Skip to content

Zoom Security

Web Portal Settings

Zoom is being used so much recently and hackers are trying to get in to meetings. Stricter security settings have been put in place globally for all users.

You can change these settings through the web portal. For example, Screen Sharing is set for Host Only. You can change this to All Participants through the web portal so all meetings allow all participants to share their screens.

When changing global settings, please be aware of the risks and understand that this decreases your meeting security.

Tip Pros/Cons How To Do It

Don't enable Personal Meeting ID

Pro: Makes your meeting safer.

When scheduling the meeting:

  1. Under Meeting ID, choose Generate Automatically rather than Personal Meeting ID.
  2. Click the Schedule button.
Use a Passcode Pro: Keeps unwanted intruders out of the meeting.
Con: Might cause some confusion to participants if they aren't used to meetings that require passcodes.

When scheduling the meeting:

  1. Click Schedule.
  2. Make sure Passcode under Security is checked and there is a number in the box. This is what your particpants will use to get into the meeting.
Authenticate Users Pro: Provides an additional layer of security.
Con: Prevents users without a UTHSC NetID and password from joining.

When scheduling the meeting:

  1. Click Schedule.
  2. Click Advanced Options at the bottom of the Zoom Scheduling screen.
  3. Under Alternative Hosts, click Only authenticated users can join.
  4. Click the Schedule button.
Disable Join before hosts Pro: Ensures participants can't join the meeting before the host arrives.
Con: Participants end up just hanging out, waiting, if host is late.

Before the meeting starts:

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper right corner.
  2. Click View More Settings at the bottom of the screen.This opens the Zoom web portal.
  3. From the Meeting tab, click the Join Before Host slider to turn this option off.
Click to Mask phone numbers Pro: Keeps phone numbers private.
Con: May not be an issue with those who meet regularly.

Before the meeting starts:

  1. Click the gear icon in the upper right corner.
  2. Click View More Settings at the bottom of the screen. This opens the Zoom web portal.
  3. Click the Telephone tab, scroll down and click the Mask phone number in the participant list slider to turn this option on.
Send participants to the Waiting Room (Meetings only) Pro: Only the host can allow participants in the Waiting Room into the live meeting.
Con: Extra work on the host - must manually allow everyone to enter.

Before the meeting starts:

  1. Click Security at the bottom of the Zoom screen.
  2. Click Enable Waiting Room.
Disable In Meeting Chat Pro: This prevents participants from saving the chat.
Con: Participants can't chat during the meeting.

While in a meeting:

  1. Click Security at the bottom of the Zoom screen.
  2. Choose Chat to uncheck it.
Stop a participants video stream (to ensure participants are not on video) Pro: More secure meeting.
Con: Prevents collaboration.

While in a meeting:

  1. Click Manage Participants (Participants for Mac users) at the bottom of the screen.
  2. Hover over the desired participant.
  3. Click More to see options.
  4. Choose Stop Video Stream.
Mute all participants upon entry into the meeting Pro: Keeps participants from talking unless you Unmute them.
Con: Participants don't the option to speak freely.

While in a meeting:

  1. Click Manage Participants (Participants for Mac users) at the bottom of the Zoom screen.
  2. Click the Mute All button at the bottom.
Lock your meeting once everyone is in Pro: Protects your meeting from unwanted participants.
Con: No late-comers can get into the meeting.

While in a meeting:

  1. Click Security at the bottom of the Zoom screen.
  2. Choose Lock Meeting.

Last Published: Feb 2, 2021