Health Science Center

FACULTY SENATE

GEB A204 April 9th, 2019 4:00 PM

Recording available: https://mediaserver.uthsc.edu/uthscms/Catalog/catalogs/tflorence-2019

Present: Kristen Bettin, Bill Callahan III, MaryAnn Clark, Ricketta Clark, George Cook, Terry Cooper, William Dabbs, Martin Donaldson, Mary (Molly) Erickson, Jami Flick, Lori Gonzalez, David Hamilton, Michael Herr II, Kenneth Hohmeier, Uzoma Ibeguogu, Vickie Jones, Roberto Lachica, Jennifer Langford, Chris Ledbetter, Sam Li, Sharon Little, Tao Lowe, Nawajes Mandal, Tracy McClinton, Elisha McCoy, Frank Park, Tayebah (Fruz) Pourmotabbed, Laura Reed, Phyllis Richey, Cindy Russell, Jackie Sharp, Richard Smith, Christina Spivey, Helmut Steinburg, Fridtjof Thomas, Kwame Torgbe, Jacqueline Venturin, Wes Williamson, Thad Wilson, &Yanhui Zhang.

Absent: Shiva Bohn, Jami Brown, Beth Choby, Shawna Clark, Wanda Claro-Woodruff, Dawson Colvert, Cathy Crill, Alicia Diaz-Thomas, Ioannis Dragatsis, Tammam ElAbiad, Meiyun Fan, Peter Fischer, Amado Freier, Oscar Grandas, Bruce Hamilton, Peg Hartig, Carrie Harvey, Penny Head, Colin Howden, Vinay Jain, Robert Jean, Jerry Jones Jr., Vijay Joshi, Rajesh Kabra, Rafal Kedzierski, James W. Kennedy, PJ Koltnow, Csaba Kovesdy, Ramesh Krishnan, Aneel Kumar, Sajeesh Kumar, Santosh Kumar, Mack Land, Roberto Levi-D'Ancona, Carol Likens, Morgan Lisner, Jillian McCarthy Maeder, Mike McDonald, Myra Meekins, Linda Moses-Simmons, Megan Mulligan, Dayna Myers, Edwards Park, Debendra Pattanaik, Jeff Phebus, Ranjit Philip, James (Will) Pledger III, R.K. Rao, Shaun Rowe, Reese Scroggs, Nadeem Shafi, Anthony Sheyn, Charlie Snyder, Wen Lin Sun, Michelle Surbrook, Jeffery Towbin, Kirtikumar Upadhyay, Jason Vanatta, Gregory Vidal, & Regan Williams.

Meeting called to order at 1600 hours CST.

I. Approval of Minutes

Minutes for the March 12, 2019 meeting were approved unanimously.

II. Announcements

- A. Report UT System Faculty Council (UFC) Phyllis Richey
 - a. State of the System address March 14th Tennessee Promise announced.
 - b. Local boards have met and provided suggestions to President about administration training needed for cultural competency, implicit bias, and institutionalized racism. Discussion as to whether Chairs receive training on these areas as well. QEP for social determinants of health being implemented at UTHSC.
 - c. UFC providing feedback on the new EPPR and PTR process.

- d. Advocating for reinstatement of a voting faculty member on the Board of Trustees and revisions to the UT FOCUS Act language to include faculty representation with voting rights.
- B. Report Tennessee University Faculty Senates Martin Donaldson
 - a. Goal to facilitate communication among the Faculty Senates at each institution.
 - b. Hosted at MTSU in Murfreesboro. Highlights: Sex Week; voting on campus and designating polling sites on campus; and new lobbying processes for universities.
 - c. David Mills is the governmental representative/liaison on campus and should be contacted for questions about legislation.
- C. Report on the UTHSC Campus Advisory Board Terry Cooper
 - a. Introduction to the Advisory Board
 - b. Adoption of bylaws; Election of Chair of the Advisory Board Phil Wenk; Secretary elected – Tony Ferrara; Initial Student Member appointed – Anna Evans; setting future meeting dates; potential agenda items for future meetings; and state of the Health Science Orientation. Discussion around budget, which will be approved during the June meeting. These are open meetings and faculty are welcome to attend and review materials (i.e. minutes) from the meetings.

Action taken: None taken.

III. New Business

- A. Faculty Senate Elections
 - Submit new Senator information by April 30th. New Senator terms begin July 1st. Only current Senators can vote for Executive Council members.
- B. College of Medicine Senators from Chattanooga and Knoxville
 - Faculty Handbook Committee working on language changes to add more Senators for COM in Chattanooga and Knoxville. Discussion on preferences of Chattanooga and Knoxville and recommendations for language development.

Action taken: FSEC and the Faculty Handbook Committee will continue to work on developing appropriate language.

- C. Report on Faculty Feedback Action (FFA)
 - The FFA has been distributed so please use the URL link and participate. The survey is anonymous.
 - Request for Division Chairs to be added to the FFA. Due to demands from SAC accreditation, the survey was streamlined, and Division Chairs are not on it this year. Next year more administrators will be added.

Action taken: As Senators, please promote the FFA among your colleges for maximum participation and provide feedback.

- D. Anonymous voting for Faculty Senate
 - College of Medicine tried QuestionPro and clickers during their recent meeting, but the system did not work.

- Concerns raised about free software and whether that will be an expense one day.
- E. Additional nominations for Faculty Senator of the Year and Administrator of the Year
 - Bill Callahan III nominated for Faculty Senator of the Year.

Action taken: Added to the voting roster.

F. Voting for Faculty Senator of the Year and Administrator of the Year

Faculty Senator of the Year

Voting results: 18 for Jami Flick and 7 for Bill Callahan. Jami Flick awarded Senator of the Year award.

Administrator of the Year

Voting results: 19 for Dr. Lori Gonzalez and 4 for Associate Dean Susan Brewer. Dr. Lori Gonzalez awarded Administrator of the Year.

- G. Report on new Standing Committee on Non-tenure Track Faculty Bill Callahan
- Working on proposing recommendations for the Faculty Handbook Committee to consider multi-year appointments. Discussion on the varying needs of colleges and finding a compromise.

Action taken: Committee will meet tomorrow and continue to work on developing proposal.

- H. Additional committee reports
- Research committee Concerns voiced about Animal Protocols and the process is tedious for researchers. New system, iMetrics will house the new protocols. Forming an intramural grant review group that will serve for 3 years. Faculty Retention Survey and will hopefully be distributed in May.

Action taken: Committee will continue to work on issues listed above.

- Old Business None.
- Next full Faculty Senate meeting: May 7, 2019 from 4-5 p.m. in GEB A204.

There being no other business, the meeting was adjourned at 1702 hours CST.

Respectfully submitted,

Jami E. Flick, MS, OTR/L

Faculty Senate Secretary