

Faculty Senate faculty@uthsc.edu

FACULTY SENATE MINUTES

UTHSC Faculty Senate Meeting

Zoom Monthly Meeting September 12, 2023

Attendance: (senators, administrators, and faculty)

Attending: Jillian McCarthy, Tayebeh Pourmotabbed, Karen Derefinko, PJ Koltnow, Shelley White-Means, X. Frank Zhao, Christopher Brett, Javc Sedlmayr, Ayman Abdul H Aldayeh, Karine Guerrier, LaToya Green, Michelle Lynn Abramovitz, Phyllis Richey, Brett Wilson, Terrance Cooper, Kimberly Morris, Kevin Freeman, Rajashekhar Gangaraju, Ronald Rafael Espinal, Blake Moore, Laxmichaya Sawant, Mary Erickson, Hitesh S Sandhu, Robert Hatfield, Leo Lamsen, Donna Lynch-Smith, Lauren Arnold Bell, Sanjay Mohan, James M. Lewis, Tanaz Vaghaiwalla, Vickie Baselski, Jill Maples, Maria Tirado, Tyler Melton, Barry Dale, Alina Cernasev, Harry T Cosby, Imran Quraishi, Myra M Meekins, Christian Criswell, Ranjit Philip, Laura Enomoto, Erinn Finke, David W Petersen, Carrie Harvey, Fatima Ahmed, Ashton Brooks, Shaunta' Martina Chamberlin, Zheng Fan, Ted Cory, Helmut O Steinberg, Sheila Criswell, Laura T Reed, Rebecca B Reynolds, Ava Saidian, Jess Newman McDonald, Tauheed Ishrat, Kristen Bettin, Maria Carrillo, Carter, Nina K Sublette, Twisha Oza, Vrushali Abhyankar, Thaddeus Wilson, Chris Wood, Scott Hollis, Steven Doettl, Jeffry Bieber, Hassan Almoazen, April Hilsdon, Rachel Barenie, Jaqueline D Venturin, Hitesh Sandhu, Yanhui Zhang, Jeff Kalmowicz, Valarie Fleming, Wen Lin Sun, Lisa Beasley, Anne Zachry, Chalet Tan, Jason A Yaun, Stephen Pishko, Heather Moss, Tim Florence, Laurentia Nodit, Fuming Zhou, Dan Young, Cynthia Russell, Peter Buckley.

Meeting was called to order at 4:00 pm CST/5:00 pm EST



Faculty Senate Meeting

Presiding: Mr. Paul J. Koltnow, President

Opening of the Senate by Chancellor Buckley

- Last year had many changes
 - Focus on statewide presence
 - Now have the opportunity to tell a story and have a direction
 - Time to upgrade marketing
- Email forthcoming about leadership reorganization
 - o Executive Vice Chancellor Raaj Kurapati
 - Vice Chancellor for Communications and Marketing Sally Badoud will work directly as a part of the leadership team
 - Vice Chancellor Paul Weslowski works closely with Executive Vice Chancellor Raaj Kurapati
 - Working to build collaboration and cohesion
 - Campus leaders are meeting October 27th
 - Recruitment for Vice Chancellor for Research
- Students have returned
 - Focus on creating vibrancy as a statewide entity
 - Healthy Tennesseans, thriving communities
- Questions
 - Are we getting a hospital for post graduate education, could this be Regional One?
 - Chancellor Buckley stated that consultants advised that our own hospital is too expensive: \$2.5 billion
 - Work instead on expanding partnerships
 - Unlikely to purchase any hospital
 - o Non-Tenure Track multi-year contracts
 - Is now official university policy
 - o Levels of leadership on the statewide retreat
 - The Cabinet, the Faculty Senate President, Vice Chancellor Cynthia Russell, Executive Vice



Faculty Senate faculty@uthsc.edu

Chancellor Raaj Kurapati, Vice Chancellor Paul Weslowski and some alumni

- Plough Center
 - We do not yet have a roadmap, there is no answer yet

Introduction of Senate Officers

- Mr. Paul J. Koltonow, President
- Dr. Jillian MCCarthy, Past President
- Dr. Karen Derefinko, Secretary
- Dr. Tracy McClinton, President Elect

Approval of June 13th, 2023 minutes

- The floor was opened for discussion of the June 13th, 2023 meeting minutes. No edits were recommended. Dr. Lynch-Smith motioned to accept the minutes as written. Motion was seconded by Dr. Cooper.
- Brief instructions about how to use Poll Everywhere.
 - Poll Everywhere vote:
 - Accept: 98% (55/56)
 - Do not accept: 0% (0/56)
 - Abstain: 2% (1/56)

Welcome New Senators

• This is an outstanding year in terms of numbers of senators

Faculty Senate Orientation

- Most questions can be answered on the website
- <u>www.uthsc.edu/facultysenate/</u>
- Participate
- 3 year term
- Absence from 3 consecutive meetings without appointing substitute may be removed from Senate
- Serve on a Committee

Typical Meeting Structure

- Vote on minutes
- Speaker
- Committee Updates



- New business
- Adjourn

Presentation on Committee Memberships and Goals for the Upcoming Year

- Research Committee reviewed goals, responsibility, and members
 - Vote to approve goals
 - Poll Everywhere vote:
 - Accept: 100% 51/51)
 - Do not accept: 0% (0/51)
 - Abstain: 0% (0/51)
- Budget and Benefits Committee reviewed goals, responsibility, and members
 - Vote to approve goals
 - Poll Everywhere vote:
 - Accept: 98% (49/50)
 - Do not accept: 0% (0/50)
 - Abstain: 2% (1/50)
- Education Committee reviewed goals, responsibility, and members
 - \circ Vote to approve goals
 - Poll Everywhere vote:
 - Accept: 100% (51/51)
 - Do not accept: 0% (0/51)
 - Abstain: 0% (0/51)
- Clinical Affairs Committee reviewed goals, responsibility, and members
 - Vote to approve goals
 - Poll Everywhere vote:
 - Accept: 100% (54/54)
 - Do not accept: 0% (0/54)
 - Abstain: 0% (0/54)
- Faculty Affairs Committee reviewed goals, responsibility, and members
 - Vote to approve goals
 - Poll Everywhere vote:



- Accept: 100% (53/53)
- Do not accept: 0% (0/53)
- Abstain: 0% (0/53)
- Computing, Technology, and Faculty Communications Committee reviewed goals, responsibility, and members
 - Vote to approve goals
 - Poll Everywhere vote:
 - Accept: 100% (53/53)
 - Do not accept: 0% (0/53)
 - Abstain: 0% (0/53)
- Handbook Committee reviewed goals, responsibility, and members
 - Vote to approve goals
 - Poll Everywhere vote:
 - Accept: 100% (52/52)
 - Do not accept: 0% (0/52)
 - Abstain: 0% (0/52)
- Non-Tenure Track Committee reviewed goals, responsibility, and members
 - Vote to approve goals
 - Poll Everywhere vote:
 - Accept: 100% (48/48)
 - Do not accept: 0% (0/48)
 - Abstain: 0% (0/48)
- Legislative Resources Committee reviewed goals, responsibility, and members
 - Vote to approve goals
 - Poll Everywhere vote:
 - Accept: 100% (50/50)
 - Do not accept: 0% (0/50)
 - Abstain: 0% (0/50)

New Business

- Request to read the consultant plan for not having our own hospital
 - Even if only recommendation and rationale
 - President Koltnow will bring this up with the Chancellor



• Parliamentarian needs to be appointed by President of Senate Meeting Wrap Up and Closing with Mr. Paul J. Koltnow, President

Dr. Helmut Steinberg moved to adjourn. Dr. Yanhui Zhang seconded. The meeting was adjourned at 4:59pm CST/5:59 pm EST.

Respectfully Submitted, Dr. Karen Derefinko Faculty Senate Secretary