

FACULTY SENATE Virtual Meeting by Zoom June 9, 2020 4:00 PM Annual Business Meeting

Recording available:

 $https://tennessee.zoom.us/rec/share/48ooALvP501OAc_2X7BWY8oLqDdaaa8hnRIrPReyRkwbU-NJmjtXBkEqjdID7-M$

Zoom: H. Aziz, B. Choby, M. Clark, R. Clark, S.Clark, Cook, G., M. Donaldson, L. Gonzalez, D. Hamilton, A. Harkrider, M. Hartig, C. Harvey, M. Herr, K. Hevener, K. Hohmeier, J. Jiang, H. Jasmin, P. Koltnow, R. Krishnan, S. Lancaster, J. Langford, S. Little, C. Madlock-Brown, N. Mandal, J. McCarthy-Maeder, T. McClinton, M. Miles, M. Mulligan, E. Murray, R. Narayanan, E. Park, F. Park, T. Pourmotabbed L. Reed, S. Rhoads, P. Richey, C. Russell, J. Sharp, S. Sittnick, R. Smith, C. Spivey, K.Strahan, F. Thomas, J. Venturin, S. White-Means, T. Wilson, L. Wu.

Absent: V. Abhyanker, P. Albin, L. Albritton, Alemzadeh, K. Bettin, S. Bohn, W. Callahan, W. Claro-Woodruff J. Clemmons, D. Colvert, Cooper, L., Cooper, T., Cory, M W. Dabb, A. Diaz-Thomas, T., Doetti, M. Donohoe, I. Dragatasis, N. Dyer, T. ElAbiad, M. Erickson, M. Fan, P. Fischer, Fought, R. Galvan, G. Goodin, O. Grandas, L. Grese, B. Hamilton, J. Haulsden, P. Head, A. Hill, M. Hoffman, V. Jain, R. Jean, J. Jones, V. Jones, V. Joshi, D. Kadaria, D., J. Kennedy, , L. King, M. Land, C. Ledbetter, Y. Levine, S. Li, J. Lowder, M. Mayefsky, T. Marion, E. McCoy, M. Meekin, J. Mohamed, M. McDonald, M. Mulligan, T. Nelson, T. Nowak, D. Pattaniaik, L. Pfeffer, R. Philip, A. Pinckney, W. Pledger, R. Rao, S. Rowe, Scarbez, R. Scroggs, N. Shafi, A. Sheyn, O. Siddiqui, Steinberg, Storgion, W.Sun, W. Surbrook, C. Tombazzi, K. Torgbe, K. Upadhyay, J. Vanatta, S. Whalen, R. Williams, H. Yazdi, N. Yedlapati, A. Zachary, Y. Zhang.

Meeting called to order at 16:03 hours CST

- I. Approval of Minutes: Poll will be sent out for vote on minutes for May. Voting results 37 votes recorded. 100 % approved minutes without change. Minutes approved unaninously.
- II. Annual Report of the Faculty Senate President Hartig:
 Faculty Senate Activities 2019-2020 included review of Senate Committees, New
 Faculty Orientation, Campus Strategic Planning, and the UTHSC Advisory Board. Also
 addressed this year was the Post-Tenure Review process, representation and participation
 in the University Faculty Senates (UFC), Tennessee University Faculty Senates (TUFS),
 as well as the interview process for President Randy Boyd.

III. New Business

• Election of President-elect and Secretary: The following candidates were presented for vote by the senate.

President -elect: Dr. Tayebeh Pourmotabbed. 50 (96%)

Other 2 (4%)

Secretary: Dr. Jillian McCarthy-Maeder 27 (52%)

Dr. Charisse Madlock-Brown 23 (48%)

- Presidential Citations were presented to
 - Mrs. Sally Badoud,
 - Dr. Tom Laughner
 - Mr. Dan Harder
- Certificate of Appreciation were presented to the following people that keep the senate and AFSA moving.
 - Lisa Zeigler
 - Keedra Harris
 - Tim Florence
- Finalists for the Senator of the Year are:
 - Dr. Kirk Hevener
 - Dr. Nawajes Mandal
 - Dr. Jillian McCarthy-Maeder
- Faculty Senator of the Year Award: The following senator is presented for vote by the general senate:

Dr. Laura Reed Yea 42 (86%)

No 7 (14%)

• Administrator of the Year Award: Dean Scott Strome is presented for vote by the general senate:

Yea 40 (90%)

No 5 (10%)

• Transformational Leadership Award: Dean Jame Ragain is presented for vote by the general senate:

Yea 41 (92%)

No. 4 (8%)

- Recognition of Service Award: This award is present to Dr. George Cook for his contribution to the faculty senate on many levels. He has been involved for many years in making sure the senate is well run and well represented.
- IV. Unfinished Business: None

V. Announcements

- Please let Dr. Hartig know of any suggestions/changes for future senate meetings and committees.
- All new senators should go to the Faculty Senate website and review the list of available committees. Please let the President and Secretary know of your choices.
- All returning senators should also review the committee lists and identify a committee to participate in.
- Plans for a FSEC retreat in late July/August.

VI. Committee Reports: Please send committee reports to Dr. Hartig

Next Faculty Senate Meeting will be on September 8, 2020 4 PM

There being no other business, the meeting adjourned at 16:45 PM CST

Respectfully Submitted,

Laura Reed, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC

Faculty Senate Secretary