Dean's Faculty Advisory Council University of Tennessee, College of Medicine

September 13, 2021

### Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by the president, Dr. Burt Sharp, at 12:03 PM on September 13, 2021, on the Zoom online platform due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

#### Attendance

The following members were present:

Penny A. Asbell, MD, Mark Bugnitz, MD, Mace Coday, PhD, Julio F. Cordero-Morales, PhD, Terry Cooper, PhD, Haavi Morreim, JD, PhD, Katherine Nearing, MD, Lawrence Pfeffer, PhD, Crystal Pourciau, MD, Tabeyah Pourmotabbed, PhD, Reese Scroggs, PhD, Burt Sharp, MD, Laura Sprabery, MD, Joy Steadman, MD, Neena Thomas-Gosain, MD, Jerome Thompson, MD, MBA, Joe Willmitch, MPAS, PA-C, Ram Velamuri, MD, Thad Wilson, PhD

The following guest(s) was (were) present:

(Drs. Strome, Hofmann and Shepherd were unavailable, as they were in a meeting at the CoM's Chattanooga campus.)

### **Approval of minutes**

The minutes of the previous meeting were approved as written. Minutes had previously been distributed by electronic means.

#### **Business**

Dr. Penny Asbell updated the work of the Branding Committee. The committee has members from a wide variety of departments. The theme "Bringing Good Medicine Home to You" will be brought to the public in a variety of ways. One goal is to create a new message every month, focusing for now on Tennessee. Allen Burns, who formerly worked with UTHSC on communications and media, is now with St. Jude. Given that his position has not yet been filled, the committee's outreach is somewhat on hold until that position is filled. Dr. Asbell encouraged DFAC, and thereby their respective departments, to provide stories of patient success and similar content. Some discussion focused on the earlier-proposed quarterly newsletter for the College of Medicine. Further information on that will be sought from members of the CoM administration. Another idea might be to place patient stories on YouTube or similar outlet, e.g. with stories on clinical conditions that have wide interest for the public. Another idea is to work with our partner hospitals' media offices, which may be better-staffed and more richly connected than the UTHSC office. Per DFAC agreement, the Branding Committee's document, with revisions as discussed at today's DFAC meeting, will be forwarded to Dean Strome.

Dr. Larry Pfeffer then updated the DFAC on the strategic plan for research at the CoM. Following numerous conversations throughout the CoM, a strategic plan has been developed specifically for the

CoM, distinctive from albeit consistent with the campus-wide strategic plan. The CoM draft was sent to faculty about a month ago and Dr. Pfeffer would like to invite Dr. Andrew Griffith to present the updated plan to DFAC at our next meeting. DFAC members also discussed the need to implement the approved training program for clinician-scientists. The Research Committee will convene in an upcoming meeting to determine what are its top priorities for the coming year.

In other DFAC discussion it was noted that, in the search committee for replacing the retiring Chancellor Schwab, there is minimal representation from the College of Medicine. The committee is almost exclusively comprised of people at an administrative level. DFAC members endorsed the idea that either the DFAC president or president-elect should be included on the committee, since DFAC represents all faculty on the College of Medicine, and CoM faculty represent an exceedingly large proportion of UTHSC faculty. DFAC will draft a proposal, circulate it among DFAC for suggestions, and then forward it to Dean Strome for his reflections prior to finalization, to submit to UT President Randy Boyd. Further discussion offered various suggestions for how this letter should be framed.

It was noted that, although the Bylaws require that DFAC members include faculty from the other three campuses, no mechanism has yet been implemented for identifying those members.

# **Next Meeting**

The next meeting of the committee will be held on October 4, 2021, at 12:00 Noon by Zoom.

## Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 1:04 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

E. Haavi Morreim, JD, PhD Secretary