the Methodist University Hospital, Regional Medical Center at Memphis, and Veterans Affairs Medical Center. The Chief of the division is Darryl L. Quarles, MD and the Nephrology Program Director is Barry Wall, M.D. The Nephrology division provides both acute and chronic hemodialysis care, chronic ambulatory peritoneal dialysis, and full-time consultation service in each of the affiliated medical centers. There is an active transplant center at the Methodist University Hospital.

The nephrology fellowship training program is a two-year program with an optional third year for research. We maintain a total of seven fellows each year.  The training program emphasizes training in clinical nephrology, such that all trainees have strong exposure to nephrology consultation, acute and chronic hemodialysis, peritoneal dialysis, and renal transplantation. The high faculty to trainee ratio allows for optimal faculty-trainee interactions.

Contact Us

Ran Zhuang
Administrative Secretary
956 Court Avenue, Suite B224
Memphis, TN 38163
Phone: (901) 448-1569
Email: rzhuang@uthsc.edu

Susan Coffill
Fellowship Coordinator
956 Court Ave, Suite H314
Memphis, TN 38163
Phone: (901) 448-2510
Email: scoffill@uthsc.edu

Demarcus D. Nash
Administrative Service Assistant
956 Court Ave, Suite B226
Memphis, TN 38163
Office: (901) 448-5764