Faculty Papers Earn Accolades

Faculty Papers Earn Accolades

A team of faculty members from the University of Tennessee and the University of Memphis will be awarded the 2009 AACP Rufus A. Lyman Award, honoring the best paper published in the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education. Dr. Dick Gourley, dean of the College of Pharmacy, is presented the award at the 2009 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) Annual Meeting and Seminars Closing Banquet on July 21, 2009.

"The Economic Impact of a College of Pharmacy" was authored by Dick R. Gourley, PharmD, and Shelley I. White-Means, PhD, both of the University of Tennessee Health Science Center, and Jeff Wallace, PhD, of the University of Memphis. The paper quantifies the dollar value of economic returns to a community when a college of pharmacy attains its four-fold mission of research, service, patient care and education.

Gourley's pharmacy career spans nearly four decades, having first served as a clinical faculty member at Mercer University from 1970 to 1972, founding chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice at the University of Nebraska Medical Center from 1972 to 1984 and professor and dean of the Mercer University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences from 1984 to 1989. Since then, Gourley has served as professor of pharmacy and dean of the University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy. He is the author or co-author of 69 manuscripts, 11 proceedings and 16 books, and is the recipient of more than $9 million in grants and contracts.

As professor of health economics in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences at UTHSC's, White-Means' research publications focus on racial and ethnic health disparities; labor market and retirement implications of care giving; and health and medical care utilization of underserved populations including the aged, women and ethnic minorities. She is a past-president of the National Economic Association and a 2007 recipient of the University of Tennessee Student Government and Faculty Senate Excellence in Teaching Award for the College of Graduate Health Sciences.

Supported by Merck & Company, Inc., the award is presented annually as a framed certificate along with a stipend of $5,000 to be shared by the authors of the paper.

Founded in 1900, the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) is a national organization representing the interests of pharmacy education and educators. Comprising 112 accredited colleges and schools of pharmacy including more than 5,500 faculty, 50,000 students enrolled in professional programs and 3,900 individuals pursuing graduate study, AACP is committed to excellence in pharmacy education. To learn more about AACP, visit its Web site at www.aacp.org.