Dean's Faculty Advisory Committee University of Tennessee, College of Medicine

June 17, 2019

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by the president, Dr. Burt Sharp, at 12:03 PM on June 17, 2019, in the Coleman building, Room A101.

Attendance

The following members were present:

Julio F. Cordero-Morales, PhD, Terry Cooper, PhD, Denis DiAngelo, PhD, Rebecca Anne Krukowski, PhD, KU Malik, PhD, DSc, Haavi Morreim, JD, PhD, Lawrence Pfeffer, PhD, Reese Scroggs, PhD, Burt Sharp, MD, Laura Sprabery, MD, Joy Steadman, MD, Neena Thomas-Gosain, MD, Joe Willmitch, MPAS, PA-C, Thad Wilson, PhD, George Cook, PhD

The following guest(s) was (were) present:

Polly Hofmann, PhD

Approval of minutes

The minutes of the previous meeting were approved as written. Minutes had previously been distributed by electronic means.

Business

Pres. Sharp described 3 new standing committees that will begin work this year. The Research Committee will identify and prioritize the most important research issues for the CoM, explore how other institutions address those issues, and propose recommendations to the Dean. This effort is expected to take several years. This will be co-chaired by Larry Pfeffer and Rebecca Krukowskki.

The second standing committee will be the committee on Branding. They will study ideas on how best to brand the CoM, prioritize which interventions appear to be most important, and make recommendations to the Dean. This work, too, is expected to take two or more years. It will be co-chaired by Martin Croce and Laura Sprabery.

The third committee, focusing on Peer Review of Teaching, will be chaired by Terry Cooper. Its mission, as noted below, will be broader than just the procedures for peer review of teaching.

Research Committee co-chairs Pfeffer and Krukowski identified several issues their committee plans to explore, including: faculty recruitment, faculty retention, clinical trials outreach, and a Dean's Speaker series that would bring faculty together to spark new ideas for research. Regarding faculty retention, the committee will explore relevant identifiable trends, such as the question whether early-career faculty tend to leave prematurely and, if so, what might account for this and what might be done to address it. Their varied efforts may also dovetail at various points with the Branding Committee.

Polly Hofmann indicated that the dean is now recruiting for a Senior Associate Dean of Research, who could contribute to this effort. The search for a new chair of Medicine is nearly concluded, and likely a new effort toward faculty recruitment will begin shortly thereafter. These people may likewise be helpful in the Research Committee's work.

Regarding the Branding Committee, Laurie Sprabery suggested that it will be important to have members from Methodist and our other hospitals and clinical practices, as well as ROH. This committee will reach out to Sally Badoud, Associate Vice-Chancellor of Marketing and Communication. Another potential outreach can be to the Development office. Ideas to discuss will include uniformity among white coats, use of logos for posters and PPT slides, and the like.

As an update on prior work, Terry Cooper discussed the Non-Tenure Track Clinician Educator committee's efforts. Although the new track is campus-wide, each college will address its own specific issues. Dr. Cooper noted the committee's breadth of participation including both junior and senior faculty. He provided for DFAC a summary of a survey sent out to all CoM faculty, asking what activities should be on the list that could be used to support promotion from Assistant to Associate, and from Associate to Professor. A total of 104 people responded to the anonymous Qualtrics survey.

The results of that survey will be used as guidelines for the kind of evidence that can be used to support faculty promotion. The next steps will include presenting these results to the dean, the department chairs, the P&T Committee, etc. Dr. Cooper volunteered to speak with the department chairs, P&T, and the Faculty Senate, while Pres. Sharp will update the dean. It will be important to create an introductory paragraph emphasizing that items on the list are not all individually required, but rather indicate the kinds of activities that can carry weight in support of promotion. Faculty and chairs can collaborate to select appropriate items to pursue, from each category, and should begin focusing efforts on those items earlier rather than later in the faculty member's quest for promotion. Systematic documentation processes will also be important, year to year. Overall, the introductory paragraph will discuss both the purpose of the guidelines, and the implementation: who should use it, and how.

As DFAC surmised, the Peer Review of Teaching Committee is essentially the current task of a broader Policy Committee. That current task is to review the processes for peer review of teaching. A temporary policy is now in place, which will be implemented for this year. Experience with it will help to inform suggestions for change, which this committee will assess in order to propose whatever changes to the current temporary policy may be appropriate. Additionally, the Policy Committee will need to review the CoM Bylaws, to ensure it is up to date as we move into the next LCME cycle. Going forward, other policy-oriented tasks will also arise from time to time for this committee as the Handbook will continue to delineate general policies and assign development of the specifics processes to the individual colleges.

Pres. Sharp proposed that perhaps the DFAC should send out a quarterly (or thereabouts) newsletter with updates for the faculty, largely based on reports from these three committees.

People with interest to serve on these committees are encouraged to contact the respective (co-)chairs.

Volunteers thus far include: Research: Cordero-Morales, Malik, Cooper Branding: Willmitch, Steadman, DiAngelo Policy: Scroggs, Morreim, Willmitch, Thomas-Gosain, Wilson

Next Meeting

The next meeting of the committee will be held on September 9, 2019, at 12:00 Noon in the Coleman building, Room A101.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 12:58 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

E. Haavi Morreim, JD, PhD Secretary