

Faculty Senate faculty@uthsc.edu Memphis Knoxville Chattanooga Nashville

## FACULTY SENATE Virtual Meeting by Zoom March 9, 2021 4:00 PM CST/5:00 PM EST Monthly Meeting

Attendance: 70 (senators, administrators, faculty, and guests)

Senators attending: Sun, McCoy, Jiang, Pledger II, Donaldson, Pourmotabbed, Bohn, Hevener, Lancaster, Clark, Reed, Krishnan, Meekins, Bettin, Chamberlin, Fan, Williams, Mulligan, Philip, Doettl, Derefinko, Morris, Dragatsis, Carrillo-Marquez, Harvey, Moss, Lin, Zachry, Murray, Davis, Li, Herr II, Zeng, Ishrat, Mandal, McClinton, Dabbs, Cooper, Bieber, Spivey, F. Park, Richey, Claro-Woodruff, E. Park, Rowe, Yaun, Erickson, Wilson, Jasmin, Choby, Steinberg, Hartig, Cory

Meeting called to order at 4:04 pm cst/5:04 pm est

### Meeting Minutes:

Floor opened for discussion of the February 9, 2021 meeting minutes. Following no discussion, a motion for acceptance of the minutes was made by Dr. Harvey, and seconded by Dr. Cooper. Minutes passed with 97% (38) "yes", 3% (1) "no", and 0% (0) "abstain."

# Update on Post-Tenure Review Selection:

- Dr. Russell and Dr. Forman shared an update on the 2021 Post-Tenure Review (PTR) selection process.
  - Twenty-five faculty members who had been granted tenure by 2015 or earlier were eligible for the 2021 PTR. Faculty who participated in the 2019 PTR were excluded, as well as any faculty members who serve as an administrator (50% of time or more allocated). A list of the PTR criteria, as well as the spreadsheet with included and excluded faculty will be available on Academic, Faculty, and Student Affairs website (similar to the 2019 information provided).
    - A total of 19 faculty members from COM, 2 from all other colleges were selected.
  - Dr. Fridtjof Thomas created a randomization metric for selecting faculty members. The code is reproducible, and could be used again in the future.
    - The code is given information regarding department, the number of faculty to be selected per college, and the personnel numbers of the faculty who are eligible. Likihood of campus is random in the program. When the code is run it produces a list, along with alternates from the same college but not necessarily the same department
  - Faculty and the department chairs selected for PTR will be notified on Wednesday, March 10<sup>th</sup>.
  - For those interested, Dr. Russell and Dr. Forman will be holding a webinar on Monday, 3/15, to discuss the PTR process. Additionally, they will be hosting

question and answer sessions for faculty who have been selected over the next few months.

- Questions regarding the make-up of PTR committee members was discussed.
  - Specifically, Dr. Russell's office will select the committees, with input from the department chairs, the faculty, and the college deans. At least one person from the faculty member's list will be included on their committee. Additionally, no one going through PTR will be asked to serve on a review committee.

# Legislative Update from David Mills:

- Unfortunately, David Mills, Director of Government Relations for UTHSC, was unable to join the senate meeting.
  - A new date will be established and shared as soon as possible with the senate.

### **Committee Updates:**

- Budget and Benefits Committee Dr. Wilson encouraged senators to remind the faculty to look for an email from human resources regarding updating beneficiaries. The committee is working with human resources to examine how to make this "update" part of the annual beneficiary process.
- *Educational Affairs Committee* Will be meeting on March 10<sup>th</sup> at 3:00 cst. All are welcome to attend the meeting.
- Non-tenure Track Committee Will be meeting on March 10<sup>th</sup> at 4:00 cst. All are welcome to attend.
- *Faculty Affairs Committee* The committee is looking at updating the FFA survey. Specifically, the committee is gathering feedback from administrators and looking at how to implement the feedback.
- *Handbook Committee* The committee is continuing to meet with Dr. Russell and Frank Lancaster regarding Chapter 8 edits.
- Communications Committee The UTHSC logos have been updated, and is available on the communications website. The committee is looking at creating a resource notebook or providing information on the senate website for faculty about various topics (i.e., business cards, poster templates, presentation templates, etc). If senators have any ideas for the resource notebook, please contact someone on the committee.

#### New Business:

- UTHSC will represent the UT System faculty on the UT Board of Trustees' Research, Teaching, and Service Committee. Questions were posed regarding the nomination criteria, as the Faculty Senate will have the opportunity to nominate one faculty member.
  - Discussion regarding the criteria for a candidate:
    - The term "professor" is that full and/or associate Dr. Russell shared that the bylaws are ambiguous, and either an associate or full professor would be acceptable.
    - Exceeds Expectations criteria Dr. Russell has asked and this is a board policy of "exceeds" or "far exceeds," thus this cannot be modified as this time. However, the Chancellor will make the final decision, and if a

candidate isn't possible with the outlined criteria, then the UTHSC will need to work with the system.

 Senators were encouraged to send names of nominees to the faculty senate email address.

#### New Announcements:

- Dr. Rob Williams provided a quick update on the Research Strategic Plan. Two hundred faculty members responded to a recent survey. If faculty have ideas or would like to participate, please contact Dr. Williams.
- Dr. Williams also provided a quick update on the work by the Artificial Intelligence for Medicine group. More information can be found at the website – Ai4pm.org.
- Upcoming Faculty Senate Meetings:
  - April 13, 2021 at 4:00 pm cst/5:00 pm est.
  - May 11, 2021 at 4:00 pm cst/5:00 pm est.
  - June 8, 2021 at 4:00 pm cst/5:00 pm est.

There being no other business, the meeting adjourned at 4:57 pm cst/5:57 pm est.

Respectfully Submitted,

Jillian McCarthy Maeder, PhD, CCC-SLP Faculty Senate Secretary