Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology

gastro staff photo
Left to Right: Back row – Dr. J. Lacey Smith, Dr. Satheesh Nair, Dr. Quentin Ray
Middle row – Dr. Mohammed K. Ismail, Dr. Sanjaya Satapathy, Dr. Colin W. Howden, Dr. Muhammad Bilal Front row – Dr. R. James St. Hilaire, Dr. Humberto Gonzalez, Dr. Nader Dbouk, Dr. Bradford Waters, Dr. Barbara Kay Jackson.  Not pictured – Dr. Claudio R. Tombazzi

Our Division

The goal of our Division is to define excellence in understanding, preventing, diagnosing, and treating digestive diseases, to be achieved through exemplary clinical care, effective and high impact public education, inspired training of future generations of GI providers and academicians, and rigorous basic, translational, and clinical research. By mandate, we have a responsibility to Tennessee; by aspiration, we should have a national, if not global, impact. The Division currently consists of 12 faculty members, 9 GI fellows and 1 hepatology fellow in a non-standard program. There are 4 office staff members, with definite plans for further expansion and faculty recruitment. Our GI training program was last re-accredited by the ACGME in 2016 for 5 years. The ACGME accredited hepatology fellowship program, with a prerequisite of gastroenterology fellowship training, is unfilled at present. All of our faculty members are involved in either clinical or basic science research.

Our Clinical Operations

Our clinical and educational activities are centered at the Memphis downtown medical facilities: the Methodist University Hospital, The Regional Medical Center, and the Memphis VA Medical Center. Our outpatient clinical services are offered through the clinics of University of Tennessee Medical Group (UTMG) located downtown (Eastmoreland Clinic) and in the eastern suburb of Germantown (UTMG Germantown). As the clinical practice arm of the full-time faculty of the University of Tennessee, UTMG administers all faculty clinical services.

Our Institution

The University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC) is a multi-campus state education system, with the main campus located in Memphis and satellite graduate medical education programs located in Knoxville, Chattanooga, Nashville, and Jackson. Opened in 1911, the Memphis campus now comprises six Colleges - Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing, Pharmacy, Graduate Health Sciences, and Allied Health Sciences. The College of Medicine enrolls 634 medical students and trains over 1100 residents and fellows in 84 GME training programs. Gross revenues for the College exceed $ 400 M annually, with more than $ 70 M in research revenues. With 120 faculty members (and 148 volunteer faculty) in 11 Divisions, the Department of Medicine is the largest Department on the UTHSC campus.

Gastro instrument endoscope

Contact Us

Division of Gastroenterology & Transplant Hepatology

956 Court Ave, Suite H314
Memphis, TN 38163
Phone: (901) 448-2510

Linda Bridgewater, Administrative Secretary
Phone: (901) 448-5813
Fax: (901) 448-7091
956 Court Avenue, Suite H210
Memphis, TN 38163

Susan Coffill, Fellowship Coordinator
Gastroenterology and Transplant Hepatology
956 Court Ave, Suite H314
Memphis, TN 38163
Phone: (901) 448-2510

Lekesha McDaniel, Non-standard Hepatology Fellowship Coordinator
Phone: (901) 516-8954
Fax: (901) 516-8993


A division of the
Department of Internal Medicine