2013 Distinguished Professorship Lectureship

Layton (Bing) F. Rikkers, MD, a native of Fon du Lac, Wisconsin obtained his Bachelor of Science degree at the University of Wisconsin in Madison. He went to medical school at Stanford University.

Dr. Rikkers continued with his surgical training at the University of Utah School of Medicine in Salt Lake City. During his residence he completed a Research Fellowship in Hepatology with Dame Shelia Sherlock at the Royal Free Hospital in London, England. Following his surgical training, Dr. Rikkers completed a Fellowship in Surgical Hepatology at the Emory University School of Medicine in Atlanta. Dr. Rikkers then returned to Utah where he spent 2 years as a Research Associate at the Salt Lake Veteran Administration Hospital. He rose through the academic ranks becoming a Chairman of the Division of General Surgery in 1983.

In 1984 Dr. Rikkers came to the University of Nebraska Medical Center. During his tenure at UNMC, Dr. Rikkers demonstrated immense support for Department of Surgery, the College of Medicine and the University as a whole. Among his numerous contributions to the University, is his more than ten years of service to the Department of Surgery as Chairman from 1984 to 1995. He also served as Interim Dean for the College from 1991 through 1993 and in 1990 he was named the M.M. Musselman Professor of Surgery.

He then became the A.R. Curreri Professor of Surgery and Chairman of the Department of Surgery at the University of Wisconsin in Madison in 1996. Dr. Rikkers remained at the University of Wisconsin until his retirement.

Layton F. Rikkers, M.D.Layton F. Rikkers, M.D.
Professor, Department of Surgery
Wisconsin Institutes for Medical Research (WIMR)
University of Wisconsin, Madison WI

Surgical Leadership: Lessons Learned

April 17, 2013
Coleman Building, N. Auditorium | 8-9am
Combine Internal Medicine, Pediatrics & Surgery Grand Rounds

The best place to keep up with
student activities is on Facebook.
Stop by and give us a  Facebook like icon

Olsen logo

Contact Us

Office of Student Affairs

910 Madison Ave, #1031
Memphis, TN 38163
Phone: (901) 448-5684
Fax: (901) 448-7085 

Associate Dean:
Susan C. Brewer, M.D.

Executive Dean:
Steve J. Schwab, M.D.