Frequently Asked QuestionsShow All Answers | Hide All Answers
During 2012, we offer a variety of ways for pharmacists and pharmacy technicians to earn continuing education credits to maintain existing competency and to develop new competencies. The methods for earning CE credits include live seminars, live teleconferences, web-based courses, and independent-study courses listed in our Continuing Education Booklet .
You can also visit the UT Advanced Studies in Pharmacy website for additional offerings of both Live and Home CE that are co-sponsored by the University of Tennessee.
All of the following continuing education activities are approved for CE credit in the majority of those states, including Tennessee, requiring proof of continuing education for re-licensure as a pharmacist or re-certification as a pharmacy technician.
The CE requirement for pharmacists licensed in Tennessee is 30 hours every two years, renewed on a staggered monthly basis. PTCB certified technicians must complete 20 hours of CE every two years, including one hour of law (ACPE number ending in "03").
The Tennessee Board of Pharmacy requires 30 hours of CE credit during the proceeding two-year period of your license renewal. One-half (15 hours) of these hours must be live programs.
Live programs are designated as "L" (as opposed to home study or correspondence courses designated as "H") in the last three digits of the ACPE program number.
Some states -- not Tennessee -- require that a portion of the CE requirement be from select topics designated by the last digit of the ACPE number: 01-Therapeutics, 02-AIDS, 03-Law, 04-General or 05-Drug Safety. PTCB certified pharmacy technicians in Tennessee must complete one hour of law every two years -- program number ending in 03. The designation "P" is for pharmacists only, "T" for technicians only, or "P & T" if the program is accredited for both pharmacists and technicians.
The Tennessee Board of Pharmacy, Rule 1140-05-.01 (1) REQUIREMENTS FOR PHARMACIST LICENSE RENEWAL, which is on page 217 of the green 2011 Tennessee Pharmacy Laws, states the following.
- Every person licensed as a pharmacist shall complete at least thirty (30) hours of continuing pharmaceutical education during each two (2) year license cycle. The required thirty (30) hours shall consist of at least fifteen (15) hours obtained through live contact programs. In order to fulfill the fifteen (15) live contact hour requirement, a pharmacist shall obtain the hours from a program designated as “live” the ACPE accredited provider, from a program that is approved by the board prior to the expiration of the pharmacist’s license or from an out-of-state program that is approved by the board of pharmacy in the state where they program was presented.
To determine if a provider of continuing education is accredited by the ACPE, look for the ACPE logo and a program number on informational brochures.
UT College of Pharmacy sponsored activities will be acceptable in all states that recognize ACPE accredited providers. Credits obtained at one activity will usually meet the requirement in multiple states.
For most programs, you may enroll by telephone, fax, regular mail, e-mail, or on-line. For most of the live seminars, registration information will be mailed 4 to 6 weeks prior to each activity and will be posted on the College's web site: http://www.uthsc.edu/pharmacy/ce/, then click on Online Seminar Enrollment in the Quick Links.
Pharmacy technicians who are certified through the PTCB are required to obtain CE. Many programs will be offered for both pharmacists and technicians. These will be designated as "P" for pharmacists, "T" for technicians, or "P & T" if the program is accredited for both pharmacists and technicians. Programs designated with a "P" are also acceptable for Pharmacy Technicians.
Glen E. Farr, PharmD
Professor & Associate Dean for Continuing Education
Glen E. Farr, Pharm.D.
Michelle Nower, CPS
UT College of Pharmacy
213 Conference Center
Knoxville, TN 37996-4128
Phone: (865) 974-6605
Fax: (865) 974-2987