UT Wins 2013 Self-Care Competition


UTHSC College of Pharmacy’s team of student pharmacists won the Student Pharmacists’ Self-Care Championship at the 126th Annual Convention of the Tennessee Pharmacists Association in Chattanooga. Members of the team included (pictured from left to right): Bianca Kakade, Samantha Boldin, Michael Schwartz, Torrey Smith, Katie Qualls and Kelley Johnson. Teams of students from each pharmacy school in Tennessee were asked questions pertaining to their knowledge of over-the-counter medications in a Jeopardy-like format. UT’s final point total was 24,801. The next closest team finished with 8,400 points. Samantha Boldin, class of 2014 and captain of the team, said, “It was truly an honor to serve as captain of the team this year. We are so blessed to have the support of Dr. Howard-Thompson, Dr. Eoff, and the rest of the UT pharmacy family. I am thrilled that we were able to win and bring the trophy back to the college!” The glass trophy will be housed in the trophy case in the College of Pharmacy Building in Memphis. Dean Chisholm-Burns also expressed her delight in the victory, just moments after she heard the news, “I want to thank all faculty and students who were involved - this is truly excellent news, and I'm so proud of you... this news adds to the big UT smile I have on my face.”