SNPhA Chapter Named Top 3 Nationally – Members, Advisor Recognized

SNPhA logo

The University of Tennessee Chapter of the Student National Pharmaceutical Association (SNPhA) was ranked as one of the top three chapters in the nation. Additionally, the chapter was recognized for completing community service events in all six initiatives: 1) Keep Sake - an initiative promoting awareness for Chronic Kidney Disease, 2) Fight Diabetes, 3) Power to End Stroke, 4) Operation Immunization, 5) Legislative/Voting/Immigration and 6) HIV/AIDS: Remember the Ribbon. The chapter was also one of only a few schools to successfully complete the new initiative presented by Pfizer, Beat the Pack, where members taught a month-long smoking cessation module to the HIV-positive community at Friends for Life. About 30 student pharmacists attended the 2012 SNPhA National Convention in Las Vegas, Nevada on July 20-23.

Student pharmacist, Alfton Dyson, was appointed as Region II Facilitator, and will hold responsibilities that focus on active communication with chapters in the region to facilitate transfer of information to the national executive board.

Merry Daniel, third year student pharmacist and SNPhA vice-president in Knoxville, was awarded a $2,000 scholarship from Rite-Aid. This scholarship is awarded to student pharmacists committed to promoting the profession of pharmacy and have demonstrated leadership qualities. Merry states, “I believe I received the scholarship because I took on several leadership positions in SNPhA, and I have done most of the MTM in the Rite-Aid store where I work.”

Third year student pharmacist Jenny Luo was elected as National Corresponding Secretary. She holds over seven years experience with conference planning and has held student leadership positions on both local and national stages. During her tenure as corresponding secretary, she hopes to focus on encouraging new members to participate in the resolutions process and streamline SNPhA business sessions.

Mr. Bobby Thomas, one of our current SNPhA advisors, was recognized by SNPhA’s executive director as an “Excellent Advisor” for 2011-2012.

Two teams, consisting of third year student pharmacists Merry Daniel, Sarah Jackson Zach Thomas and Frank Yu, competed in the National Clinical Skills Competition. President of UT’s chapter, Keysha Ray, says “Congratulations to our members for all their hard work, dedication and commitment to SNPhA!”