Minutes Faculty Senate Meeting April 10, 2018 4PM GEB A204

Meeting Recording:

https://mediaserver.uthsc.edu/uthscms/Catalog/catalogs/tflorence-2018

*Present: (21) William Callahan, Beth Choby, James Christian, George Cook, Terry Cooper, Martin Donaldson, Ioannis Dragatsis, Jami Flick, Bruce Hamilton, Peg Hartig, Penny Head, Uzoma Ibeguogu, Jennifer Langford, Tim Self, Nadeem Shafi, Wen Lin Sun, Fridtjof Thomas, Richard Williams, Thad Wilson, Jie Zhang, Yanhui Zhang

*sign in sheets were incomplete for last names J-R, please email <u>jwelch30@uthsc.edu</u> if your name should be listed but is not.

Via Zoom: (12) John Boughter, Jami Brown, Ricketta Clark, Oscar Grandas, Ellen Hamby, Kenneth Hohmeier, Csaba Kovesdy, Tracy McClinton, Laura Reed, Shaun Rowe, Tim Saltuklaroglu, Helmut Steinberg

Administration: Lori Gonzalez, Cindy Russell

Guest Speaker: Allen Dupont, Comments on upcoming Upward Evaluation He has made improvements to the survey based on feedback from last year, but there are some limitations imposed by the software, so it will be very similar to last year's. It is confidential, not anonymous. If a department gets 5 or less responses, the chair will not get the data. The more people who participate, the better, and the more seriously it will be taken. Allen will come to department meetings to discuss it further if requested.

- 1. Call to order/Approval of agenda 4:09
- 2. Minutes of the March 13 Faculty Senate meeting were approved unanimously.
- 3. Committee reports
 - a. Handbook Committee Terry Cooper
 There are 2 items awaiting approval from the Chancellor's office.
 The committee is currently working on the external letters for promotion language, which is in its 5th draft and will be ready soon for FAWG and FSEC, then the full Senate.

b. University Faculty Council (UFC), Terry Cooper, Phyllis Richey, & Martin Donaldson- UFC met during the March BOT meeting; policy changes and the BOT restructure were the main topics.

4. Old Business

- a. Update on Focus Act 2018 Terry Cooper
- b. Update on EPPR and PPPR Terry Cooper The slides from these updates are appended to these minutes.

5. New Business

a. Training of new senators – Martin Donaldson
We will begin having a training session rather than just distributing a
packet of information. Please see Martin if you would like to be
involved.

b. Gubernatorial Debate – Martin Donaldson The event has the support of campus administration. If possible, it might be more to our advantage to do it before the primaries.

6. Announcements

- a. Election of senators in colleges are in progress- George Cook
- i. COD Jay Regain/Martin Donaldson
- ii. COHP Carol Likens
- iii. COM Terry Cooper/Mack Land
- iv. CON Peg Hartig
- v. COP Frank Park
- b. Notes on Curriculum Lori Gonzalez

We need to adhere to federal guidelines regarding credit hours, as well as SACS standards. We have to do something to make sure we are following regulations, especially with the new Sim Center. AFSA is looking for processes that will meet our needs and open up discussions to solve the problems involved in meeting those guidelines.

7. Next Meeting – May 8, 2018

The meeting was adjourned at 4:49PM.

Respectfully submitted, Jennifer M. Langford Faculty Senate Secretary

The governor's appointees are as follows:

All appointees to be approved by TN House and Senate and take office 7-1-18

- •John Compton, former President of PepsiCo and current partner with Clayton, Dubilier & Rice
- •Kara Lawson, former Lady Vol and current basketball television analyst for ESPN and the Washington Wizards
- Donnie Smith, former President and Chief Executive Officer of Tyson Foods
- Sharon Pryse, Chief Executive Officer and Founder of The Trust Company
- •Kim White, President and Chief Executive Officer of River City Company
- •Bill Rhodes, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of AutoZone
- •Melvin Malone, former Special Tennessee Supreme Court Justice and current practice group leader with Butler Snow LLP
- •Bill Evans, former Director and Chief Executive Officer of St. Jude Children's Research Hospital
- •Raja Jubran, Chief Executive Officer of Denark Construction
- •Brad Lampley, former Tennessee Volunteers football player and current partner in charge of the Nashville office of Adams and Reese, LLP
- •Non-voting members: Commissioner of Agriculture and UT student
- •Voting UT student and UT faculty member on the Academic Affairs and Student Success Subcommittee

Campus Advisory Boards

Knoxville; Martin; Chattanooga; & Health Science Center.

Board consists of:

- (a) 5 members appointed by?
- (b) 1 faculty member, chosen by Faculty Senate or equivalent
- (c) 1 student member chosen as directed by Advisory Board
 - 3 must be alumni of the respective UT institution
 - 1 must be a resident of the county where UT institution is located
 - 3 must be state residents

Policies and Handbook Revisions Passed by the Board of Trustees

- 1. BOT makes decision on tenure for (1) University Officers, (2) any faculty member to be granted tenure upon initial appointment without serving probationary period, (3) faculty member to be tenured after serving less than a 6-year probationary period.
- 2. President makes decision on tenure in all other cases.
- **3.** Faculty at rank of instructor are eligible for tenure consideration.
- **4.** Expedited tenure (tenure upon initial appointment) requires Board approval; will be granted only if: **(1)** proposed appointee holds tenure at another higher ed institution and the Board determines the President has documented the proposed appointee cannot be successfully recruited to the University without being granted tenure upon initial appointment OR **(2)** the Board determines the President has documented other exceptional circumstances warranting the grant of tenure upon initial appointment.
- 5. Probationary periods can be suspended if a faculty member receives a modified duties assignment.
- **6.** Freedom of Speech Policy and Policies Governing Academic Freedom, Responsibility & Tenure revised.
- 7. EPPR Policies revised 22 of 29 UTHSC Senate suggested revisions accepted. Your Senate can make a difference.
- 8. UTHSC Handbook All voting for faculty promotion, tenure, and termination must be by anonymous balloting.

New Requirements Directed by Board of Trustees Action

- 1. Standard 6-year probationary period for tenure-track faculty. (immedately)
- 2. Campus policies and procedures to govern a faculty member's application for tenure before the 6th year.
- 3. Enhanced Tenure-Track Review (ETTR) in 3rd or 4th year of the probationary period. (7-1-18)
- **4.** New minimum components of tenure review:
 - (a) external reviews of all tenure candidates
 - (b) peer review of teaching. (Due 6-22-18) (effective 2019 tenure review cycle).
- **5.** Departmental criteria for tenure. (2019 tenure review cycle).
- 6. Periodic comprehensive review of all tenured faculty no less often than every 6 years. (11-2-18)