Skip to content


Graduate Medical Education Committee

Natascha Thompson, MD - Chair

ACGME requires every sponsoring institution to have a Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC). Some of the responsibilities of this committee are to establish and implement policies and procedures regarding the quality of education and the work environment for residents, review and make recommendations on resident stipends and benefits, establish and maintain oversight of program directors, establish and implement policies regarding duty hours, ensure programs provide appropriate supervision, review all ACGME program accreditation letters, and approve correspondence to ACGME.

Program Coordinator Committee

Aaron Haynes - Chair

The Program Coordinator Committee consists of GME Administration and Program Coordinators from all residency programs in the College of Medicine. The Committee is used as a way for the GME Office to communicate necessary information to the programs, create closer working relationships among the coordinators, and determine/implement best practices. One member of the committee is selected in March to serve on the Graduate Medical Education Committee.

Member Program
Aaron Haynes Director GME
Bran Upchurch Internal Medicine
Karen Ariemma Pediatrics
Brandy Bledsoe Medicine - Pulmonary/Critical Care & Rheumatology/Sleep
Leigh Ann Barns Psychiatry & Child Psychiatry
Demaria Young Dermatology, Medicine - Endocrinology & Infectious Disease
Kelli Ward Allergy & Immunology, Pediatrics - Nephrology & Pulmonology
Paula Odom OB/GYN
Renee Poe Orthopaedic Surgery
Sharron Cole Family Medicine-Jackson
Brenda Coleman Medicine - Cardiology & Cardiology Interventional
Clara Bright Radiology
Andrew Gienapp Neurosurgery
Rosemary Bankston Orthopaedic - Pediatrics & Sports Medicine
Rhonda Gray Pediatrics - Cardiology, Critical Care & Endocrinology
Priscilla Griffith Family Medicine - St. Francis
Melissa Hayes Medicine & Pediatrics
Susan Coffill Medicine - Gastroenterology/Nephrology/Hepatology
Trachia Wilson Pediatrics - Infectious Disease
Janet Herriman Medicine - Hematology/Oncology
April Smith Pediatric EM/Pediatric Radiology/Neonatology
Amber Stroupe Surgery - Pediatric
Leanna Fox Irwin Pediatrics - Hematology/Oncology
Denise Norman Neurology - Child
Terri Catafyiotu Neurology, Neurology - Neurophysiology, & Vascular
Trish Phelan Urology
Jeannie Price Surgery - Transplant
Elizabeth Sauve Ophthalmology & Plastic Surgery
Tracey Bradley Internal Medicine - Nashville
Flavenia Leaper Surgery - Critical Care
LaSaundra Pirtle Urology - Pediatrics
Bryan Thorn Otolaryngology & Vascular Surgery
Cynthia Tooley Surgery
Catina Price Radiology - Interventional
Andrew Gienapp Transitional

Last Published: Jun 26, 2018