Department of Medicine Faculty

The Department of Medicine has 120 faculty members and 148 volunteer faculty representing general internal medicine and all internal medicine subspecialties. The chairman of the department is Guy L. Reed, MD, Professor of Medicine.

The department has a long history of excellence in the education of medical students, residents, and fellows. The department has also achieved national and international recognition for its clinical and basic science research activities. These endeavors range from the pathogenesis of connective tissue disorders such as rheumatoid arthritis and rheumatic fever to more clinically oriented problems such as hypertension, lipid disorders, health maintenance and prevention and clinical oncology trials. Residents have the opportunity to participate in the on-going research projects during research electives.

Faculty Listing by Department

Emergency Medicine
Gastroenterology and Hepatology
General Internal Medicine
Hematology and Oncology
Infectious Diseases
Pulmonary and Critical Care


Matthew Barnes, MD
Deirdre James, MD
Andrew Han, MD
Shelly Swindler, MD
Alex Woods, MD

Contact Us

Internal Medicine
Residency Program

956 Court Ave., Suite H314
Memphis, TN 38163
Phone: (901) 448-5814
(800) 733-1846
Fax: (901) 448-7836

Internal Twitter link

Bran Upchurch, Coordinator


Daniece Mackie
Phone: (901) 448-5720
Fax: (901) 448-7836

Please expect a two week turnaround time.