Skip to content

Equity, Inclusivity, and Diversity Advisory Board

The Equity, Inclusivity, and Diversity Advisory Board works to establish an empathetic, attentive, responsive and healing environment within the UTHSC College of Pharmacy by developing strategies, policies, and programming focused on sustainable interventions to promote racial awareness, education, understanding, and unity, in order to build a more inclusive and equitable infrastructure within the College of Pharmacy. The board was formed by Dean Marie Chisholm-Burns in the summer of 2020 to address the college's role in fostering an equitable environment for faculty, staff, and students. It is advisory to the dean and provides recommendations and guidance.

Advisory Board Goals


1. Create a college climate that is safe, inclusive, supportive, equitable, and respectful of all.

2. Achieve equity by building COP infrastructures for support, community, and to amplify the voices of minorities, especially oppressed minorities.

3. Advocate for recruitment of students, faculty, and staff from diverse racial, ethnic, and demographic backgrounds.

4. Purposefully acknowledge and address systemic racism and health disparities in curricular and co-curricular contexts.

5. Facilitate equity and diversity training of faculty, staff, and students by actively developing COP programs, as well as identifying local, regional, and national programming to share with College of Pharmacy stakeholders.

6. Foster knowledge and understanding to inform and improve personal and professional interactions with minority communities through publications, history, storytelling, and service opportunities.

College of Pharmacy areas of diversity focus: Curriculum, faculty, recruitment, programming, infrastructure

Advisory Board Members


Bradley Boucher, 
PharmD, FCCP, MCCM - Chair

Associate Dean, Strategic Initiatives and Operations 
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy and Translational Science 
Memphis Campus

Kenneth Hohmeier, 

Director of Community Affairs 
Associate Professor, Clinical Pharmacy and Translational Science 
Nashville Campus 

Tyler Kiles, 
Clinical Coordinator of PGY-1 Community-Based Pharmacy Residency Program 
Assistant Professor, Clinical Pharmacy and Translational Science 
Memphis Campus

Wei Li, PhD

Director of Drug Discovery Center 
Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences 
Memphis Campus 


Brian Winbigler, PharmD, MBA
Assistant Professor, Department of Clinical Pharmacy and Translational Science 
Knoxville Campus



Jenny Johnson, PhD
Scientific Writer – Dean’s Office
Memphis Campus


Kalon Owens 
Student Affairs Coordinator 
Nashville Campus


Andria White 
Executive Administrator – Dean’s Office 
Memphis Campus


Kevin Darko 

Third Year Pharmacy Student 
Knoxville Campus
Shiyar Kapan 

Third Year Pharmacy Student 
Nashville Campus

Amelia Thompson

Third Year Pharmacy Student
Memphis Campus

Training and Resources

College of Pharmacy Listening Sessions



Last Published: Apr 20, 2021