Skip to content

Other ways to search: Events Calendar | UTHSC News


Dale Granted $3.9 Million to Develop Universal Group A Streptococcal (GAS) Infection Vaccine

Dr. James B. Dale, MDJames B. Dale, MD, Gene H. Stollerman Professor of Medicine and chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC), recently received a $3,942,923 grant from the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, a branch of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), for his project titled “Structure-Based Design of a Broadly Protective Group A Streptococcal Vaccine.” The funding will be used to develop a safe, broadly effective, and affordable vaccine to prevent Group A streptococcal (GAS) infections, most commonly known as strep throat, and their complications. Read Full Story

Dr. Shannon Niedermeyer Receives the Dean's Research Award

Dean's Research Award recipient in her cap and gown.

Dr. Shannon Niedermeyer, recent graduate of UTHSC College of Medicine, received the Dean’s Research Award for her accomplishments during medical school. Shannon was a Medical Student Research Fellow with the ID Research Group during the summer following her M1 year. She then successfully competed for a year-long Medical Research Scholar Award from the Department of training as the recipient of a Carolyn L. Kuckein Student Research Fellowship from the national office of Alpha Omega Alpha. Shannon was highly productive as a student investigator, publishing three manuscripts, three abstracts, and presenting at regional and international meetings. She is now an internal medicine resident at Duke and is looking forward to pursuing a career in academic medicine.

2016 Annual Edwin H. Beachy Distinguished Visiting Professorship

Group photo including Beachey DVP winner Barbara Murray, MD

The Department of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases and the Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry hosted the Annual Edwin H. Beachey Distinguished Visiting Professorship June 7-9, 2016.

The 25th Beachey DVP was Barbara Murray, MD, Chief of Infectious Diseases at the University of Texas Health Science Center in Houston. Dr. Murray is an internationally recognized expert in antibiotic resistance, molecular pathogenesis of bacterial infections, and the biology of enterococci.

Chinelo Animalu, MD, MPH Receives MPH Degree

MPH graduate in an office setting

Dr. Chinelo Animalu received her MPH (Master in Public Health) degree from Tulane School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine, New Orleans 2015.

May 26, 2022