The IRB

The IRB

The University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC) Institutional Review Board (IRB) is comprised of 4 sections.  All sections (1-4) of the IRB meet monthly in 910 Madison, Suite 502, Memphis, TN on the first, second, third, and fourth Wednesdays of the month, respectively. Click "Meeting Schedules" on the left side of your screen for details.

Scope

The IRB has responsibility for the review of research involving human subjects for the University of Tennessee Health Science Center, Le Bonheur Children's Hospital, Methodist Healthcare-Memphis Hospitals, Regional One Health, and UT Medical Group, Inc. 

Function

The primary function of the IRB is to assist the investigator in the protection of the rights and welfare of human subjects. It is necessary for others who are independent of the research to share the responsibility for determining the standards for ethical conduct of research involving human subjects. Investigators, however, carry primary responsibility for assuring that research protocols measure up to standards established by the IRB.

UTHSC IRB Staff

Terrence F. Ackerman, Ph.D.
Chair
(901) 448-4824
tackerma@uthsc.edu

Cameron Barclay, MSA, CIM, CIP
Director
(901) 448-4824
cbarclay@uthsc.edu

Kimberly Prachniak, MS, CIM, CIP
Associate Director
(901) 448-5060
kprachni@uthsc.edu

Misty Thompson, Ph.D., CCRP
IRB Compliance Advisor
(901) 448-2933
mthomp82@uthsc.edu

Margaret Sularin, LMSW, RDN, CCRP, CIM, CIP
Sr. Regulatory Specialist
(901) 448-5463
msularin@uthsc.edu

Margaret Caufield, M.Ed.
Regulatory Specialist
(901) 448-1343
mcaufiel@uthsc.edu

Laura Rush, MPH
Regulatory Specialist
(901) 448-2975
lyoung32@uthsc.edu

Holly Herron, CIM
IRB Administrator
(901) 448-5920
hherron@uthsc.edu

Donna Stallings, CIM
IRB Administrator
(901) 448-3805
dstallin@uthsc.edu

Melanie Saucier
Research Administrative Assistant
(901) 448-4824 or (901) 448-2636
msaucier@uthsc.edu

Back to top

IRB Affiliates

Methodist Healthcare - Memphis Hospitals /
UTMP (UT Methodist Physicians)

Rexann G. Pickering, Ph.D., CIP, RN
Administrator, Human Protection
(901) 516-2323
rexann.pickering@mlh.org 
Institutional Requirements

Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital
Sheon Lynch, MSA, MT (ASCP)
Administrative Director
(901) 287-6208
sheon.lynch@lebonheur.org 
Institutional Requirements

Regional One Health
Amira Wohabrebbi, PhD, BSN,
Director, Office of Medical Research
(901) 545-7453
awohabrebbi@regionalonehealth.org
Institutional Requirements

Back to top