Memphis Knoxville Chattanooga Nashville

FACULTY SENATE MINUTES (Final)

Virtual Monthly Meeting by Zoom September 14th, 2021

Attendance: 64 (senators, administrators, and faculty)

Attending: Charisse Madlock, Tayebeh Pourmotabbed, Alexandria Wilson, Beth Choby, Catherine Sanders, Cindy Russell, Edwards Park, Erinn Finke, Greg Mancini, Heather Moss, Helmut Steinberg, Hilary Jasmin, Ioannis Dragatsis, Jacqueline Venturin, Jeff Bieber, Jeff Staack, Jeffery Kalmowicz, Jianxiong Jiang, Jillian McCarthy, Karen Derefinko, Kay Strahan, Kim Morris, Kirk Hevener, Kristen Bettin, Kristi Forman, Kwame Torgbe, Laura Reed, Lisa Beasley, Peg Hartig, Maryann Clark, Mathew Davis, Melissa Taylor, Michael Herr, Molly Erickson, Myra Meekins, Nancy Hart, Nawajes Mandal, Nikki Zite, Phyllis Richey, Rachel Barenie, Ramesh Narayanan, Ricketta Clark, Rob Williams, Robert Jean, Sajeesh Kumar, Shaun Rowe, Shaunta Chamberlin, Shelley White-Means, Stephen Pishko, Steven Doettl, Ted Cory, Terri Cooper, Tim Williams, Tony Marion, Tracy McClinton, Wen Lin Sun, Yanhui Zhang, Zheng Fan, and 6 participants on phones

Meeting called to order at 4:00 pm CST/5:00 pm EST

Chancellor opening the senate:

Dr. Pourmotabbed welcomed everyone to the Annual Faculty Meeting and introduced Chancellor Schwab, who opened the meeting.

- The Chancellor thanked the senate for its cooperation over the last five years by driving the research mission, promoting faculty compensation equity, negotiating the response to the COVID-19 pandemic, and supporting infrastructure development.
- The college of medicine has been very successful in diversifying away from Methodist and to Regional One, St. Francis and Baptist. UTHSC will see an expansion of clinical activities this year.
- We need a hospital in which we have a significant stake. That will be the principal focus going forward.
- Most of the COVID-19 relief grants received by UT were for undergraduates, so UTHSC saw only a modest use of them.

Chancellor Schwab was thanked for his report and time, and exited the meeting at 4:11 pm CST/5:11 pm EST.

Business Discussion with Dr. Tayebeh (Fruz) Pourmotabbed, President:

Faculty senate executive members were introduced.

Memphis Knoxville Chattanooga Nashville

Floor opened for discussion of the June 8, 2021, meeting minutes. It was noted that on the 1st page, the Mooney building was incorrectly spelled. Following an accepted request to update the building name, Dr. Hartig motioned for acceptance of the minutes, which was seconded by Dr. Row. Minutes passed with 98% (52) "yes", 0% "no," and 2% (1) "abstain."

The senate president went over the responsibilities and duties of each committee highlighting changes made during the 2021 Annual FSEC Retreat.

- Research Committee: Following no discussion, Dr. McClinton moved to approve the Research Committee goals and Dr. White-Means seconded. The goals were approved with 96% (49) "yes", 0% "no," and 2% (1) "abstain."
- Budget & Benefits Committee: A change was suggested for the Budget & Benefits Committee goals to change explore to explore and report in the last goal. The updated goal reads together with the Research Committee, explore and report how F&As are distributed throughout the campus. Dr. Saack moved to approve the goals including the update. Dr. Richey seconded. The goals were approved with 94% (46) "yes", 0% "no," and 6% (3) "abstain."
- Education Committee: Following no discussion, Dr. Cooper moved to approve the Education Committee goals and Dr. Hartig seconded. The goals were approved with 96% (49) "yes", 0% "no," and 2% (1) "abstain."
- Clinical Affairs Committee. Senators discussed the last goal of this committee, Chair of Clinical Affairs attends the Dean's Faculty Advisory Committee (DFAC). The discussion concerned a request for committee representation at the DFAC equivalent for each college. Dr. Pourmotabbed moved to remove the goal and to have this issue discussed at the next FSEC & Chairs meeting. Dr. Richey seconded. This motion was approved with 89% (40) "yes", 2% (1) "no," and 9% (4) "abstain." Dr. Cooper moved to approve the committee goals. Dr. Hartig seconded. The goals were approved with 90% (40) "yes", 0% "no," and 5% (2) "abstain."
- Faculty Affairs Committee: Following no discussion, Dr. Cooper moved to approve the Faculty Affairs Committee goals and Dr. Rowe seconded. The goals were approved with 93% (41) "yes", 0% "no," and 7% (3) "abstain."
- Computing & Technology Committee: Following no discussion, Dr.
 McClinton moved to approve the Computing and Technology Committee
 goals and Dr. Hartig seconded. The goals were approved with 98% (41)
 "yes", 0% "no," and 2% (1) "abstain."
- Handbook Committee: Following no discussion, Dr. Cooper moved to approve the Handbook Committee goals and Dr. Hartig seconded. The goals were approved with 98% (39) "yes", 0% "no," and 3% (1) "abstain."
- Faculty Communications Committee: Following no discussion, Dr. Cooper moved to approve the Faculty Communications Committee goals and Dr. Hartig seconded. The goals were approved with 95% (38) "yes", 0% "no," and 5% (2) "abstain."

- Non-tenure Track Committee: It was noted that Kristi Forman should be asked to be ex-officio of the Non-tenure Track Committee. Following no discussion, Dr. McClinton moved to approve the Non-tenure Track Committee goals and Dr. Rowe seconded. The goals were approved with 92% (35) "yes", 0% "no," and 8% (3) "abstain."
- Legislative Committee: Following no discussion, Dr. Pourmotabbed moved to approve the Legislative Committee goals and Dr. Madlock seconded. The goals were approved with 92% (34) "yes", 0% "no," and 8% (3) "abstain."

Purpose and history of Faculty Senate with Vice Chancellor of Faculty affair Dr. Cindy Russell:

 Given the time, Dr. Russell suggested doing a recording of her presentation and having a Q&A at the next meeting. Her suggestion was accepted by the senate president.

New Announcements:

- Upcoming Faculty Senate Meetings:
 - o October 12, 2021 at 4:00 pm cst/5:00 pm est.
 - November 9, 2021 at 4:00 pm cst/5:00 pm est.

There being no other business, the meeting adjourned at 5:03 pm CST/6:03 pm EST.

Respectfully Submitted,

Charisse Madlock, PhD, MLS

Faculty Senate Secretary