## Minutes of the January 2018 Faculty Senate Meeting

January 9, 2018 GEB A204, 4:00 PM

## **Recording:**

https://mediaserver.uthsc.edu/uthscms/Play/9799120d2e5640bd871cad2df4d38 8c61d?catalog=283793f9-234c-42db-bdf5-52b0ef554cf3

**Present:** (31) William Callahan III, James Christian, Ricketta Clark, Dawson Colvert, Terry Cooper, Jami Flick, Bruce Hamilton, Peg Hartig, Rod Hori, Vinay Jain, Vickie Jones, Vijay Joshi, Jennifer Langford, Chris Ledbetter, Carol Likens, Tao Lowe, Nawajes Mandal, Dayna Myers, Frank Park, Jay Ragain, Laura Reed, Phyllis Richey, Duane Schafer, Tim Self, Nadeem Shafi, Christina Spivey, Wen Lin Sun, Regan Williams, Richard Williams, Wes Williamson, Yanhui Zhang

**Via Zoom:** (11) John Boughter, Bill Dabbs, Mohamad Elabiad, Ellen Hamby, Colleen Hastings, Kenneth Hohmeier, Csaba Kovesdy, Sajeesh Kumar, Elisha McCoy, Helmut Steinberg, Thad Wilson

Administration: MaryAnn Clark, Cindy Russell, Lori Gonzalez

**Guest Speakers:** Lori Gonzalez and Cindy Russell – Discussion of Digital Measures

**Call to Order**: 4:13PM Terry Cooper presided over the meeting for Martin Donaldson.

Minutes of the December 12, 2017 meeting were approved unanimously.

Committee Reports:

Handbook committee – Terry Cooper

The following motion to edit the handbook to change the word "taken" to "cast" was carried. The vote was taken by hand without a count.

Motion: NEW PROPOSED EDIT (the edit is in bold): The bylaws shall also provide for the manner of taking and recording a formal vote of the tenured faculty on whether the candidate should be recommended for tenure and shall establish the minimum number of votes necessary to constitute a positive recommendation. The vote shall be **cast** anonymously.

Announcements:

Status of the University of Memphis resolution on retirement benefits voted on at the December meeting: more information is needed for the senate to take action in regard to a resolution or position on this issue. The UT system CFO will explain the issue, per Martin's request (if he agrees).

The meeting was adjourned at 4:34PM.

Respectfully submitted, Jennifer M. Langford Faculty Senate Secretary