FACULTY SENATE MINUTES

UTHSC Faculty Senate Meeting

Zoom Monthly Meeting June 13, 2023

Attendance: (senators, administrators, and faculty)

Attending: Jillian McCarthy, Tayebeh Pourmotabbed, Karen Derefinko, PJ Koltnow, Sharon Little, Martin Donaldson, Michelle Lynn Abramovitz, Phyllis Richey, Brett Wilson, Terrance Cooper, Kevin Freeman, Donna Lynch-Smith, Vickie Baselski, Tyler Melton, Alina Cernasev, Vinay Jain, Erinn Finke, David W Petersen, Shaun Rowe, Mark A Lackey, Edwards Park, Fatima Ahmed, Shaunta' Martina Chamberlin, Shelley White-Means, Zheng Fan, Ted Cory, Kristen Bettin, Ricketta Clark, Maria Carrillo, Michelle Miles, Wanda Irene Claro-Woodruff, Kim Carter, Nina K Sublette, Alexandria Q Wilson, Twisha Oza, Frank Park, Vrushali Abhyankar, Thaddeus Wilson, Yi Lu, Chris Wood, Steven Doettl, Jeffry BieberApril Hilsdon, Laura Reed, Rachel Barenie, Elisha McCoy, Jaqueline D Venturin, Yanhui Zhang, Valarie Fleming, Wen Lin Sun, Lisa Beasley, Hilary Jasmin, Stephen Pishko, Heather Moss, Kristi Forman, Tony Ferrara, Lee Weaver, Dan Young, Cynthia Russell, Peter Buckley, Kennard Brown.

Meeting was called to order at 3:30 pm CST/4:30 pm EST

Faculty Senate Meeting

Presiding: Dr. Jillian McCarthy, President

Approval of May 9, 2023 minutes

• The floor was opened for discussion of the May 9, 2023 meeting minutes. No edits were recommended. Dr. Martin Donaldson

motioned to accept the minutes as written. Motion was seconded by Dr. Richard Smith.

- o Poll Everywhere vote:
 - Accept: 98% (46/47)
 - Do not accept: 0% (0/47)
 - Abstain: 2% (1/47)
- Address from Chancellor Peter Buckley
- Election for President-elect and Secretary
 - Secretary:

HEALTH SCIENCE CENTER

- Poll Everywhere vote:
 - 100% (52/52) Dr. Karen Derefinko
- President Elect:
 - Poll Everywhere vote:
 - 100% (55/55) Dr. Tracy McClinton
- University Faculty Council (UFC) representative
 - Poll Everywhere vote:
 - 62% (34/55) Dr. Shelley White Means
 - 38% (21/55) Dr. Tayebeh Pourmotabbed
- **UTHSC Advisory Board**
 - Poll Everywhere vote:
 - 100% (55/55) Dr. Richard Smith
- Annual Faculty Senate Report, Dr. Jillian McCarthy, Faculty Senate President
 - Description of Campus Committees
 - Council on Academic and Student Affairs
 - Dr. Richard Smith was Faculty Senate representative
 - Faculty Affairs Working Group
 - Dr. Shelley White-Means was Faculty Senate representative
 - Faculty Senate Committees
 - Description of all Committees, Chairs, Goals, and Activities for the year
- Senate Award Announcements

- O Administrator of the Year: Chancellor Peter Buckley
- o Presidential Citation:
 - Dr. Yanhui Zhang
 - Dr. Cinthia Russell
- Senator of the Year:
 - Dr. Karen Derefinko
- Certificates of Appreciation:
 - Dr. Kristi Forman
 - Lee Weaver
 - Dan Young
 - Tim Florence
- o Administrator Emeritus:
 - Dr. Kennard Brown
- Installation of new senators
 - Welcome to the new Senators, welcome back to the existing Senators
- Recognition of Dr. Martin Donaldson for his service to the Senate
- Announcement of the new Faculty Senate Executive Committee for 2023-2024
 - o Transition of the Senate Office

The meeting adjourned at 4:56pm CST/5:56 pm EST.

Respectfully Submitted,

Dr. Karen Derefinko Faculty Senate Secretary