Cancer and Developmental Biology Faculty

B


top | B  C  D  F  G  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  W  Y  Z

Suzanne Baker, Ph.D. icon Profile
Member
Department of Developmental Neurobiology
suzanne.baker@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Normal and neoplastic growth regulation in the brain.

C


top | B  C  D  F  G  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  W  Y  Z

Xinwei Cao, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Member
Department of Developmental Neurobiology
xinwei.cao@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Growth control during vertebrate neural development.

Cheng Cheng, Ph.D. icon Profile
Member
Department of Biostatistics
cheng.cheng@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Statistical analysis methodologies for data analyses in cell and molecular biology and genetics, particularly in genome-wide studies and genotype-phenotype association studies.

D


top | B  C  D  F  G  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  W  Y  Z

Andrew M. Davidoff, M.D. icon Profile
Chair and Member
Department of Surgery
andrew.davidoff@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Angiogenesis inhibition and gene therapy for cancer treatment and hemophilia.

James Downing, M.D. icon Profile
Member, Scientific Director and Executive Vice President
Department of Pathology
james.downing@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Understanding the molecular mechanisms that regulate normal hematopoiesis and determining how these pathways are altered in human leukemia.

F


top | B  C  D  F  G  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  W  Y  Z

Meiyun Fan, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Professor
Department of Pathology
Mfan2@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Breast cancer cell biology: estrogen receptor function and regulation; gene transcription regulation during tumor progression; molecular mechanism of drug resistance.

G


top | B  C  D  F  G  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  W  Y  Z

Weikuan Gu, Ph.D. icon Profile
Professor
Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
wgu@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Positional cloning and functional study of spontaneous mutations in mice; Identification of genetic factors that regulate bone quality and resistance to arthritis.

Kip R. Guy, Ph.D. icon Profile/Lab
Chair and Member
Department of Chemical Biology & Therapeutics
Kip.Guy@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Assembly of the transcriptional activation complex by nuclear hormone receptors; development of novel therapeutic agents for pediatric orphan diseases.

I


top | B  C  D  F  G  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  W  Y  Z

James Ihle, Ph.D. icon Profile
Member and Chair
Department of Biochemistry
james.ihle@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Biochemical pathways in cytokine receptor signal transduction; Roles of the Jak family of kinases and the Stat family of transcription factors.

K


top | B  C  D  F  G  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  W  Y  Z

Richard Kriwacki, Ph.D. icon Profile
Member
Department of Structural Biology
Richard.kriwacki@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Structural studies of tumor suppressor proteins.

Mondira Kundu, M.D., Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Member
Department of Pathology
mondira.kundu@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Autophagy and mitochondrial clearance: regulation, signaling pathways, role in red blood cell maturation and suppression of tumors.

L


top | B  C  D  F  G  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  W  Y  Z

Ronald N. Laribee, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Professor
Department of Pathology
rlaribee@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Yeast and cell culture model systems to study biochemical mechanisms of epigenetic and chromatin-based gene regulation that are deregulated in cancer.

Wing H. Leung, M.D., Ph.D. icon Profile
Member and Chair
Dept. of Bone Marrow Transplantation & Cellular Therapy
wing.leung@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: NK cell and stem cell transplantation; late effect and molecular epidemiology.

Len Lothstein, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Professor
Department of Pathology
llothstein@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Development of novel antitumor agents, PKC-mediated apoptotic signalling, circumvention of cellular drug resistance, development of dual antitumor/cardioprotective compounds.

Yi Lu, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate professor
Department of Pathology
ylu@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Gene therapy for prostate cancer and breast cancer; mechanism study of p16-mediated inhibition of VEGF-signaling pathway and tumor metastasis; characterization of novel apoptosis-inducing gene, and development of anti-cancer drugs.

M


top | B  C  D  F  G  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  W  Y  Z

Shannon McKinney-Freeman, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Member
Department of Hematology
shannon.mckinney-freeman@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Directed differentiation of pluripotent stem cells and hematopoietic stem cell development and specification.

Peter McKinnon, Ph.D. icon Profile
Member
Department of Genetics/Tumor Cell Biology
peter.mckinnon@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Genotoxic stress in the nervous system and the links to brain tumors and neurodegeneration.

N


top | B  C  D  F  G  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  W  Y  Z

Leta K. Nutt, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Member
Department of Biochemistry
leta.nutt@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Metabolic regulation of apoptosis; Calcium homeostasis during apoptosis, Metabolic regulation of ER stress.

O


top | B  C  D  F  G  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  W  Y  Z

Stacey K. Ogden, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Member
Department of Biochemistry
stacey.ogden@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Hedgehog signaling in development and disease.

Guillermo Oliver, Ph.D. icon Profile
Member
Department of Genetics
guillermo.oliver@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Role of homeobox genes in early mammalian development

Joseph T. Opferman, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Member
Department of Biochemistry
Joseph.Opferman@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Regulation of anti-apoptotic MCL-1 during hematopoietic development and function.

P


top | B  C  D  F  G  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  W  Y  Z

Janet Partridge, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Member
Department of Biochemistry
janet.partridge@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Contribution of the RNAi pathway in promoting genomic stability by establishing and propagating centromeric heterochromatin.

Lawrence Pfeffer, Ph.D. icon Profile
Professor and Interim Vice Chancellor for Research
Department of Pathology
lpfeffer@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Interferons and cytokines: receptor structure, transmembrane signaling, regulation of gene expression and mechanism of anticancer action.

R


top | B  C  D  F  G  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  W  Y  Z

Mary Relling, Pharm.D. icon Profile
Member and Chair
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
mary.relling@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Pharmacogenetics of antileukemic agents; Drug-induced cancers.

Martine Roussel, Ph.D. icon Profile
Member
Department of Genetics
martine.roussel@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Role of cyclin-dependent kinase inhibitory proteins and tumor suppressors in cell proliferation and cancer.

S


top | B  C  D  F  G  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  W  Y  Z

Erin Schuetz, Ph.D. icon Profile
Member
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
erin.schuetz@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Gene therapy for hematopoietic disorders; Biology of hematopoietic stem cells and ABC transporters.

John Schuetz, Ph.D. icon Profile
Member
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, St. Jude Children's Hospital
john.schuetz@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Role of ABC transporters in response to chemotherapy, Biological function of ABC transporters and Regulation of ABC transporters

Tiffany Seagroves, Ph.D. icon Lab
Track Director and Associate Professor
Department of Pathology
tseagro1@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Breast cancer, metastasis, hypoxia-induced gene expression profiling, role of hypoxia in tumor initiating cells (cancer stem cells); using transgenic mice as pre-clinical models for novel therapeutics testing.

Andrzej Slominski, M.D., Ph.D. icon Profile
Professor
Department of Pathology
aslominski@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Neuroendocrinology of the skin, melanogenesis and melanoma

Beatriz Sosa-Pineda, Ph.D. icon Profile
Associate Member
Department of Genetics
Beatriz.sosa-pineda@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Molecular mechanisms of mammalian pancreas development.

Ted Strom icon Profile
Associate Professor
Department of Pathology, Director, Blood Bank and Hematology Lab
tstrom@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: Gene therapy of Wiskott-Aldrich Syndrome, an x-linked immunodeficiency and thrombocytopenia, using retroviral vectors to gene correct the syndrome in a mouse model.

W


top | B  C  D  F  G  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  W  Y  Z

Zhaohui Wu, M.D., Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Professor
Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
zwu6@uthsc.edu

icon Research Interests: DNA damage responses and gene transcription: NF-kB signaling, genotoxic stress signal transduction, apoptosis and gene regulation in cancer development.

Y


top | B  C  D  F  G  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  W  Y  Z

Jun J. Yang, Ph.D. icon Profile
Assistant Member
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
jun.yang@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Genetic basis of racial differences in response to antileukemic agents; molecular mechanisms of drug resistance; pharmacogenomics of novel agents.

Z


top | B  C  D  F  G  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  W  Y  Z

Gerard Zambetti, Ph.D. icon Profile
Member and Director of Academic Programs in Biomedical Sciences
Associate Director for Training and Education, Cancer Center
Department of Biochemistry
Gerard.zambetti@stjude.org

icon Research Interests: Characterization of the p53 tumor suppressor signaling pathway.

top

Contact Us

Cancer and Developmental Biology

Dr. Tiffany Seagroves
Integrated Biomedical Sciences Program
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Cancer Research Building, Room 262
19 S. Manassas Street
Memphis, TN 38163
Phone: 901-448-5018
Email: IBScancerdev@uthsc.edu

UTHSC Integrated Biomedical Sciences Program's Facebook Page UTHSC Integrated Biomedical Sciences Program's Twitter Page