Dean's Faculty Advisory Council University of Tennessee, College of Medicine

February 5, 2024

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by the president, Dr. Thad Wilson, at 12:05 PM on **Date**, 2024, in person and on the Zoom online platform.

Attendance

The following members were present:

Kevin Beier, MD, EM, Mark Bugnitz, MD, Terry Cooper, PhD, Denis DiAngelo, PhD, Jay Fowke, PhD, MPH, MS, Ian Gray, MD, Bruce L. Keisling, PhD, FAAIDD, Chris Ledbetter, MD, Francesca-Fang Liao, PhD, Erica Mitchell, MD, MEd SE, FACS, DFSVS, Haavi Morreim, JD, PhD, Deidra Mountain, PhD, Lawrence Pfeffer, PhD, Phyllis Richey, PhD, Reese Scroggs, PhD, Burt Sharp, MD, Claudette Shephard, MD, Joe Willmitch, MPAS, PA-C, Thad Wilson, PhD, Paul J Koltnow, MS, MSPAS, PA-C

The following guest(s) was (were) present:

Alicia Diaz-Thomas, MD; QiQi Zhou, MD, PhD

Approval of minutes

The minutes of the previous meeting were approved as written. Minutes had previously been distributed by electronic means.

Business

Dr. Diaz-Thomas introduced Dr. QiQi Zhou, who is now the interim senior executive associate dean for budget and planning.

Pres. Wilson then asked Dr. Cooper to introduce a letter regarding clarifying a somewhat confusing letter sent to faculty last fall. It was considered by the Policy Committee (headed by Dr. Cooper), which made suggestions for its potential improvement. These suggestions were then forwarded to DFAC for its discussion and additional suggestions. DFAC made several additional advisory suggestions. The request having been met the issue was then closed.

Dr. Morreim, DFAC secretary, extended an invitation to DFAC members to contact her if they would like to be added to the Policy Committee.

Dr. Fowke indicated that the subcommittee tasked with exploring ways of mentoring junior faculty is beginning to identify its members and planning its future activities. To date, conversations have been informal. In the near future the committee will be more formally constituted and begin its work. Thus far, those who have expressed interest in addition to Jay Fowke include Erika Mitchell, Alicia Diaz-Thomas, Phyllis Richey, Larry Pfeffer, Mace Coday, and (ex officio) Thad Wilson.

Dr. Cooper then raised another matter which was discussed by DFAC members. Procedures for the newly permitted multi-year appointments must be specified for each College of UTHSC and entered into their respective ByLaws. The DFAC Policy Committee was charged with collaboratively producing a draft of such procedures and criteria of appointment to be further considered by the DFAC membership and Dean's Office.

Next Meeting

The next meeting of the committee will be held on February 5, 2024, at 12:00n CT / 1pm ET by Zoom and in person in room 502, 910 Madison building.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 12:58 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

E. Haavi Morreim, JD, PhD Secretary