Miller receives Volwiler Research Achievement Award

Miller receives Volwiler Research Achievement Award

The American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) was honored a pharmacy educator from the University of Tennessee for his outstanding research and contributions to the field of pharmaceutical sciences. Duane D. Miller, Ph.D.,received the prestigious Volwiler Research Achievement Award during the 2009 AACP Annual Meeting and Seminars in Boston, Mass., July 18-22

“Duane is an exceptional leader and teacher. He is not only known for his incredible contributions to pharmaceutical education, but for his leadership and mentorship to advance research that is vital to the academic community,” explained Lucinda L. Maine, Ph.D., R.Ph., AACP executive vice president and CEO. “It is an honor to present him with this prestigious award.” Miller joined The University of Tennessee in 1992 as the Harriet S. Van Vleet endowed chair of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences and is currently associate dean of research and graduate studies in the College of Pharmacy at UT. Described as an outstanding scientist by his colleagues, Miller has more than 200 publications, 30 patent disclosures, three new compounds with two in preclinical trials and one in phase 2 clinical trials. His research has been well recognized, having received the American Chemical Society Medicinal Chemist of the Year award in 2008, as well as The University of Tennessee B. Otto and Kathleen Wheeley Award for Excellence in Technology Transfer in 2005.

“It is a real honor to be recognized by AACP for our research in the pharmaceutical sciences,” said Dr. Miller. “We have several agents in preclinical testing and one drug in clinical testing and I hope that one of them will make it to the market to help patients.”

Miller’s research interests include the design and synthesis of new drug molecules. He has a strong interest in stereochemical aspects of drug molecules and developing drugs for new areas in which we currently lack therapeutic agents, or in areas in which we need to develop new drugs with fewer side effects.

“Dr. Miller is truly a triple threat, bringing to the table an outstanding research program, the ability to mentor young faculty, graduate students and professional students, as well as contributing significantly to the educational, professional and graduate educational programs of the college,” said Dr. Dick R. Gourley, dean of the UT College of Pharmacy.

The award consists of a gold medal and a monetary prize, and was established in honor of the late Ernest H.Volwiler, Abbott Laboratories former president and research director.

[Based on a News Release of March 26, 2009, by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy]