

FACULTY SENATE

Link Building Auditorium February 12th, 2019 4:00 PM

Recording available: https://mediaserver.uthsc.edu/uthscms/Catalog/catalogs/tflorence-2018

Present: Shiva Bohn, Kristen Bettin, Beth Choby, MaryAnn Clark, Ricketta Clark, Shawna Clark, George Cook, Terry Cooper, Alicia Diaz-Thomas, Martin Donaldson, Ioannis Dragatsis, Mary (Molly) Erickson, Meiyun Fan, Peter Fischer, Jami Flick, Lori Gonzalez, Peg Hartig, Carrie Harvey, Penny Head, Michael Herr II, Kenneth Hohmeier, Vickie Jones, PJ Koltnow, Csaba Kovesdy, Ramesh Krishnan, Jennifer Langford, Sam Li, Carol Likens, Tao Lowe, Nawajes Mandal, Jillian McCarthy Maeder, Tracy McClinton, Elisha McCoy, Myra Meekins, Tayebah (Fruz) Pourmotabbed, Laura Reed, Phyllis Richey, Cindy Russell, Reese Scroggs, Nadeem Shafi, Jackie Sharp, Christina Spivey, Helmut Steinburg, Wen Lin Sun, Michelle Surbrook, Fridtjof Thomas, Kwame Torgbe, Jacqueline Venturin, Wes Williamson, Thad Wilson, .

Absent: Jami Brown, Bill Callahan III, Wanda Claro-Woodruff, Dawson Colvert, Cathy Crill, William Dabbs, Tammam ElAbiad, Amado Freier, Oscar Grandas, Bruce Hamilton, David Hamilton, Colin Howden, Uzoma Ibeguogu, Vinay Jain, Robert Jean, Jerry Jones Jr., Vijay Joshi, Rajesh Kabra, Rafal Kedzierski, James W. Kennedy, Aneel Kumar, Sajeesh Kumar, Santosh Kumar, Roberto Lachica, Mack Land, Chris Ledbetter, Roberto Levi-D'Ancona, Morgan Lisner, Sharon Little, Mike McDonald, Linda Moses-Simmons, Megan Mulligan, Dayna Myers, Edwards Park, Frank Park, Debendra Pattanaik, Jeff Phebus, Ranjit Philip, James (Will) Pledger III, R.K. Rao, Shaun Rowe, Anthony Sheyn, Richard Smith, Jeffery Towbin, Kirtikumar Upadhyay, Jason Vanatta, Gregory Vidal, Regan Williams, and Yanhui Zhang.

Meeting called to order at 1602 hours CST.

A. Approval of Minutes

Minutes for the January 8, 2019 meeting were approved unanimously. Minutes for the January 29, 2019 meeting were approved unanimously.

B. New Business - Open Forum

Discussion*:

• Non-tenure track – Discussed challenges limited 1-year appointments for nontenure track faculty (e.g. difficulty with recruitment and retention), as well as logistical concerns with annual reviews and salary negotiations. Compared advantages and disadvantages of a 1-year appointment with multi-year appointments. UT Knoxville currently offers multi-year appointments for nontenure track faculty.

- Action taken: Discussion points will be shared with the Sub-Committee for Non-Tenure Track faculty.
- Levels of evaluation UTHSC currently uses 4 levels of ratings on the annual review of faculty performance. A brief history of the rating levels was discussed. Cindy Russell pointed to the UTHSC Factbook which gives results of evaluations for the past few years. There were very few who received less than meets expectations. Debated benefits and limitations of the 4 versus 5 rating tiers for the performance review. Concerns raised about inflated reviews, if and how the change in ratings will impact salary increases, and whether colleges can stay comparable in how the 4 vs. 5 rating levels are implemented. Recommendations that clear definitions are needed to differentiate a 4 and 5 level rating. Discussed UT Knoxville's efforts to pilot test the review form with 5 rating levels. Complements were given to the administration for their efforts in training Deans and Chairs on best practice with faculty evaluations.
 - Action plan: In response to Senate request, Administration will provide college-level data to assess consistency of tier use across colleges.
- Onboarding requirements for clinical faculty members Proposed a centralized onboarding database or platform to streamline the process for clinical faculty who work at multiple healthcare institutions.
 - Action taken: Clinical Committee charged with overseeing the issue with onboarding for clinical faculty members. Recommendation to contact free-standing academic centers that do not own their hospitals and review peer institutions to see how they have handled this issue. New Vice Chancellor of Clinical Affairs should be consulted.
- Ombudsman to handle faculty grievances Discussed advantages and disadvantages, such as a neutral party for mediating conflicts, reducing bias in the process, addressing power differentials, and potentially improving standards for accreditation. Previously, the Senate passed two resolutions supporting an Ombudsperson, but implementation of an ombudsperson has not happened.
 - Action plan: Faculty Affairs Committee charged with overseeing a
 proposal for an Ombudsman. Recommendation to focus on providing
 metrics, clearly outline the advantages and disadvantages (e.g. positive
 climate, transparency, cost-benefit analysis). In addition, Faculty Affairs
 Committee is encouraged to collaborate with faculty organizations at each
 college to champion an Ombudsperson program.

*Please view the Mediasite recording for the full discussion.

- Old Business Senator(s) expressed a desire for refreshments (i.e. coffee, cookies). Action taken: Refreshments will not be provided for the 2018-2019 Faculty Senate year.
- Next full Faculty Senate meeting: March 12, 2019 from 4-5 p.m. in GEB A204.

There being no other business, the meeting was adjourned at 1701 hours CST.

Respectfully submitted, Jami E. Flick, MS, OTR/L Faculty Senate Secretary