Alpha Omega Alpha Honors and Awards

The dollar value of programs available to each chapter from the national AOA office is approximately $8000.00, not including the possibility of receiving one of four Distinguished Teacher Awards, selected each year in cooperating with the AAMC; each of these includes $10,000 for the recipient and is accompanied by a $2500 gift to the deans' office of the awardee. In addition, selected essays and poetry competitions are published in the AOA quarterly, The Pharos. Student Research Awards, Medical Student Service Projects, the essay and poetry competitions, and the activities of AOA Visiting Professors are not restricted to AOA members, but are open to all students at each school.


Alpha Omega Alpha Distinguished Professorship

The chapter Councilor, in consultation with the chapter's student members, the school's department chairs, and the dean's office may invite one visiting professor per year for the purpose of interacting with students and residents, and the opportunity to present a major address to the medical school community.

Award Recipient

Date Award Recipient
April 11, 2012 Arthur L. Kellerman, MD, MPH, FACEP
Vice President, RAND Corp., Director, RAND Health
RAND Corporation, Santa Monica, CA

April 17, 2013 Layton F. Rikkers, M
Professor, Department of Surgery
Wisconsin Institutes for Medical Research (WIMR)
University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI
April 23, 2014

Andrew I. Schafer, MD
Professor, Department of Medicine
Division of Hematology/Medical Oncology
Weill Cornell Medical College, New York, NY
April 15, 2015  M. Douglas Jones, Jr., MD
Professor, Department of Pediatrics
Section of Neonatology
University of Colorado SOM, Aurora, CO
April 13, 2016 Barbara Lee Bass, MD, FACS
John F. & Carolyn Bookout Distinguished Endowed Chair of Surgery
Houston Methodist Hospital
Executive Director,
Methodist Institute of Technology, Innovation and Education (MITT) Houston, TX


Alpha Omega Alpha Distinguished Graduate Award

During the annual Dean's Convocation, an engraved plaque is presented to the graduating senior who, in the opinion of the Alpha Omega Alpha Council, will make the most significant contribution to the medical profession. This award is presented by The University of Tennessee College of Medicine Beta Chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society.

Award Recipient

  • 2016: Timothy Charles Boswell
  • 2015: Jessica Karen Wong
  • 2014: Zachary Richard Abramson & Andrew Bradley Boucher
  • 2013:  Nickalus R. Khan
  • 2012:  Crisanto Morton Torres

AOA/ACGME Professionalism Award

The AOA/ACGME Professionalism Award will be given annually to individuals or programs in medical centers achieving effective teaching, development and assessment of professionalism at any level: students, residents, or faculty. This award will be offered in conjunction with the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education. For more information, visit


Carolyn L. Kuckein Student Research Fellowship

In 1982, the board of directors of Alpha Omega Alpha established five Student Research Fellowship Awards in order to encourage and support student research. Since then the awards have grown in number and dollar amount, and the board now allocates up to $225,000 annually for this project. Up to 50 fellowships may be awarded annually to students in their first, second, or third year (fourth-year students are not eligible). Each will provide $4000 to the student for support of the proposed research and $500 to the faculty supervisor in support of the student's project.

For more information, visit

Year Award Recipient Award Description
2015 Shannon Niedermeyer Carolyn L. Kuckein Student Research Fellowship
2013 Joshua Sumislawski Carolyn L. Kuckein Student Research Fellowship
2008 David C. Holt, III Carolyn L. Kuckein Student Research Fellowship
2007 Lucas B. Romine Carolyn L. Kuckein Student Research Fellowship

The Medical Student Service Project Award

The Medical Student Service Project Award is a new award introduced in 2000, and available at any time during the year by application to the AOA national office. For more information, visit


To aid the establishment or expansion of a medical student service project benefiting the medical school or the local community, and to recognize students who dedicate their time and effort to these endeavors. Only one proposal will be accepted from a school during an academic year.


Any medical student or group of students at a school with an active AOA chapter. AOA membership is not required.

The Award

The school will receive up to $1500 per year, renewable for a second year up to $1000 and a third year up to $500 to fund the project. Funding for the second and third years will be dependent on review by the national office of a progress report on the first year.

Year Award Recipient Award Description
2008 Kimberly Washington Prevention through education: Creating a comprehensive
health education course for a group of Shelby County inmates.

The best place to keep up with
student activities is on Facebook.
Stop by and give us a  Facebook like icon

Olsen logo

Contact Us

Office of Student Affairs

910 Madison Ave, #1031
Memphis, TN 38163
Phone: (901) 448-5684
Fax: (901) 448-7085 

Associate Dean:
Susan C. Brewer, MD

Scott E. Strome, MD
Robert Kaplan Executive Dean,
Vice Chancellor for Clinical Affairs
910 Madison Ave, Ste 1002
Memphis, TN 38163