Student Organizations and Specialty Interest Groups

When groups of students wish to have a continuous association, intended to last beyond the term of those immediately involved, it is proper that they be required to qualify for and be recognized by the University. All recognized associations should be accorded the same privileges and bound by the same obligations. University recognition does not mean endorsement of the purposes or activities of any association by the faculty or administration. It means only that the association is accepted as meeting the minimum requirements set for all student associations.

Any student group seeking official registration by the University in order to utilize University facilities must
complete and return the following required documents to the Office of Student Life, 800 Madison Avenue, Suite 300, Memphis, TN 38163 or simply by dropping by the office:

  1. Student organization registration request and update form
  2. Responsibilities of faculty advisors to student organizations
  3. A copy of your group's constitution and by-laws

Consult the CenterScope Student Handbook for instructions on how to prepare a constitution or by-laws, or contact the Office of Student Life for assistance. A complete description of the process for the registration of student organizations may be found in the Registration and Conduct of Student Organizations section in the CenterScope Student Handbook.

College of Medicine Officer Position Email Advisor
Aid for the Impaired Medical Student (AIMS)       Dr. Lawrence Madlock
American Medical Association Medical Student Section Raj Budati Chapter President  
  Mike Bright Vice President  
American Medical Student Association (AMSA) David Copeland Co-President Dr. Valerie Arnold
  Cosby Arnold President  
  Hannah Fish Vice President  
Anesthesiology Interest Group Amelia Owens Co-President Dr. Robert Craft
  Jason Johnson Co-President  
  Tyler Jackson Vice President  
Best Buddies Mallory Uekman President Dr. Melissa Hoffmann
  Nikhita Jain Vice President  
Church Health Center Student Liaison Committee    Ryan P. Lee President Jerome W. Thompson
Council on International & Area Outreach (CIAO) Kristie Chang Co-President Dr. Susan Brewer
  Missy Edwards Co-President  
Emergency Medicine Interest Group Neha Bhatnager President Dr. Jim Creel
        Dr. Sadave Mendiratta
Family Medicine Interest Group Mary Jane Dickey President Dr. Sharon Tabachnick
Health Students Teaching Memphis Youth Hannah Fish President Dr. Jeanie Dassow
  Amanda Kull Vice President  
Healthcare Business Student Interest Group Jeremy Brooksbank President Dr. Jerome Thompson
  Rhett Layman Vice President  
  Channing Garber Vice President  
  Anderson Webb Vice President  
Hematology/Oncology St. Interest Group Erick Vick President Dr. Mike Martin
Honor Council Daniel Sharbel
Daniel Wakefield
Andrew Cibulas [VP]
Brett George
    James B. Lewis, MD
Internal Medicine Interest Group Justin Arunthamakun Co-President Dr. James B. Lewis
Medical Spanish Club Danielle Kern Co-President Dr. Alicia Diaz-Thomas
  James Humble Co-President  
  Cathya Olivas Co-President  
  Patty Ojeda Co-President  
Medical Student Executive Council (MSEC) Samantha Polly  President Dr. Susan Brewer
    Vice President    
Ob/Gyn Interest Group Lindsay Morris Co-President Dr. Owen Phillips
    Vice President    
Otolaryngology Interest Group Daniel D. Sharbel Co-Chair Dr.Jerome Thompson
Pathology Student Interest Group   Co-Leader    
  Natalie Guley Co-Leader  
Pediatric Interest Group Elizabeth Altizer President Dr. Mark Bugnitz
  Michael Edwards Vice President  
Phi Chi Fraternity Hannah Lin President Dr. Susan Brewer
  Kwame Nuako Vice President  
Psychiatry Student Interest Group (PsychSign) Noel Diaz Co-Chair Dr. Renate Rosenthal
  Amanda Walker Co-Chair  
Radiology Interest Group of the UTHSC (Elections in the Fall semester) Andrew Cibulas President Dr. Brian Green
  Parker Merritt Vice President  
Street Medicine Interest Group Lauren Braden President Dr. David Hasty
  Emily Thompson Vice President  
Student Committee on Research in Ed. (SCORE) Becky Uhlmann President Dr. Suzanne Satterfield
  Shannon Niedermeyer Vice President  
Student Interest Group in Dermatology Jesalyn Tate President Dr. Robert Skinner
  Beth Lee Vice President Dr. Robert Kaplan
Student Interest Group in Neurology (SIGN) Casey McCormick President Dr. Mervat Wahba
Student Interest Group in Ophthalmology (SIGIO) Rutvi Patel President Dr. Bill Morris
  Eric Sollenberger Vice President  
Student National Medical Association (SNMA) Sammie Searcy President Dr. Gerald Presbury
  Taylor Cravanas Vice President  
Student Orthopaedic Association Wesley Owen President Dr. Karen Hasty
  Eric Villareal Vice President  
Student Surgical Society Travis Sullivan President Dr. Gayle Minard
  Andrew (Drew) Kropilak Vice President  
  Max Ofori Vice President  
Student to Student Grant Muller President Dr. Claudette Shephard
  Matt Grisham  
UT Plastic Surgery Interest Group Grace Cho President Dr. Robert Wallace
  Rebecca Thompson Vice President  
UT Radiation Oncology Student Society Daniel Wakefield President Dr. Michael Farmer
(Elections in the Fall semester) Tyler Verdell Vice President  
UT Student Neurosurgical Society Garrett Venable President Dr. Frederick Boop
  Cody Nesvick Vice President    
UT Students for Preventive Medicine   President   Dr. Susan Brewer
UTHSC Chapter of Physicians for a Diana Alsbrook President Dr Roger LaBonte
    National Health Program Max Ofori Vice President  
UTHSC College of Medicine Medical Genetics Scott Ward President Dr. Jewell Ward
    Interest Group Lindsay Morris Vice President Dr. Vicki Park
UTHSC Nature Conservancy Ryan Murphy President Dr. Michael Whitt
        Dr. Mark Miller
Urology Interest Group Matt Davis President Dr. Robert Wake
  Andrew Tumen Vice President  
Wilderness, Austere and Rescue Medicine (WARM) Charlie Duke President Dr. Barbara Geater
Women In Medicine and Science (WIMS) Sarah Allan President Dr. Suzanne Satterfield
  Annie Ameha Vice President  
  Abigail Lepsch Secretary    
  Nandi Chihombori-Quao Treasurer