Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry Faculty

A


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Lorraine Albritton, Ph.D. icon Profile
Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
lalbritton@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Molecular mechanisms of retrovirus entry and infection; Design and development of viral vectors for anti-cancer human gene therapy.

B


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Donald Bashford, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Member
Department of Structural Biology
don.bashford@stjude.org

Robert Belland, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
rbelland@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Characterization of the interaction between pathogenic Chlamydial species and their hosts during acute and persistent disease.

Mark Bix, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Member
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
mark.bix@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Research is focused on the developmental regulation of cytokine gene expression within T cells with a particular focus on the TH2 locus encoding interleukins 4, 13 and 5 - key orchestrators of the immune response.

Gerald Byrne, Ph.D. icon Profile
Professor and Chair
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
gbyrne@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Cell and molecular biology of Chlamydia pathogenesis.

C


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Taosheng Chen, Ph.D. PMP icon Profile
Associate Member
Department of Chemical Biology and Therapeutics
taosheng.chen@stjude.org

Hongbo Chi, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Member
Department of Immunology, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
hongbo.chi@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: JNK and p38 MAP kinase (MAPK) pathway in innate and adaptive immunity; Sphingosine 1-phosphate (S1P) pathway in T cell trafficking and immune responses; molecular mechanisms of immune-mediated disorders including infectious and autoimmune diseases.

Terrance Cooper, Ph.D.
Van Vleet Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
tcooper@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Eukaryotic genome-wide transcription regulatory networks and cell biology of transcriptional regulation.

Stephania Cormier, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Pediatrics, UTHSC
Le Bonheur Children's Medical Center
scormier@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Neonatal Respiratory Immunology, Respiratory Tract Viral Infections, Inhalation Exposures and Host Defense, Genome-Environment Interactions in Airways Disease.

John Cox, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
jcox@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Regulation of the endocytosis and intracellular trafficking of membrane transporters, and the role of the cytoskeleton in these processes.

Yan Cui, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
ycui2@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Computational methods for microarray data analysis and gene network modeling.

D


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Mustafa Dabbous icon Profile
Ph.D., Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
mdabbous@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Mechanism of cancer invasion and metastasis; Host-tumor cell-cell interactions; Biomarkers of invasion and metastatic spread of cancer cells.

James Dale, M.D.
Professor
Department of Medicine
james.dale@med.va.gov

icon Research Interests: Molecular pathogenesis of group A streptococcal infections; Development and design of group A streptococcal vaccines.

E


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Eric J. Enemark, PhD icon Profile
Assistant Member
Department of Structural Biology
eric.enemark@stjude.org

icon Research Interests:DNA replication is a fundamental process for all cells to duplicate the genetic material prior to division. We are investigating the molecular details of how helicase enzymes unwind double-stranded DNA during its replication by using X-ray crystallography and biochemical experiments.

F


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Elizabeth Fitzpatrick icon Profile
Ph.D., Associate Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
efitzpatrick@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Understanding the mechanisms by which alveolar macrophage activation and polarization contributes to lung pathology during chronic hypersensitivity pneumonitis.


G


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Terrence Geiger, M.D., Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Member
Department of Pathology
terrence.geiger@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Regulation of T-cell responses in and immunotherapy for autoimmune diseases.

Maria Gomes-Solecki, DVM icon Profile
Assistant Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
mgomesso@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Oral vaccines based in commensal bacteria for prevention and treatment of microbial and allergen induced diseases. Reservoir targeted vaccine for the control of Lyme borreliosis.

Ramareddy Guntaka, Ph.D. icon Profile
Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
rguntaka@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Role of the Y-box binding protein, YB-1, in cell proliferation.

H


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Linda Hendershot, Ph.D. icon Profile
Member
Department of Genetics/Tumor Cell Biology
Linda.hendershot@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Biosynthesis of proteins in the secretory pathway; Signal transduction pathways that are activated by cellular stress.

Roderick Hori, Ph.D.icon Profile
Associate Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
rhori@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Mechanism of eukaryotic transcriptional regulation.

Martha Howe, Ph.D. icon Profile
Van Vleet Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
mhowe@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Mechanism of transcription activation by the bacteriophage Mu Mor/C family of transcription activators.

Julia Hurwitz, Ph.D. icon Profile
Member
Department of Immunology
Julia.hurwitz@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: HIV and respiratory virus vaccine development.

J


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Suzanne Jackowski, Ph.D. icon Profile
Member
Department of Infectious Disease
Suzanne.jackowski@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Roles of phospholipid synthesis in cellular functions; Regulation of coenzyme A as a determinant of metabolic switching.

Lisa Jennings, Ph.D. icon Profile
Professor and Director
Department of Medicine-Internal Medicine
ljennings@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: The molecular basis of cell adhesion and cell growth facilitated by cell surface integrins and tetraspanins

K


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Abbas Kitabchi, M.D., Ph.D. icon Profile
Professor
Department of Medicine
akitabchi@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Role of hyperglycemia on oxidative stress and signal transduction in T lymphocytes.

Richard Kriwacki, Ph.D. icon Profile
Member
Department of Structural Biology

L


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Richard Lee, Ph.D. icon Profile
Member
Department of Chemical Biology and Therapeutics, SJCRH
richard.lee@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Research interests: Novel approaches to antimicrobial drug discovery, and drug mechanism of action and resistance studies.

Wing H. Leung, M.D., Ph.D. icon Profile
Member and Chair
Department of Bone Marrow Transplantation and Cellular Therapy

Kui Li, M.D., Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
kli1@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Virus-host cell interactions during infections of hepatitis C virus and related viruses; innate immune signaling mechanisms to viral infections.

M


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Tony Marion, Ph.D. icon Profile
Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
tmarion@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Cellular and molecular mechanisms for autoimmunity to DNA in natural and transgenic mouse models for human systemic lupus erythematosus; Function of anti-DNA autoantibodies in glomerular pathogenesis in human lupus; Immune responses to HCV in chronic hepatitis C infection.

Jonathan A. McCullers, M.D. icon Profile
Professor and Chair
Department of Pediatrics, UTHSC
Le Bonheur Children's Medical Center
jon.mccullers@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Mechanisms and virulence factors underlying the interaction between respiratory viruses and bacteria. Current research is focusing on influenza viruses, Streptococcus pneumoniae and staphylococcus.

Maureen McGargill, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Member
Dept. of Immunology
Maureen.McGargill@STJUDE.ORG

icon Research Interests: Our research is focused on the molecular and cellular regulation of T cells during infectious disease and autoimmune disease.

Mark Miller, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
mamiller@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Development of vectors for delivery of cytokine-assisted vaccines focusing on the use of replication-defective vesicular stomatitis virus as a delivery vector for cytokine-adjuvant(s) in combination with either exogenous or virus-encoded candidate immunogens.

Tanja Mittag, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Member
Department of Structural Biology
tanja.mittag@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Biophysical and functional characterization of the role of multiple degrons in substrate recognition by ubiquitin ligases; the role of ‘fuzzy' complexes in signal transduction and ubiquitination.

Peter Murray, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Member
Department of Infectious Disease
peter.murray@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Regulation of the innate immune response.

N


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

David Nelson, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
dnelson@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Bioinformatics and evolution of the cytochrome P450 superfamily; Molecular history of eukaryotic life.

Ken Nishimoto, Ph.D. icon Profile
Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
snishimoto@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Bone formation, calcification and mechanisms to regulate bone mass.

P


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Junmin Peng, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Member
Department of Structural Biology, SJCRH
junmin.peng@stjude.org

Tayebeh Pourmotabbed, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
tpourmotabbe@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Role of matrix metalloproteinases in glioma and arthritis; Targeting glioma by anti-MMP inhibitors.

R


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Marko Radic, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
mradic@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Molecular analysis of autoantibody structure and characterization of autoantigens that elicit autoimmune responses.

Charles Rock, Ph.D. icon Profile
Member
Department of Infectious Disease
charles.rock@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Control points in fatty acid biosynthesis; Regulation of membrane phospholipid metabolism; Small molecule therapeutics.

Phillip David Rogers, Pharm.D., Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacy
LeBonheur Children's Medical Center
drogers@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Antifungal action and resistance in the pathogenic fungi Candida albicans and Candida glabrata; Host innate immune response to Candida albicans and Candida glabrata.

Edward Rosloniec, Ph.D. icon Profile
Professor
Department of Medicine and Pathology
erosloniec@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Role of the MHC class II molecules, T cells, and cytokines in susceptibility to autoimmune arthritis.

Charles J. Russell, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Member
Department of Infectious Diseases, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
charles.russell@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Molecular mechanisms of paramyxovirus entry and pathogenesis; development of vaccines against paramyxovirus infection; structure-based design of inhibitors against paramyxovirus replication.

Patrick Ryan, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
pryan@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Genetic analysis of herpes virus entry of cells; glycovirology.

S


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Brenda Schulman, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Member
Department of Structural Biology and Genetics/Tumor Cell Biology
brenda.schulman@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Molecular basis for posttranslational modification by ubiquitin and ubiquitin-like proteins.

Stacey Schultz-Cherry, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Member
Dept. of Infectious Diseases
Stacey.Schultz-Cherry@STJUDE.ORG

icon Research Interests: Pathogenesis of RNA viruses; specifically influenza and astroviruses. We are interested in the viral-host interactions at the epithelial and innate immune cell level. Our studies encompass a wide range of disciplines including virology, cell biology, and molecular biology. A new area of study in the laboratory is the impact of obesity on influenza virus pathogenesis and therapeutic strategies. We also have several on-going surveillance projects that would expose interested students to virology at the public health interface.

Susan Senogles, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
ssenogles@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Molecular determinants of D2 Dopamine Receptor/G protein specificity.

T


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Paul Thomas, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Member
Department of Immunology, SJCRH
paul.thomas@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: My research program is focused on understanding how innate and adaptive immunity determine the outcome of influenza A virus infection in humans and in the mouse model. Over the last few years, we have discovered determinants of pathogenicity among viral strains, characterized the interface of the virus with the host epithelial cell and recruited innate response, and measured the relative contributions of viral- and immune-induced pathology to morbidity and mortality. I continue to pursue a robust program in adaptive immunity, including studies of T cell repertoire and the regulation of T cell receptor expression during viral infection. The regulatory effects on T cell biology by innate host response pathways have important consequences for viral clearance and immunopathology.

Elaine Tuomanen, M.D. icon Profile
Member and Chair
Department of Infectious Disease
elaine.tuomanen@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Molecular mechanisms of pneumococcal invasion using in vivo and in vitro models of pneumonia, sepsis, and meningitis.

V


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Dario Vignali, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Member
Department of Immunology
Dario.vignali@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: TCR:CD3 cell biology, signal transduction and function; Regulation of T cell function and homeostasis; T cell specificity and function in type 1 diabetes.

W


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Richard Webby, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Member
Department of Infectious Diseases
richard.webby@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Reverse genetics technologies to improve influenza vaccines, as well as to understand the pathogenesis of, and immune response to, influenza viruses

Robert Webster, Ph.D. icon Profile
Member
Department of Infectious Disease
Robert.webster@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: The origin and control of pandemic influenza viruses.

Stephen White, D.Phil. icon Profile
Member and Chair
Department of Structural Biology
Stephen.white@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Structural studies by X-ray crystallography on biological macromolecules with emphasis on fatty acid synthesis, protein-DNA and protein-RNA interactions, and structure-assisted drug design.

Michael Whitt, Ph.D. icon Profile
Professor
Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Biochemistry
mwhitt@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Molecular basis of negative-strand virus entry, replication, and assembly; Development of cell-specific cytolytic and oncolytic vectors; Molecular mechanisms of viral oncolysis with emphasis on glioblastoma multiformae.

Y


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Ae-Kyung Yi, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Professor
Department of Pediatrics and Molecular Sciences
ayi@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Research focuses on identifying new signaling components in host pattern recognition Eeceptor and signaling pathways that amplify or attenuate pro-inflammatory responses during the course of infection and autoimmue process.

Z


top | A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  J  K  L  M  N  P  R  S  T  V  W  Y  Z

Jie Zheng, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Member
Department of Structural Biology
jie.zheng@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Structural biology of the Wnt signaling pathway; Molecular basis of focal adhesion kinase.

top

Contact Us

Microbiology, Immunology, and Biochemistry

Track Director:Dr. Elizabeth Fitzpatrick
Integrated Biomedical Sciences Program
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Molecular Sciences Building, Room 601C
858 Madison Avenue
Memphis, TN 38163
Phone: 901-448-5405
FAX: 901-448-7360
Email: IBSMIB@uthsc.edu

UTHSC Integrated Biomedical Sciences Program's Facebook Page UTHSC Integrated Biomedical Sciences Program's Twitter Page