Molecular and Systems Pharmacology Faculty

B


top | B  C  D  E  M  O  P  R  S  T  Z

Suleiman Bahouth, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacology
sbahouth@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Identification of motifs in the human beta-1-adrenergic receptor that are involved in its coupling to G proteins, internalization, recycling, and resensitization after agonist exposure.

Sharyn D. Baker, Pharm.D., Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Member
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
Sharyn.baker@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Clinical Pharmacology of tyrosine kinase inhibitors; Tyrosine kinase inhibitors for the treatment of childhood acute myelogenous leukemia; Pharmacokinetic variability of anticancer agents.

C


top | B  C  D  E  M  O  P  R  S  T  Z

Taosheng Chen, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Member
Department of Chemical Biology and Therapeutics, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
taoscheng.chen@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Regulation of PXR and drug metabolism; regulation of PAX3-FKHR in alveolar rhabdomyosarcoma.

George Cook, Ph.D. icon Profile
Professor
Department of Pharmacology
gcook@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Control of genes regulating fat metabolism, concentrating on the control of fatty acid oxidation in liver and heart in diabetes, during fasting and in the normal, fed state.

D


top | B  C  D  E  M  O  P  R  S  T  Z

Alex Dopico, M.D., Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacology
adopico@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Voltage-gated ion channels in excitable cells as relevant targets of small amphiphilic drugs and membrane lipids.

E


top | B  C  D  E  M  O  P  R  S  T  Z

Marshall Elam, M.D., Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacology
melam@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Regulation of hepatic lipid/lipoprotein synthesis and secretion by insulin in obesity and type II diabetes; Regulation of Sterol-Regulatory-Element Binding Protein-1c (SREBP-1c) transcription by insulin, cyclic-AMP, and polyunsaturated fatty acids.

M


top | B  C  D  E  M  O  P  R  S  T  Z

Kafait Malik, Ph.D., D.Sc. icon Profile
Professor
Department of Pharmacology
kmalik@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Cellular and molecular mechanisms of neurohumoral interactions involved in vascular smooth muscle cell hyperplasia and hypertrophy and hypertension.

O


top | B  C  D  E  M  O  P  R  S  T  Z

Rennolds S. Ostrom, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacology
rostrom@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Investigation of how cells “pre-arrange” multiple signaling components in G protein-coupled receptor signal transduction cascades with focus on caveolae and lipid rafts as centers for such organization.

P


top | B  C  D  E  M  O  P  R  S  T  Z

Edwards Park, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacology
epark@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Mechanisms by which hormones regulate gene expression in diabetes, hyperthyroidism and obesity.

Derek A. Persons, M.D., Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Professor
Department of Hematology, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
derek.persons@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Hematopoietic stem cell biology and gene therapy for hemoglobin disorders.

R


top | B  C  D  E  M  O  P  R  S  T  Z

Rajendra Raghow, Ph.D. icon Profile
Professor
Department of Pharmacology
rraghow@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Mechanisms of transcriptional and post-transcriptional regulation of homeobox genes Msx1/3.

S


top | B  C  D  E  M  O  P  R  S  T  Z

Kazuko Sakata, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacology
ksakata@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Current projects focus on studying the roles of activity-dependent expression of BONF (Brain Derived Neurotrophic Factor) in depression and anxiety, using molecular and biochemical, electrophysiologyical, and behavioral techniques with genetically modified mice.

Burt Sharp, M.D. icon Profile
Professor and Chair
Department of Pharmacology
bsharp@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Nicotine self-administration-induced plasticity in stress-reponsive brain systems: involvement of genes, neurotransmitters, and hormones.

Alex Sparreboom, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Member
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
alex.sparreboom@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Role of solute carriers in renal and hepatic anticancer drug clearance; Genetic factors contributing to interindividual variability in anticancer drug disposition.

Jeffery Steketee, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacology
jsteketee@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Neural mechanisms of drug addiction.

Clinton Stewart, Pharm.D. icon Profile
Associate Member
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
clinton.stewart@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Use of preclinical models that study the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodnamics of novel anticancer drugs to enhance the design of clinical trials in children with cancer.

Parker Suttle, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacology
psuttle@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Regulation of mammalian DNA topoisomerase IIa gene expression and the role of topo IIa in G2/M cell cycle arrest.

Wen Lin Sun, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacology
wsun5@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Neurobiological mechanisms underlying drug addiction.

Trevor Sweatman, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacology
tsweatman@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Preclinical development of novel antitumor agents

T


top | B  C  D  E  M  O  P  R  S  T  Z

Steven Tavalin, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacology
stavalin@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Regulation of synaptic transmission and neuronal excitability by localized signaling systems.

Z


top | B  C  D  E  M  O  P  R  S  T  Z

Fu-Ming Zhou, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Professor
Department of Pharmacology
fzhou3@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Dopamine and serotonin systems in the brain and their involvement in neuropsychiatric disorders.

top

Contact Us

Molecular and Systems Pharmacology

Track Director: Dr. Fang Liao
Integrated Biomedical Sciences Program
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Crowe Research Bldg., Rm. 115
874 Union Avenue
Memphis, TN 38163
Phone: 901-448-1181
FAX: 901-448-7206
Email: IBSmolpharm@uthsc.edu

UTHSC Integrated Biomedical Sciences Program's Facebook Page UTHSC Integrated Biomedical Sciences Program's Twitter Page